Contribute
Register

[Guide] Booting the OS X installer on LAPTOPS with Clover

Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
4
CPU
i5-6200u
Graphics
HD 520
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey thanks for the reply i’ll try this too and maybe someone else could help.
Okay so i solved the problem, previously i was using mac OS mojave 10.14.6 and then i switched over to version 10.14.3 and it worked i really have no idea why the other version didn’t work.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
730
CPU
i3
Okay so i solved the problem, previously i was using mac OS mojave 10.14.6 and then i switched over to version 10.14.3 and it worked i really have no idea why the other version didn’t work.
same issue. is it using old clover version?
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
M-5Y71
Graphics
HD5300, 1920x1080
Hey guys, I seem to be having an issue booting into the Mac OS installer for High Sierra (10.13.6) on my Asus UX305FA (Core M-5Y71, HD5300, 1920x1080). I am following this guide to the letter but here is the problem I am having:

When booting from the latest Rehabman clover fork (4701) and selecting verbose boot, everything seems to go smoothly and I get to a grey screen with a mouse cursor but immediately that screen is replaced with an Apple Logo and a progress bar that hasn't moved in the past 24 hours.

I am using the template config.plist file from Rehabman for HD5300 series GPUs and have changed my ProductName in the config.plist file to MacBook8,1 as it is the closest to the CPU I have.

I have tried countless different things in the config.plist file such as injecting a fake ig-platform-id, launching without CSM enabled, launching in single user mode, launching in safe mode (this one causes my laptop to just reboot after a few verbose boot messages) but nothing changes. I have been trying to follow another guide for my laptop for installing High Sierra (linked here) as well with regards to BIOS settings but since it is a bit outdated, I don't know how reliable it is. I don't know what could be causing the issue but I suspect maybe it is either USB or iGPU related.

There is no issue with verbose boot as it passes by so I can't attach a screenshot of it but I am attaching my Clover folder in case there is something wrong there that I am doing. Hopefully someone can help.

JUST A NOTE THAT I HAVE TRIED MOJAVE AS WELL AND SAME RESULT

Thanks
 

Attachments

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
13,385
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey guys, I seem to be having an issue booting into the Mac OS installer for High Sierra (10.13.6) on my Asus UX305FA (Core M-5Y71, HD5300, 1920x1080). I am following this guide to the letter but here is the problem I am having:

When booting from the latest Rehabman clover fork (4701) and selecting verbose boot, everything seems to go smoothly and I get to a grey screen with a mouse cursor but immediately that screen is replaced with an Apple Logo and a progress bar that hasn't moved in the past 24 hours.

I am using the template config.plist file from Rehabman for HD5300 series GPUs and have changed my ProductName in the config.plist file to MacBook8,1 as it is the closest to the CPU I have.

I have tried countless different things in the config.plist file such as injecting a fake ig-platform-id, launching without CSM enabled, launching in single user mode, launching in safe mode (this one causes my laptop to just reboot after a few verbose boot messages) but nothing changes. I have been trying to follow another guide for my laptop for installing High Sierra (linked here) as well with regards to BIOS settings but since it is a bit outdated, I don't know how reliable it is. I don't know what could be causing the issue but I suspect maybe it is either USB or iGPU related.

There is no issue with verbose boot as it passes by so I can't attach a screenshot of it but I am attaching my Clover folder in case there is something wrong there that I am doing. Hopefully someone can help.

JUST A NOTE THAT I HAVE TRIED MOJAVE AS WELL AND SAME RESULT

Thanks
use a later version of clover:
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
M-5Y71
Graphics
HD5300, 1920x1080
use a later version of clover:
Thanks for the reply. However, it didn't solve the problem. Using the same Kexts from the my linked Clover zip file and using the same config.plist file, using the linked Clover installer still causes the same issue.

Anything else I could check or try?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
13,385
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the reply. However, it didn't solve the problem. Using the same Kexts from the my linked Clover zip file and using the same config.plist file, using the linked Clover installer still causes the same issue.

Anything else I could check or try?
boot verbose and then take a pic

make sure to use a USB2.0 stick and try each port on your laptop
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
M-5Y71
Graphics
HD5300, 1920x1080
boot verbose and then take a pic

make sure to use a USB2.0 stick and try each port on your laptop
So that's the thing, when I boot verbose the text scrolls by and then after seeing the unsupported CPU and unsupported PCH lines, it will go into a grey screen with a mouse cursor and then immediately switches to the Apple logo with a non-moving progress bar. Hence, I don't know what to screenshot here as it isn't getting stuck during verbose boot.

And yes, I am using a USB2.0 stick and tried all 3 ports on my laptop with the same result
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
M-5Y71
Graphics
HD5300, 1920x1080
boot verbose and then take a pic

make sure to use a USB2.0 stick and try each port on your laptop
So that's the thing, when I boot verbose the text scrolls by and then after seeing the unsupported CPU and unsupported PCH lines, it will go into a grey screen with a mouse cursor and then immediately switches to the Apple logo with a non-moving progress bar. Hence, I don't know what to screenshot here as it isn't getting stuck during verbose boot.

And yes, I am using a USB2.0 stick and tried all 3 ports on my laptop with the same result
Here is a video of the whole verbose boot process in case that helps: https://streamable.com/wbxwy

Or if you'd like to download it and watch it slower: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1o6qBin6ckVF_U8cUgQ21lyGYKTqHFuqE
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte h370 hd3
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
GTX 1060 & Intel HD 620 (Disabled)
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
M-5Y71
Graphics
HD5300, 1920x1080
Have you tried to update your kexts? Using the same kexts when updating clover isn't a good opinion, and can cause some issues.
Thanks for taking the time to reply. I am using the latest (as of today) kexts for everything in my Clover folder. Acquired them from their respective GitHub repos. Still no go :(
 
Top