Contribute
Register

X58 and OS X El Capitan? (X58A-UD3r)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
CPU
i7 950
Graphics
Asus GTX 750 ti
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You guys have 72 hours to figure this thing out & write a step by step guide for dummies otherwise I am whipping out my credit card & buying a new motherboard from Newegg :thumbup:.

Ha! I was thinking the same thing after my initial round of tinkering with El Capitan but then I thought about the fact that I would need a new CPU and RAM to go along with it and this old dog (X58A-UD3R) with a Xeon X5650 @ 4.2GHz still has a lot of bark. I built this box years ago (6? 8? can't even remember) as my main Linux workstation and its never let me down and compares very nicely to 'modern' rigs. Hopefully a reliable solution will be worked out soon.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
93
Motherboard
DFI X58-T3eH8
CPU
i7 920 @ 4ghz
Graphics
ASUS 760 GTX
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ha! I was thinking the same thing after my initial round of tinkering with El Capitan but then I thought about the fact that I would need a new CPU and RAM to go along with it and this old dog (X58A-UD3R) with a Xeon X5650 @ 4.2GHz still has a lot of bark. I built this box years ago (6? 8? can't even remember) as my main Linux workstation and its never let me down and compares very nicely to 'modern' rigs. Hopefully a reliable solution will be worked out soon.

Indeed, i think they're enough for maybe 1-2 years more

Hopefully Clover will be updated with a fix soon
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
99
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX CODE
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Graphics
Nvidia 1080 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I had to get clover from source forge to reveal that option. Tonymac seems to have disabled tinkering in his version. You can install and get into the El Capitan desktop to fiddle with getting audio and USB3 working... Install clover to ESP and boot0af to MBR seemed to work. My Hard drive is formatted GUID. Also I cannot get clover to boot into Windows 10. Chameleon/Chimera did.

Can you point me in the right direction, on how to do this?
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
97
Motherboard
Asus P6X58D-Premium
CPU
X5675
Graphics
GTX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
99
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX CODE
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Graphics
Nvidia 1080 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
130
Motherboard
Probook 430 G3
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 520
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had to get clover from source forge to reveal that option. Tonymac seems to have disabled tinkering in his version. You can install and get into the El Capitan desktop to fiddle with getting audio and USB3 working... Install clover to ESP and boot0af to MBR seemed to work. My Hard drive is formatted GUID. Also I cannot get clover to boot into Windows 10. Chameleon/Chimera did.[/QUOTE

Can you point me in the right direction, on how to do this?

Sure. Here is the link for the latest clover: http://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/

When you install it there will be a button to customize the installation. You will see install in ESP there.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
155
Motherboard
GA-Z170-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a dual X58 ( 1366 ) and what happens to mine is it installs El Cap, but it sees my workstation as a macbook rp and I cannot log into my apple ID.

How do I fix that? I think everything else works okay.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
130
Motherboard
Probook 430 G3
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 520
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a dual X58 ( 1366 ) and what happens to mine is it installs El Cap, but it sees my workstation as a macbook rp and I cannot log into my apple ID.

How do I fix that? I think everything else works okay.

I think you can go into Clover configurator and have it generate all that.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
MSI Raider X299
CPU
Core i9-7860X
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got to the installer by using these exact settings for MSI X58 Pro
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus P6T
CPU
I7 920
Graphics
HD 7750
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello all,

I have an Asus P6T (no deluxe, just P6T), that I used to use with Yosemite. It worked great. After the fix of the config.plist as suggested here for installing el capitan, it did without much of a fuss. The thing is that I cannot bot into el capitan, I keep getting a broken scrren (of Windows' desktop which is funny). When I first installed Yosemite I had the same problem with my HD7750 graphics card and had to modify AMDRAdeonX4000.kext to load the OS in normal mode, not safe mode.

The thing is that now I cannot get el capitan to load. If I use safe mode, the computer reboots, but I cannot read what it says one nano second before it does (nobody can read that fast! LOL)

Any suggestions or tips?

I think it has to do more with graphics than with chipset, but I thought this would be the place to ask!

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top