Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD RX 560 | Nvidia RTX 3070
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Jasoncole98 - I also have a Gigabyte X299 Aorus Ultra Gaming Pro here which I want to try and swap my build onto because of (hopefully) working NVRAM, the third M2 storage slot and M2 WiFi (I have a BCM43960 M2 module, same as the Fenvi so I'll possibly see similar to you regarding the Bluetooth USB part).

That Aorus X299 motherboard and X299 Designare EX look almost exactly the same with the exception of the Thunderbolt controller and display ports, on the Aorus its a single rear Type-C so id expect it to show two ASMedia controllers rather than one ASMedia plus the Thunderbolt on your Designare EX.

Thing is I'm not sure if it has a hardware fault or if its just on an old BIOS that doesn't support 10th Gen because I haven't been able to get it to POST with my 10940X... ...however I just bought a cheap i5 7640x which has just turned up in the post, I'll hopefully try that later and if it POST's properly I'll update the BIOS and get to work on building a working EFI and USBmap - should be similar to yours and maybe I can help more. Fingers crossed its the BIOS and not the motherboard!


What BIOS version is your board running? You have any issues with the 10940X on older BIOS? Specifically my DRAM warning led stays lit when it fails to POST.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 23, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@rustEswan Thanks for the USB tip, I'll get on it later today, (just got to work), I agree it's a starting point. As for your second post, no I didn't have issues with the CPU, it had already came with the minimum needed for that CPU, it came with F6, I flashed up to rev F7c. Although I needed to install the RAM differently, since I have four 16GB sticks, I had to install like this:

RAM, empty slot, RAM, empty slot, CPU, empty slot, RAM, empty slot, RAM

So start from the outside, skip then one, ram... etc.

Might I suggest to try SMBIOS iMac19,1 first and run geekbench5, then switch back to iMacPro1,1 and lemme know what you see for OpenCL & Metal scores?

@Loloflatsix Yes it's very odd, I looked on your other post on #396, but still wasn't clear where the ASMedia.kext is located, is it inside the x299primeDUSBmacpro?? Otherwise it's not clear to me where to get it or do I have to generate one from scratch, to start my USB journey...

Question, in my EFI, I have SSDT-PMC, because others where having issues without this installed, could it be the bane of my USB issues? FYI, I haven't tried to remove it yet to test, thought I'd ask first.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD RX 560 | Nvidia RTX 3070
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@rustEswan
Might I suggest to try SMBIOS iMac19,1 first and run geekbench5, then switch back to iMacPro1,1 and lemme know what you see for OpenCL & Metal scores?

No one has responded to the request for an explanation of exactly what MacOS does with SMBIOS, which I guess means its not very clear, so I've been thinking we should do some structured testing around that and I'd welcome input from everyone else, so we can compare performance, stability and availability of key features.

Im thinking run a suite of benchmarks, note any failures or crashes, check for differences while under load, like CPU frequency, number of active cores, which frame buffer is in use etc those kind of things, see if we can identify what is affected by the change, and see if there are genuine benefits or drawbacks of each SMBIOS for X299 outside the obvious ones like MacPro memory notification which are mostly cosmetic. I haven't really finished thinking through how it would work, something like:

Geekbench 5 - CPU and GPU tests
FCPX - BruceX
VideoProc - to check HEVC and H264 hardware acceleration
VDADecoder
Cinebench - 10 min run, multi and single core scores,
Black Magic disk speed test
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,008
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@rustEswan Thanks for the USB tip, I'll get on it later today, (just got to work), I agree it's a starting point. As for your second post, no I didn't have issues with the CPU, it had already came with the minimum needed for that CPU, it came with F6, I flashed up to rev F7c. Although I needed to install the RAM differently, since I have four 16GB sticks, I had to install like this:

RAM, empty slot, RAM, empty slot, CPU, empty slot, RAM, empty slot, RAM

So start from the outside, skip then one, ram... etc.

Might I suggest to try SMBIOS iMac19,1 first and run geekbench5, then switch back to iMacPro1,1 and lemme know what you see for OpenCL & Metal scores?

@Loloflatsix Yes it's very odd, I looked on your other post on #396, but still wasn't clear where the ASMedia.kext is located, is it inside the x299primeDUSBmacpro?? Otherwise it's not clear to me where to get it or do I have to generate one from scratch, to start my USB journey...

Question, in my EFI, I have SSDT-PMC, because others where having issues without this installed, could it be the bane of my USB issues? FYI, I haven't tried to remove it yet to test, thought I'd ask first.
The ASMedia.kext is linked here : #1,254

You should see your RPXX ---> PXSX on your IOReg with this kext, that's why it's strange to me if you can't see with : let me know.

[ edit : and when your USB.kext is ok you can remove the ASMedia.kext ]

On my Asus X299 Prime Deluxe I use full SSDTs and SSDT-PMC but from where I am writing now, on my Asus X299 Rampage Build, I only use the required SSDTs and two for my VEGA GPUs.
So SSDT-PMC is not the cause of the problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,008
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Jasoncole98
RP05 is thunderbolt : I am attaching old but full SSDT from start over three years ago but unfortunately the XHC devices are missing, maybe this will help you for other PCI devices.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-X299-Designare-iMacPro.aml.zip
    2.8 KB · Views: 12
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,116
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I checked the numbers :

- SSDT-EC-USBX :
{
"kUSBSleepPowerSupply",
0x13EC, = 5100 Decimale
"kUSBSleepPortCurrentLimit",
0x0834, = 2100 Decimale
"kUSBWakePowerSupply",
0x13EC, = 5100 Decimale
"kUSBWakePortCurrentLimit",
0x0834 = 2100 Decimale
})

- USB.kext :

View attachment 506361

So they match, as expected

With this for all USB devices : XHC2, XHC3, XHC4, XHC5 (GC Titan Ridge) and XHCI.

That means that we could do without SSDT-EC-USBX and have SSDT-EC instead

I attach for Asus X299 Prime Deluxe MacPro 7,1 SMBIOS :

- Big Sur X299PrimeDUSBMacPro.kext ( ASMedia.kext no more required )
- Catalina X299PrimeDUSBMacPro.kext
- SSDT-EC
- SSDT-XHC
- SSDT-XHCi
- SSDT-TB3HP-TTR (for chip no flashed)

I tried adapting the properties for the Sage II and I've noticed the XHC2/3 controllers disappear from Hackintool on reboots. Noticed the same on R6EE.

Screen Shot 2021-01-27 at 12.01.37 PM.png


The ports still work so I'm not sure if they even need mapping since they are on their own controller and below 15 anyway.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,008
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried adapting the properties for the Sage II and I've noticed the XHC2/3 controllers disappear from Hackintool on reboots. Noticed the same on R6EE.

View attachment 506468

The ports still work so I'm not sure if they even need mapping since they are on their own controller and below 15 anyway.
And did they still work ?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,116
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
And did they still work ?

Ports work but they dont show as HS01/SS01/HS02/SS02. They also don't appear in Hackintool. Have you ran into this? Just a reboot will cause it to disappear
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,008
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ports work but they dont show as HS01/SS01/HS02/SS02. They also don't appear in Hackintool. Have you ran into this? Just a reboot will cause it to disappear

No problem on my ASUS Prime Deluxe , but annoying ;

Screenshot 2021-01-27 at 19.43.25.png


Screenshot 2021-01-27 at 19.43.36.png

Screenshot 2021-01-27 at 19.49.27.png
 
Top