Contribute
Register

What do I need to buy to update to 12.something?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ga-z170x-ud3
CPU
intel i7 6700k
Graphics
geforce gtx 1050 ti
Hello,
Sorry, I'm not good with computers. I made a working hackintosh a few years ago (still running on 10.12.5), but now it's time to update osx, because I can't use some newer photo softwares.
I have a GA-Z170X-UD3, an Intel Core i7 6700, 32 GB Mhz DDR4, and my graphic card is NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4095. I believe it is my graphic card that makes the update impossible?
Can you recommend a new one that will make the update possible and that will allow for some graphic acceleration or anything that it is needed with newer photo and cine softwares?
thanks a lot!

Hello,
Sorry, I'm not good with computers. I made a working hackintosh a few years ago (still running on 10.12.5), but now it's time to update osx, because I can't use some newer photo softwares.
I have a GA-Z170X-UD3, an Intel Core i7 6700, 32 GB Mhz DDR4, and my graphic card is NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1050 Ti 4095. I believe it is my graphic card that makes the update impossible?
Can you recommend a new one that will make the update possible and that will allow for some graphic acceleration or anything that it is needed with newer photo and cine softwares?
thanks a lot!
you can use your built-in intel graphics and upgrade

If you want to continue using your Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, you can upgrade Mac OS only as far as High Sierra, version 10.13.6 (Build 17G14042). That is the last Mac OS that will run your "Pascal" graphics card. You would also need the latest Nvidia Web Driver for Mac, version 387.10.10.10.40.140, available from tonymac here (top line).

If your newer photo software needs a later version of the MacOS than High Sierra, "Feartech's" advice above applies (although Intel's built-in graphics performance cannot touch your GTX 1050's 2.1 Teraflops.)