Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
989
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the comments -
@LisaAlterEgo - Good to know the BIOS isnt the issue - cant roll back!
@trs96 - hi - good to know your about. But not sound I think, when it boots in verbose mode - it is a faster boot to login screen and it get stuck in a couple of places towards the end of the process. First it hangs with a message thats says
EN0 DAD completed - with a bunch of hex, and then two lines something like
GTrace Synchronisation Port 1, and same Port2.
Ive left the -v option on and it seems to be ok otherwise
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,313
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the comments -
@LisaAlterEgo - Good to know the BIOS isnt the issue - cant roll back!
@trs96 - hi - good to know your about. But not sound I think, when it boots in verbose mode - it is a faster boot to login screen and it get stuck in a couple of places towards the end of the process. First it hangs with a message thats says
EN0 DAD completed - with a bunch of hex, and then two lines something like
GTrace Synchronisation Port 1, and same Port2.
Ive left the -v option on and it seems to be ok otherwise
Ok, reboot, on clover bootloader menu press F2 & F4, start booting on verbose, also try to capture with camera or something the part where it does get stuck, attach full set of problem reporting files.
“Use the script as it’s easier and that way you won’t forget anything.”
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
989
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Sniki, thanks for the reply, find attached the PR files zip and two images showing the two places where it gets stuck for about 25 seconds at each place. When I built this yesterday it did seem to run well but when I went back to it today its not right, with chrome browser jumping around randomly on scroll and various parts of the web pages not rendering correctly. Intel Gadget seems to show the cpu operating at lots of frequencies.
 

Attachments

  • debug_18605.zip
    1.3 MB · Views: 52
  • IMG_20181211_124344456.jpg
    IMG_20181211_124344456.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_20181211_124358980.jpg
    IMG_20181211_124358980.jpg
    185.7 KB · Views: 82
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
277
Motherboard
HP 8300, MacMini6,1
CPU
i5-3570K, i5-3470, i5-3210, G5
Graphics
RX570, RX560, GT730K, HD4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Hi Nicksoph,

I was looking at your bootlog.txt, and I notice we have the same motherboard (with board '3397')
and the same Intel Graphics (HD-2500), but you have an i5-3570 while I have a i5-3470.

Early in the bootlog, your graphics are identified as
0:100 0:000 PCI (00|00:02.00) : 8086 0162 class=030000
0:100 0:000 - GFX: Model=Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Intel)

Late in the bootlog, your graphics are again identified as
22:611 0:000 Intel HD Graphics 4000 [8086:0162] :: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x2,0x0)
22:611 0:000 Found Wide Ultra XGA Display - 16:10 :: Width=1920 Height=1200
22:611 0:000 Beginning DualLink auto-detection
22:611 0:000 High Resolution Display
22:611 0:000 AAPL00,DualLink = 1
22:611 0:000 FakeID Intel GFX: not set
22:611 0:000 ig-platform-id = 0x0166000A
22:611 0:000 Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection
22:611 0:000 Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x01628086
22:611 0:000 Intel GFX revision = 0x9

I'm no expert, but I'm wondering if your graphics are being misidentified. I'm using
a MSI RX 560 graphics card and disabling the HD-2500 graphics, so I don't know much
about properly configuring it.

Lisa
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
989
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Early in the bootlog, your graphics are identified as
0:100 0:000 PCI (00|00:02.00) : 8086 0162 class=030000
Hi Lisa, Thanks for the comments - sorry my profile is insuffcient - earlier in the thread I mentioned this is about the - HP8300 sff- With an i3 3245. The 3245 does have HD4000 graphics but Im not sure whether the other id's are correct and not sure where to find out.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 MT (OC 0.6.2)
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
HD 4000 & ASUS RX560 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,
Thanks a lot for this detailed guide :headbang:
My problem is that the system's performance is very slow, Everything runs and works but is very very slow even when i have the i7 3770 + 16GB of RAM..
When I try to rebuild kextcache it shows invalid signature,
I'm using the "Custom SSDT.aml using ssdtPRGen.sh" method.
I don't have any other problems with the system.
PR files attached,
Kindly appreciated,
Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    3.9 MB · Views: 58
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,995
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,
Thanks a lot for this detailed guide :headbang:
My problem is that the system's performance is very slow, Everything runs and works but is very very slow even when i have the i7 CPU + 16GB of RAM..
When I try to rebuild kextcache it shows invalid signature,
I don't have any other problems with the system.
PR files attached,
Kindly appreciated,
Thanks in advance.
Remove all the sensors.kext files in Clover/Kexts/other

Screen Shot 21.jpg
What is the second SSDT.aml file that you have in ACPI/patched folder ?

Complete your SMBIOS information as per the iDiot's Guide to iMessage.

You also have kext-dev-mode=1 set true so change that to false instead.

Try booting again after those corrections and see what happens.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,995
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm using the "Custom SSDT.aml using ssdtPRGen.sh" method.

You didn't say this at first. Why not remove that and use the CPU PM method in the guide instead ?
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 MT (OC 0.6.2)
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
HD 4000 & ASUS RX560 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Remove all the sensors.kext files in Clover/Kexts/other

View attachment 372632
What is the second SSDT.aml file that you have in ACPI/patched folder ?

Complete your SMBIOS information as per the iDiot's Guide to iMessage.

You also have kext-dev-mode=1 set true so change that to false instead.

Try booting again after those corrections and see what happens.
Thanks a lot for your fast reply, will let you know what happens.
You didn't say this at first. Why not remove that and use the CPU PM method in the guide instead ?
Because I tried it before switching to SSDt method and had the same performance problem.
I will switch back to the PM method you mentioned and try the solution you provided and let you know with the result.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 MT (OC 0.6.2)
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
HD 4000 & ASUS RX560 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This is the second SSDT.aml :
SSDT-HP.aml from this guide.
I have kext-dev-mode=1 set to true because I have that weird invalid signature problem and i read somewhere it could help to solve the problem, but it didn't.
I will do exactly what you said.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top