Contribute
Register

X58 and OS X El Capitan? (X58A-UD3r)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
23
Motherboard
gigabyte
CPU
3.7 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 1024 MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I posted a few screenshot a few pages back as to how I got mines up and running. Only issue I'm having I have to disabled USB 3.0. But sleep shutdown imessage audio all works. Also I have to select nvidiva inject so the monitor starts no biggie. I just realized it doesn't read on stick of RAM I'll reseed them later. But got a score of 16000 in geekbench.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
97
Motherboard
Asus P6X58D-Premium
CPU
X5675
Graphics
GTX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a dual X58 ( 1366 ) and what happens to mine is it installs El Cap, but it sees my workstation as a macbook rp and I cannot log into my apple ID.

How do I fix that? I think everything else works okay.

First of all I would suggest to all ASUS x 58 users to move in a more specific thread
Just to gather all infos:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-desktop-support/174018-asus-p6x58d-premium-motherboard.html

About Apple ID : here is what worked for me :

1) You need to have ethernet as (en0) in my case it was (en1) and (en2).
2) Delete Networkinterface.plist from Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration
3) Remove from Networks all existing connection
4) Add the flag <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
5) Reboot
6) Now you can use your Apple ID

:thumbup:

 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
727
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD3R
CPU
X5650
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I posted a few screenshot a few pages back as to how I got mines up and running. Only issue I'm having I have to disabled USB 3.0. But sleep shutdown imessage audio all works. Also I have to select nvidiva inject so the monitor starts no biggie. I just realized it doesn't read on stick of RAM I'll reseed them later. But got a score of 16000 in geekbench.

Great, when I get a chance I'll see how your method works. Is that score for you around the same as w/ Yosemite/Chimera?

I agree it would be a shame if this was the end of the line (it doesn't seem so) for our systems because of an artificial obstacle (not being able to keep using OS upgrades). A Geekbench multi-core score of around 20K for an OC'd hex-core X56xx Xeon (which are like $75 on eBay) puts this system ahead of the vast majority of CPUs released including most of Skylake!
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
23
Motherboard
gigabyte
CPU
3.7 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 1024 MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same score as Chimera installer. I doubt I get a new board cause this one still running great. Plus I have the xenon chip and that have it new life
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
579
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Maximus Gene VI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Finally got my system up and running. Everything seems to be functioning correctly. All my USB ports are working but they only work as USB 2.0. it doesn't really matter to me if I don't get USB 3.0 speed. As long as I can use all the ports,
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
93
Motherboard
DFI X58-T3eH8
CPU
i7 920 @ 4ghz
Graphics
ASUS 760 GTX
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Does it shutdown? Can you share your Clover configuration?
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
93
Motherboard
DFI X58-T3eH8
CPU
i7 920 @ 4ghz
Graphics
ASUS 760 GTX
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes it does shut down. I have tried a couple of times and it has worked so far. I used the same config file Tony posted in an earlier post and I did select FixShutdown in Clover Configurator.

Using that config i can't get my mouse to work :roll2:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2014
Messages
38
Motherboard
GA-H170-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
GTX 780
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK retested the X58A-UD3R with the following observations/results:

1. Format the USB Master Boot Record not GUID or boot0af error
2. Clover Legacy Boot Mode must be used
3. USB 2.0 port must be used- try different ones
4. Standard Legacy Boot Mode UniBeast ACPI fixes: FixHPET FixDTGP
5. Additional ACPI fixes: FixDarwin FixIPIC AddMCHC FixUSB

After these changes, it booted to OS X El Capitan USB installer! Thanks to everyone who's posted results here so far.

Here is the config.plist: :thumbup:


Hi Tonymacx86 I installed succesfully El Capitan with Unibeast, and i have the same board X58A-UD3R rev 2.0 FH. Everything is working(audio,network, restart, shutdown etc.) except the 3.0 USB Ports i have to disabled it to be able to boot into El Capitan.

Did you have any problems enabling the USB 3.0 ports on Bios.?.When i enable the 3.0 USB Ports it stuck. I have to disabled it.



Did you have this same issue? Have any suggestions?

Thanks in Advance!
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTS 250
Hi folks,

Only one processor is active in my Hack (i7) (X58A-UD3r) after installing 'El Capitan'.

Any idea... Thanks?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top