Contribute
Register

The Dell OptiMac Big Sur/OpenCore Thread - For 7020/9020 Optiplex Desktops

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,957
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The 9020 SFF is the number 3 best seller in Amazon desktops today. The Mac mini will perform the best of the three, you'll also pay $418 more for it and the ports are rather limited. Ram is not upgradable after you buy it. The 9020 comes with 16GB that you can easily upgrade to 32. The HP AIO has a low quality 1080p LCD display that you are mostly stuck with. You can buy an LG 4K 27" display to connect to the 9020 and still pay less than what the HP costs. $241 + $268 for the monitor = $508 compared to $522 for the HP 24 AIO. The HP cannot run Big Sur either, a major downside for that AIO.

That #3 option is unfortunately not available here in the EU, and certainly not for that price. Would make a nice low-cost Hack for my poor guitar playing friend...
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,957
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
That #3 option is unfortunately not available here in the EU, and certainly not for that price.
You can find them with less ram, usually 4GB and an HDD and then upgrade it yourself to make it usable. As I said they go up to 32GB of ram. 16GB DDR3 1600 MHz ram kits are not that expensive. It's easy to find a low cost Sata SSD to use as a boot drive too. Your friend could easily find one at the Ebay site nearest to their EU country of residence. There are also Ebay stores in the UK and Switzerland. A 9020 SFF in good condition should cost about 150 Euros or less.

Screen_Shot_20.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Messages
16
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 MT
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
HD4600
DP adapted to HDMI. Note that not all DP to HDMI adapters work equally. The active DP to HDMI adapters seem to always work, especially if the monitor is 4K. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B086QQT48Y/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

1080p monitors don't need an active adapter, this lower cost version will work with those.
I just ran across a GTX745 It has 1 DVI and 1 HDMI port. Would that be a better solution? Although I am fairly sure none of my displays have HDMI. Could I run 1 off the HD4600 and a second off the GTX745?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,957
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I just ran across a GTX745 It has 1 DVI and 1 HDMI port. Would that be a better solution? Although I am fairly sure none of my displays have HDMI. Could I run 1 off the HD4600 and a second off the GTX745?
That's an unsupported Nvidia card. Here's a partial list of ones that don't work with Mojave, Catalina or Big Sur.
  • GTX 970
  • GTX 960
  • GTX 950
  • GTX 750/Ti
  • GTX 745
The latest macOS you could use it with is High Sierra.

If you want a low cost, supported card get this one and use the DVI output.

NVIDIA QUADRO K600 https://www.newegg.com/p/1FT-0004-00384?

The Quadro K420 is the same card but this one has 2GB of Vram instead of 1GB.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
1,197
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B550M DS3H
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Left it to update overnight and woke up to macOS Big Sur 11.6!.



Screen Shot 2021-09-18 at 8.32.52 AM.png
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,957
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Left it to update overnight and woke up to macOS Big Sur 11.6!
That's really a completely "unattended" install. It can't get any easier than that.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
196
Motherboard
Intel Q87
CPU
Haswell i7
Graphics
4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone doing multiple macOS on this build? I want to be able to boot Big Sur, which is working fine right now using OC 0.7.0, and also boot Windows 10 Pro, also working fine, and now also Mojave (for 32-bit apps I still own that are never going to be upgraded).
I installed a second 250GB SSD (PNY) and then built a Mojave installer USB using the create media method. Did nothing else. Booted OC, selected the USB installer, and installed Mojave to the new SSD. Now, I can boot OC and select Mojave disk - it boots, but of course I see the "complaint" about Incompatible disk features because APFS is different on Mojave and Big Sur. I ignore that and I've tried my apps which are installed on an external 3.0 drive. Works great. I'm just curious if I am missing something? Can I proceed to install Catalina in a similar way? I have not tried to set up Apple ID, etc. on the newly installed Mojave.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
1,197
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B550M DS3H
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sup BGG!, I've just attempted to answer you question. I attached an external SSD and booted into Big Sur 11.5.2 without any issues. I can't answer if earlier OS's work though, I only have Big Sur lying around.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,957
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is anyone doing multiple macOS on this build?
I dual boot Catalina (Nvme) and Mojave (Sata SSD) and it works. The OC picker shows both drives and no complaints. I keep the OC EFI folder on the EFI partition of the Mojave SSD. So they share the same serials and MLB. Just like multibooting different macOS versions on a real iMac 15,1. Try connecting the Mojave SSD to an internal Sata port and see if it gets rid of the complaints.
 
Top