Contribute
Register

[Guide] Booting the OS X installer on LAPTOPS with Clover

Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
Use clover boot menu and cursor to go to Options tab, hit enter. Then go to binaries and see what the device ID is for the CPU. Try CPUID 0x0206A0.

IF it moves further but gets stuck at graphics try the same then go to Graphics settings and set ig platform 0x01000000.

Below are the device IDs for Sandy bridge and HD3000 graphics these would go in the graphics device ID one at a time for testing.
HD3000 device IDs
0x01068086 0x06018086 0x01168086 0x01028086 0x01268086

Sandy Bridge FB
0x01068086 0x11068086 0x16018086 01168086 01268086

Ok here is my screen. I can see my CPUID. Is the fake CPUID supposed to match this? What should I do with the information in front of me ?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200121_173711.jpg
    IMG_20200121_173711.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 31
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
Tries changing CPUID to 0x0206A0 . Still can't get past this part. Do I keep trying different CPUID's , where can I find a list of other ones to try ?

Any other ideas anyone? I think I'm sort of on the right track on which I've found where the issue is ...
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200121_183045.jpg
    IMG_20200121_183045.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 22
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
Is it even possible that my CPU is damaged? Because I'm also 100% sure that the 4530s CPU is completely compatible. I did have OSX running before on Mavericks without an issue on this machine.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
Update.

I got past this issue by opening my plist (using plist edit pro) and renaming DropTables->##DropTables and renaming #DropTables->DropTables as mentioned in the earlier part of the guide (copy and pasted below)


Note regarding CPU power management and SSDTs

If you're getting a panic in AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement and/or SMC_ACPI_PlatformPlugin it may be related to your OEM CPU power management related SSDTs.

Some systems may need to drop some of the OEM SSDTs. This happens most frequently with Sandy Bridge systems (but not all). There are two configurations for DropTables in the provided config.plist files. The default is minimal. The alternate is named #DropTables and is a bit more aggressive. Each configuration resides in config.plist/ACPI. You can use the alternate by renaming DropTables->##DropTables and renaming #DropTables->DropTables (in that order). Depending on how the OEM labels the tables, this may or may not work. If you still have issues, set config.plist/ACPI/SSDT/DropOem=true. You will need to set config.plist/ACPI/SSDT/Generate=true (or the individual CStates/PStates=true) to use DropOem=true or the alternate DropTables.

Always use a plist editor (such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro) to edit config.plist.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
Does anybody know if it's possible to get wireless internet access once directly from the usb installation ? I don't see the WiFi sign on corner where it usually is to connect ...
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
19,672
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anybody know if it's possible to get wireless internet access once directly from the usb installation ? I don't see the WiFi sign on corner where it usually is to connect ...
yes, if you have supported hardware and necessary kexts in clover/kexts/other
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
The 4530s is a well tested computer. Is there anywhere I can find all kexts in one place to dump them into the OTHER folder ?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
19,672
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The 4530s is a well tested computer. Is there anywhere I can find all kexts in one place to dump them into the OTHER folder ?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell i7567
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1050 Ti, 3840x2160
Ok guys almost there. Tell me if I have done something wrong. I have got to the stage where I have partitioned my Disk (1 partition) , I installed the operating system , and am now at the desk top.

Now I can't find any clear instructions about how to install Clover over my operating system. The instructions say it's the same method as installing to usb , but that method involved making two partitions and If i do that I will delete my installed operating system. Can someone point me in the right direction, i'm sure it's something simple I'm missing.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
19,672
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok guys almost there. Tell me if I have done something wrong. I have got to the stage where I have partitioned my Disk (1 partition) , I installed the operating system , and am now at the desk top.

Now I can't find any clear instructions about how to install Clover over my operating system. The instructions say it's the same method as installing to usb , but that method involved making two partitions and If i do that I will delete my installed operating system. Can someone point me in the right direction, i'm sure it's something simple I'm missing.
install clover but this time choose your hard drive and not the usb installer

then copy the efi form your usb to your hard drive
 
Top