Contribute
Register

[Success] GIGABYTE Z370 Gaming 7 + Intel Core i7-8700K + RX 580 + (2x) Dell P2715Q 4k @ 60Hz

Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,853
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have you ever used the Hackintool to properly patch the USB? I’m trying to run it now. See if that makes any difference. I just don’t know if I need turn turn on or off any settings in my config? I deleted the patched SSDT so it wouldn’t conflict. I guess we’ll see if I can follow the directions. lol
I have used Hackintool, and would use it in the future at a Minimum to at least map the ports out. However, I like the non kext method, just because kexts may no longer work in the future. Based on the USB file in your old EFI you had High Speed/HS-1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 and Super Speed/SS-1,2,3,4,5,6.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega vii
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Congrats man.. How ya liking the upgrade ? I see your running Catalina, not sure why other than being a glutton for punishment, But Ive been toying with the idea of upgrading to it over Mojave? I have the Vega 64 which I love I just bought the vII but not sure if it will have the sleep issue and Fans Ramping up.. Not to mention if I would see any difference in the apps I use mainly Adobe CS (PS, Illustrator, and Dreamweaver) and occasional gaming on Windows?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
344
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Congrats man.. How ya liking the upgrade ? I see your running Catalina, not sure why other than being a glutton for punishment, But Ive been toying with the idea of upgrading to it over Mojave? I have the Vega 64 which I love I just bought the vII but not sure if it will have the sleep issue and Fans Ramping up.. Not to mention if I would see any difference in the apps I use mainly Adobe CS (PS, Illustrator, and Dreamweaver) and occasional gaming on Windows?
For me at least Catalina is same stable as Mojave. I don't have any problems at all. In gaming at Windows, for sure, I saw a lot of difference in comparison the RX 580 that I had before because I have a 4K display.
The only thing I've have to add at config.plist was a "agdpmod=pikera" to boot correctly to Catalina with RX 5700.
Sleep is working flawlessly.As far for the fans of RX 5700 Pulse edition, I don't even hear them. This card is very quiet.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega vii
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just returned my 7,1 Mac Pro w/ 12cores 32 gigs and my 3rd party Vega 64.. Honestly I just couldn't come to terms with spending $8k on a machine that frankly performed slightly better than this machine and the fact I couldn't get the Vega VII to run perfectly (Fans spin up at sleep) and also had conflicts with 2 driverless NVMe sleds I had added for my additional 2TB of flash storage. Kept getting conflicts between USB and Bluetooth. Not to mention the Vega 64 outperformed the Vega VII in most benches with the exception of Lux, and I don't do video editing. I'm still trying to get custom machine exact SSDT and DSDT files to work. But using spare parts laying around and getting this kinda performance was shocking I thought for sure the 7,1 was gonna crush it. LOL
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega vii
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
For me at least Catalina is same stable as Mojave. I don't have any problems at all. In gaming at Windows, for sure, I saw a lot of difference in comparison the RX 580 that I had before because I have a 4K display.
The only thing I've have to add at config.plist was a "agdpmod=pikera" to boot correctly to Catalina with RX 5700.
Sleep is working flawlessly.As far for the fans of RX 5700 Pulse edition, I don't even hear them. This card is very quiet.
Ha I updated to Catalina Last night and Thank you for the confidence went w/out a hitch! Smooth as butter upgrade :) So now Im really getting Ballsy, I got the Alpine Ridge TB3 card before and could not get stable, it seems most of the comments I read with Titan Ridge seem to have greater success? I should be getting it tomorrow and am very hopeful I can get it running right. If so I will be one happy camper :)
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
693
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ha I updated to Catalina Last night and Thank you for the confidence went w/out a hitch! Smooth as butter upgrade :) So now Im really getting Ballsy, I got the Alpine Ridge TB3 card before and could not get stable, it seems most of the comments I read with Titan Ridge seem to have greater success? I should be getting it tomorrow and am very hopeful I can get it running right. If so I will be one happy camper :)
Re: Alpine Ridge for this Z370 8700K build: Here ya' go, sport! Good for RP21.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega vii
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: Alpine Ridge for this Z370 8700K build: Here ya' go, sport! Good for RP21.
Thank you... Is this just for Alpine ridge or would it work for Titan Ridge? I returned the Alpine card and ordered the Titan :( I can return the Titan and reorder the Alpine? The system has been rock solid with my current build with a Fenvi WiFi card, Vega 64 and 3 1TB NVMe SSD's. My Titan gets delivered today lol.. either way also I am running f11 now but I believe the Alpine only runs on f7 ? If this didn’t work my next try was going to be a Z390 Designeer motherboard. I order an open box off Amazon a few weeks ago, and it came with bent pins in the CPU slot and only 1 memory stick worked. lol That’s what prompted me to get the 7,1 Mac. Sometimes it feels like I run around in circles. lol
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega vii
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Performa, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Re: Alpine Ridge for this Z370 8700K build: Here ya' go, sport! Good for RP21.
Quick update, I got The Titan Ridge Card in today after scrambling to find the extra power adaptors for my PSU to add the extra power needed for this card and finally plugged it all in. (Unlike the Alpine Ridge which I returned. Unfortunately, this thing has an extra USB connection as well as the power.) I tried inserting these patched SSDT files, and, while it shows up in my PCI section of about this machine, none of the ports work? I updated from F10 to F11 with no luck. I have a friend who has a Z390 Designeer board and his works flawlessly? Hotplug, etc., all functional. Think I should just get that board and see if I can make it run there. I'm batting 0 on this effort. Everyone said it was tough, but, oh my gosh, this is aggravating beyond belief!
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
693
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you... Is this just for Alpine ridge or would it work for Titan Ridge? I returned the Alpine card and ordered the Titan :( I can return the Titan and reorder the Alpine? The system has been rock solid with my current build with a Fenvi WiFi card, Vega 64 and 3 1TB NVMe SSD's. My Titan gets delivered today lol.. either way also I am running f11 now but I believe the Alpine only runs on f7 ? If this didn’t work my next try was going to be a Z390 Designeer motherboard. I order an open box off Amazon a few weeks ago, and it came with bent pins in the CPU slot and only 1 memory stick worked. lol That’s what prompted me to get the 7,1 Mac. Sometimes it feels like I run around in circles. lol
Delete, please...
 
Last edited:
Top