Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
703
Motherboard
Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9 9980XE
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
So my first boot got the Apple screen but froze immediately. I recovered with a clone drive and put WEG back in and I just booted Mac Pro 7,1!
Did I miss something when I disabled the WEG kext?
View attachment 486236
Also, is this ok? I have all of my RAM slots used

MacProNotificationDisabler requires WEG, 90% this is why your system crashes when loads the OS. Try removing both WEG and MacProNotificationDisabler, you'll end up getting the memory slot notification, but you get rid of it with a simple click. I dismissed WEG because without it DRMs in Netflix etc work flawless, with WEG they mess up.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@izo1 I was told that, with my Vega 56, I should stay on iMac Pro 1,1 but I am curious about Mac Pro 7,1. Would you advise against it or give it a shot? I can do it on a clone, of course. I am in pro audio/music.

I believe I just need to add MacProMemoryNotificationDisabler.kext and change the SMBIOS?

MacPro7,1 is fine even for Vega 56. And yes you will need MacProMemoryNotificationDisabler.kext as well to get rid of that pesky RAM notification. For SMBIOS you can use Generic and set it to Auto, but you must put in a real MacPro7,1 serial and a UUID (use uuidgen in terminal after a reboot with new serial).


@egroys

Radeon RX VEGA 56 [687F1002] works OOB :

Code:
<string>com.apple.kext.AMD10000Controller</string>
            <key>IOClass</key>
            <string>AMD10000ControllerWrangler</string>
            <key>IOMatchCategory</key>
            <string>IOFramebuffer</string>
            <key>IOPCIMatch</key>
            <string>0x68601002 0x68611002 0x68621002 0x68631002 0x68641002 0x68671002 0x68681002 0x68691002 0x686A1002 0x686B1002  0x686C1002 0x686D1002 0x686E1002 0x687F1002 0x69A01002 0x69A11002 0x69A21002 0x69A31002 0x69AF1002  0x66A01002 0x66A11002 0x66A21002 0x66A31002 0x66A71002 0x66AF1002</string>


WEG not needed with SMBIOS MacPro7,1 , just add the SSDT.

WEG is still needed, unfortunately if you want multiple ports to work. Also WEG helps with DRM related issues too.

I tried without WEG and MacPro7,1 a while back and some of the ports on the Radeon VII didn't work. Put it back and it works ok.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
445
Motherboard
Asus Pro WS x299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I know I asked this question a few posts back and the answer was to use the keyboard to enter the values but both are set to Auto and I cannot change those values they are grayed out. Is it ok to set AI Overclock tuner to XMP? Even if set to auto those two options are still grayed out.

Another issue on SAGE II with CPU i9-10980xe I cannot sync all cores for CPU Core Ratio it won’t boot properly it reboots after it tries to boot to desktop. If I set it to back to Auto it boots fine really strange?
 

Attachments

  • 6E6573CD-BC32-4701-9602-2B2001D75AFC.jpeg
    6E6573CD-BC32-4701-9602-2B2001D75AFC.jpeg
    4 MB · Views: 29
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
207
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
MacProNotificationDisabler requires WEG, 90% this is why your system crashes when loads the OS. Try removing both WEG and MacProNotificationDisabler, you'll end up getting the memory slot notification, but you get rid of it with a simple click. I dismissed WEG because without it DRMs in Netflix etc work flawless, with WEG they mess up.
Thank you! I have WEG and everything seems to be fine with Netflix. So far, so good with Mac Pro 7,1!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G (3203)
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
My fight against three TB-cards has not yet been successful. The first card (RP05 / PCIe slot-2) works great.
The problem is that the second and third cards share the port with other devices and I don't know how to describe it in the ssdt.
Can somebody give me a hint? The full ioreg is attached.
tb_card-2_pcie_3.pngtb_card-3_pcie_4.png

upd:

I tried to change the address of UPSB but not successful:

ssdt-tb_card-2.png
 

Attachments

  • me_3tb_bios_on.ioreg.zip
    11.9 MB · Views: 22
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
103
Motherboard
ASUS WS SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[/QUOTE]
Unfortunately, this KP is not the same as the previous one : as you can see it is Bluetooth, so you must look about your setting or kext or SSDT for Wifi/Bluetooth : which Wifi/Bt card do you use ?
MQUPIN FENVI T919 BCM94360CD
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My fight against three TB-cards has not yet been successful. The first card (RP05 / PCIe slot-2) works great.
The problem is that the second and third cards share the port with other devices and I don't know how to describe it in the ssdt.
Can somebody give me a hint? The full ioreg is attached.
View attachment 486266View attachment 486267

upd:

I tried to change the address of UPSB but not successful:

View attachment 486268
This shows that the Thunderbolt SSDT is not using the correct PCI path and/or not disabling predefined devices. Can you post both of the following files:
  • Thunderbolt SSDT
  • DSDT.aml
 
Top