Contribute
Register

Chimera text-spinner suddenly hangs (at about '|' or '/') with presence of internal time machine dri

Joined
Oct 4, 2010
Messages
34
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Just want to add my 2 cents. I'm run my gigabyte p55 board with i5 for about 4 years now. Worked my way up from OSX 8 to the last version of 9. Other than the boot 0 problem which I fixed, never really a problem. Then I did the last security update last night and i had the hanging "/". researched and found this thread and unplugged my 2TB time machine. Booted fine. Added the single device line mentioned here to my chameleon plist and now I'm back in business. Looking at upgrading to 10.10 now.:)
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX1060
Mobile Phone
iOS
Don't do it if you use Messages.
Or unless you feel like using Clover bootloader but yes, iMessage will not work with 10.10 and Chimera or Chameleon.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX1060
Mobile Phone
iOS

MTB

Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
LC, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anyone know a solution for those of us who use Chameleon as a boot loader for multiple drives?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
252
Motherboard
GA H97M-D3H
CPU
i5 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 760 2GB DDR5
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
When I had that bug, I discovered it was the ext4 Linux drive I had installed. After that was disconnected, I was fine. I think a fix is to re-format the extra drives you have, not sure how probable that is. I found the only problem I had was the linux drive, but it seems that time machine drives are bad. Can you re-format the time machine drive and see if that works?
 

MTB

Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
LC, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Reformatting the drive worked, but it was a hassle -- difficult for me to reformat an internal drive that causes all of my (Chameleon-powered) boot drives to crash. And I have now had this issue recur twice. It would be nice if there were a solution that allowed recovery without reformatting my Time Machine drive.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2013
Messages
43
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
me too is having this problem. But my drive is only 320gb.

For now, I am using the "Scan Single Drive" method but I do multiboot so it is a bit of a hassle. When I need to boot into windows, I will go into BIOS and select the windows drive to boot. For some motherboards you have option to go into boot menu where you can directly select which drive to boot.
 
Top