Contribute
Register

First Build: How many choices do I have?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Asrock Z68
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
560 ti
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi everyone, I am new to this forum so thanks in advance for your help and understanding ;)

Here’s my situation:

I’ve been using both Mac and PCs for a few years now, but I would like to declutter my IT inventory a little. That’s why I’m doing some research for a dual boot Win7/OSX ML hackintosh :)

My plan is to “adjust” my current PC in order to accommodate a nice hackintosh-friendly configuration to use both Win and OSX environments. I also already purchased OSX Mountain Lion.

I look for a “very easy-to-hack", stable configuration
I will play on Win
I will use 2 x SSD ( one for each OS )
I will NOT overclock
I will NOT put a second VGA for SLI/Xfire

So here’s what I think I will buy:

-I5 3570K ( because of the HD4000, or possibly a 3770 non-K )
-8 gb RAM ddr3 ( maybe later I’ll upgrade to 16 )
-nVidia 660 ti card ( I still have to choose which vendor )
- 120/128 ssd ( I still have to choose which model )

I would like to keep using my actual OCZ Vertex 3 ssd for Win. Do you think this could be a compatibility problem ?

But in the end…. My main doubt is still about the mainboard!
Is there a way to determine if a mobo is compatible or not ?

I mean, after reading the buying guide I think the Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H could do for me, but between this one and the GA-Z77X-UD5H there’s a big money gap. If, for example, I needed just a few more USB or Sata ports… would I be forced to bypass all the other models inbetween (D3H, UD3H, UP4… ) and get the UD5H ?

What is important to look for on the mobo description?
Does it have to present Realtek Audio instead of VIA ?
Does it have to present Realtek LAN instead of something else?