Contribute
Register

Chimera text-spinner suddenly hangs (at about '|' or '/') with presence of internal time machine dri

MTB

Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
LC, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try disconnecting your internal HD. If that fixes it, you may have a variant of the problem discussed in this thread.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Core i5 6700
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Add me to the list of people having this issue.

It has worked for a long time but suddenly this error shows up.

If I turn of the time machine disc which is connected via eSata it boots as it should.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA Z87 UD3H
CPU
i7 4770K
Graphics
980 ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Same problem here, stuck on "/" text spinner of chimera when 1To WD External hard drive (FAT) is plugged into any usb port.
Mavericks 10.9.2 will boot only when usb ports are empty except with my USB boot key and when I plug back my external hard drive in USB port, I sometimes have instant freeze (mouse and keyboard not responding, clock freezed) and cannot do anything but a hard reset. When it occurs I can only boot in safe mode, try to plug my external HD as long as it is recognized, then reboot in normal mode.
I don't understand what's written in system log files, but if anyone wants to read it I could paste some next time I get this problem.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
SuperMicro X9SRi-F
CPU
i7-3960X
Graphics
nVidia GTX 680
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Confirm I ran into this boot0 / Time Machine / Chimera issue today, after almost 2 years running without issue.

I have restarted my computer several times since the Mavericks 10.9.3 update, no updates were performed when this issue popped up out of nowhere after a restart this morning.


I believe it is related to the Chimera scanBootVolumes code.
MTB - http://www.tonymacx86.com/chimera-archived-threads/37740-boot-hangs-if-usb-time-machine-hdd-present-fix.html


I still recieved the boot0 looking hang after attempting to boot off of a new UniBeast - 3.0.1 USB stick, until I removed all my HDDs from the boot order in BIOS. Something to be had here, since the Time Machine drive was still physically installed and Chimera from the newly created UniBeast 3.0.1 USB stick would not even boot unless I removed my HDDs from the boot order in BIOS.

After updating my boot drive with the latest boot1h from Chimera 3.0.1 - I still got the hang.

Once I physically removed my AHCI 3TB Segate SATA Time Machine volume, Chimera boots properly.

Disk Utility finds no issues with the Time Machine drive and after a repair - Chimera still hangs.

I formatted and repartitioned the Time Machine drive, and Chimera boots from boot disk as usual.

I am going to update Chimera to "Scan Single Drive"=Yes to hopefully avoid this in the future.

Just wanted to post my half a day worth of findings.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
252
Motherboard
GA H97M-D3H
CPU
i5 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 760 2GB DDR5
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Drives I have:

SSD for OS X
SSD for Windows 8.1
SSD for Linux (ext4)
ExFat drive for Data

Using Chimera 3, I can't get it to boot. I haven't tried unhooking the other two SSD's yet, but if I unhook the ExFat drive (which I believed would be the culprit) it still won't boot. The only way I can get it to boot is to use the Scan Single Drive argument, and while that allows booting, it also doesn't show my other two SSD's as a boot option, so it's kind of worthless to me. It also means I can't use the new audio drivers in MultiBeast 6.3, since they are part of Chimera 3 now. So I am stuck running both Chimera 2.2 and the audio drivers from MB 6.2 until this gets resolved.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
252
Motherboard
GA H97M-D3H
CPU
i5 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 760 2GB DDR5
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Finally had some time to pull my hack apart today, discovered it was the Linux Ext4 drive that was preventing booting with Chimera 3. As soon as I unplugged it boot went fine.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
123
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel 3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Graphics
Asus GTX 670 DCII 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have this same bug. Chimera froze on spinner when my TM volume was plugged in. Now I can only get it to work if I physically disconnect my TM drive. I don't want to erase my old backups… I hope someone gets a fix for this soon!
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX1060
Mobile Phone
iOS
Added the following to my org.chameleon.boot.plist file and all is well.

<key>Scan Single Drive</key>
<string>Yes</string>

The system suddenly stopped working as per the flashing spinner.

Clover boot loader worked though and it saved me as the Unibeast stick did the same thing. I'm going to add that string to the Unibeast stick now so I'm sure it will work again too. I was NOT about to format my TimeMachine drive and loose my backups...there is no need to.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
123
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel 3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Graphics
Asus GTX 670 DCII 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Added the following to my org.chameleon.boot.plist file and all is well.

<key>Scan Single Drive</key>
<string>Yes</string>
That doesn't help those of us who use our bootloader as a, you know, loader of boot volumes. ;) I have Win7, an OS X clone, etc. in addition to my OS X primary.

Still holding out hope for an eventual fix.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX1060
Mobile Phone
iOS
That doesn't help those of us who use our bootloader as a, you know, loader of boot volumes. ;) I have Win7, an OS X clone, etc. in addition to my OS X primary.

Still holding out hope for an eventual fix.
I get it. Since I only run Windows in virtual machines and my other, err, newer version of OSX-which-shall-remain-unnamed, boots from it's own Clover drive (BIOS boot selection) it isn't an issue for me so I didn't really clue in to what "Scan Single Drive" actually did. :)

cheers
 
Top