Contribute
Register

Big Sur...BIG Problem

Joined
Mar 23, 2022
Messages
34
Motherboard
ASUS B360MA
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
you have not got any SS0* ports listed as USB3.0

best to read up on:
I mean type C Device I have but currently it is not connected hence it is not showing,its my san-disk dual 3.0 type c Drive
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
29,021
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I mean type C Device I have but currently it is not connected hence it is not showing,its my san-disk dual 3.0 type c Drive
I am referring to your USB3.0 ports

they are normally paired, so if you have HS01 set as USB3.0 then you should also have SS01 set as USB3.0 as well etc...
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2022
Messages
34
Motherboard
ASUS B360MA
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
See my HS01 and HS02 is located at the back side and that is USB 3.1 gen 2 ports. currently my USB keyboard and mouse is connected to that. They are usb 3.1 gen 2 ports but i will only connect USB keyboard and mouse to that so speed doesn't matter to me.
SS03 is type C port at 5 Gb/s that is working as expected. HS 10,HS 09 are front USB 2.0 Devices and HS04 is Front USB 3 device. HS10,HS09,HS04 are connected to Motherboard front header.
So currently all the ports are working fine as per my understandings,so still any modification need to be done.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
29,021
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
See my HS01 and HS02 is located at the back side and that is USB 3.1 gen 2 ports. currently my USB keyboard and mouse is connected to that. They are usb 3.1 gen 2 ports but i will only connect USB keyboard and mouse to that so speed doesn't matter to me.
SS03 is type C port at 5 Gb/s that is working as expected. HS 10,HS 09 are front USB 2.0 Devices and HS04 is Front USB 3 device. HS10,HS09,HS04 are connected to Motherboard front header.
So currently all the ports are working fine as per my understandings,so still any modification need to be done.
so why have you listed HS ports as USB3 if they are USB2?

if hS04 is a usb3 then SS04 should be set to USB3
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2022
Messages
34
Motherboard
ASUS B360MA
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
so why have you listed HS ports as USB3 if they are USB2?

if hS04 is a usb3 then SS04 should be set to USB3
I have Use USBMAP-Master Utility to map my ports,and I didn't find option to set port Speed.so do i need to remap using hackintool?
and what need to be done when same ports shows different speed on different devices,i mean when i connect USB 3 devices on HS 01 and HS02 it shows as SS*,so if i keep SS then will my keyboard gets detected on the same port.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
29,021
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have Use USBMAP-Master Utility to map my ports,and I didn't find option to set port Speed.so do i need to remap using hackintool?
and what need to be done when same ports shows different speed on different devices,i mean when i connect USB 3 devices on HS 01 and HS02 it shows as SS*,so if i keep SS then will my keyboard gets detected on the same port.
I have not used USBMAP-Master Utility

Yes, test all ports with a usb2 and a usb3 device, use the drop down option in hackintool to change the port type if needed and then export

best to do this is Catalina as XhciPortLimit is broken in Big Sur
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2022
Messages
34
Motherboard
ASUS B360MA
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
NO sir,
I have not used USBMAP-Master Utility

Yes, test all ports with a usb2 and a usb3 device, use the drop down option in hackintool to change the port type if needed and then export

best to do this is Catalina as XhciPortLimit is broken in Big Sur
No sir...what should i do if same port carry different list..for example HS01 and HS02 are Usb 3.1 .so if i connect usb 3 device then SS highlighted and if i connect USB 2 device HS gets highlighted,so if i save port list by HS will SS device gets recognised,because kext doesn't know SS device on same HS Port
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
29,021
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
NO sir,

No sir...what should i do if same port carry different list..for example HS01 and HS02 are Usb 3.1 .so if i connect usb 3 device then SS highlighted and if i connect USB 2 device HS gets highlighted,so if i save port list by HS will SS device gets recognised,because kext doesn't know SS device on same HS Port
which is why you need to use Catalina and enable XhciPortLimit and probably use USBInjectAll.kext (remove your current usb port kext) and go through the guide I linked you
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2021
Messages
54
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z490-I Gaming
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You can open a kext with right click the kext, than show folder (I don’t know the translation in English)
There is a .plis file that you can open with propertree or xcode.

Than you go to the line xhc-imac (number of your selected smbios) and replace the number to 19,1

At the end of the list one line with smbios iMac + number again…change this to your iMac model too
That you can safe the file


Edit: maybe you can fix the blackscreen wake issue with one of the darkwake bootargs
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
621
Motherboard
Asus z590 ROG Maximus XIII Hero
CPU
i9-11900K
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have Use USBMAP-Master Utility to map my ports,and I didn't find option to set port Speed.so do i need to remap using hackintool?
and what need to be done when same ports shows different speed on different devices,i mean when i connect USB 3 devices on HS 01 and HS02 it shows as SS*,so if i keep SS then will my keyboard gets detected on the same port.

So you have to be aware that USB2 (HS) and USB3 (SS) logical ports map onto the same physical port. I like the term "companion" which I learned from USBToolBox, for the pairs of speed personalities that match logical ports to a single physical port.

In USBmap, port speed (HS vs SS) is set automatically when (D)discovering ports, by plugging in a HS or/and a SS device. When the device is detected, it appears in the list and the personality is learned.
When a companion is detected as HS, it's name changes from UK (unknown) to "HS".
When a companion is detected as SS, the name changes to "SS"
Companions don't necessarily have the same ID in the list. So HS02 might have a companion named SS06.

As USBmap builds the list of discoverable ports, there is a hard limit of 26. So if you find a HS companion for a port, but after plugging in a SS device you can't find the SS companion, it might be because there are just too many logical ports.

[EDIT: I am myself still confused about how the 26-port ceiling relates to the overall mapping process. USBmap dummy injector tops out at 26 entries per root controller. In USBmap, these roots are objects are called "IOKitPersonalities" which belong to an "SMBIOS". I don't grok this language. However, we know the practical limit of 15 comes into play during (D)discovery as USBmap helps with this. Your goal is to get your final config down to 15 list entries per root controller, per below.]

You work around this by using the separate script USBMapInjectorEdit.command to disable list entries that you certainly will never need. When you "disable" ports with this script it updates the "dummy" Results/USMmap.kext you created when you started mapping, so after disabling, you need to re-install the kext in uou EFI and reboot to make room on the USBmap.command discovery list. If you know your HW pretty well and think it through, one creation of dummy followed by one disabling pass is enough to get everything you need.

Once you can detect devices on all the ports you need, you can use (P) edit to cut the list down to your preferred 15 ports per root controller and generate a final USMmap.kext, install, reboot and be good to go.

I'm writing all this up in a how-to but not sure when it will be done.
 
Last edited:
Top