Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
76
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Hi Casey !, First of all I am grateful for all your work that you offer us. I would like to know what I am doing wrong ...
Yesterday I bought on ebay my TR Flashed for Mac pro & Hackintosh. Plug it into slot 4 and with the THBC header. The bios recognizes the board, but if I turn on the hack with something connected, it gets stuck on startup ... In order to boot and view the information on PCI & Thunderbolt Bus, I must connect a device on the bios screen and sometimes it boots and sometimes not. I put an ssdt that makes me see the card in pci as "Alpine Ridge" I can modify it so that Titan Ridge appears, but it is cosmetic isn't it?
Anyway, I hope and need your help! Sometimes I get frustrated!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello CaseySJ,
Before I start - this is my first post here, I was so happy to see this Golden Build, as I had bought such similar Hardware - though with my RX570, I am more "iMac19,2.
I followed your Build completely - and was up and running in no time - incredibly Happy! My UAD Apollo Twin mkII was 100%. However I somehow missed the last part on Backing up (the EFI). So I did a Restore from My CCC of an earlier setup (application wise, and of course - no Boot. So - Started again - but this time no joy. not anything, 10 days. Can NOT get to the install/Format stage. I have tried so much, here is a brief list:
Reformatted my Hackintosh SSD to the original EXFAT.
Tried FakeSmc and SMCHelper-64.efi (after a "VirtualSMC is broken" message) Did NOT have both Virtual and Fake at same time.
tried earlier version of Clover Configurator (as was my first success - 5.9.3 perhaps.) because things (apps) changed from first boot.
Nothing. My screen freezes have all been different but here is the latest:
Thank you for such a great Build. It was SUPERB when it ran. It's simply an I/O error. (Idiot Operator Error).
Also - pleas advise if this should be posted elsewhere.
Hello @Togril,

Welcome to the forum!

I assume you're installing Mojave. Do you still have the USB install disk from the earlier successful installation of Mojave? If so, boot from that disk by pressing F12 at BIOS splash screen to invoke the BIOS Boot Menu and selecting the USB disk.

When Clover Boot Menu appears, choose the USB flash disk (usually the icon on the far left of the Clover menu). When macOS installer starts, format the internal macOS SSD as:
  • Name: Mojave
  • Format: APFS (not ExFAT)
  • Scheme: GUID Partition Map
Then continue with Mojave installation.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Hi Casey !, First of all I am grateful for all your work that you offer us. I would like to know what I am doing wrong ...
Yesterday I bought on ebay my TR Flashed for Mac pro & Hackintosh. Plug it into slot 4 and with the THBC header. The bios recognizes the board, but if I turn on the hack with something connected, it gets stuck on startup ... In order to boot and view the information on PCI & Thunderbolt Bus, I must connect a device on the bios screen and sometimes it boots and sometimes not. I put an ssdt that makes me see the card in pci as "Alpine Ridge" I can modify it so that Titan Ridge appears, but it is cosmetic isn't it?
Anyway, I hope and need your help! Sometimes I get frustrated!
Hello @JoanSilva17,

To address the boot-related issues please try:
  • CMOS Reset. Simply follow the procedure in your motherboard's manual. BIOS parameters will need to be re-configured afterwards. CMOS Reset is often the single best "detoxifier" for the firmware (BIOS).
  • After configuring BIOS, grab screenshots of all the Thunderbolt parameters. If you insert a USB flash disk that has an EFI partition (such as your USB install disk), you can press F12 to capture screenshots in BIOS. Screenshots will be saved in the EFI partition of the USB flash disk, in BMP format. We can convert BMP to JPEG (I believe Preview can do this; open the BMP file and select File --> Export...).
To address SSDT please have a look at the post below and try Option 1 to generate a new SSDT:
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Messages
629
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-3930
Graphics
WX4100
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hi @CaseySJ
Some developments - In addition to my main Hackintosh I have a Mac Mini with Thunderbolt 2 running Mojave. Using a TB3 to TB2 adapter I was able to successfully test the RedLine16 which told me that 1) the Thunderbolt connection on the unit works fine, and 2) I have taken some screenshots of what IOreg sees when its working. There are a lot of similarities between the two but also some differences. Surprisingly in the aged Mac Mini the firmware version is higher although this is TB2 not 3. I don't know if that is important. The reg is different in IO reg as its the pciedebug and assigned address. Not sure what this means but if these can be adjusted I may be able to succeed. I don't know enough really so looking for advice....3rd August is Titan Ridge -
 

Attachments

  • 3rd Aug ethernet connect 2.png
    3rd Aug ethernet connect 2.png
    246.5 KB · Views: 52
  • 3rd aug ethernet connect.png
    3rd aug ethernet connect.png
    257.6 KB · Views: 56
  • ioreg 1 mac mini TB2.jpg
    ioreg 1 mac mini TB2.jpg
    236.3 KB · Views: 50
  • ioreg2 mac mini tb2.jpg
    ioreg2 mac mini tb2.jpg
    290.4 KB · Views: 51
  • tb sys prof mac mini.jpg
    tb sys prof mac mini.jpg
    159.7 KB · Views: 54
  • PCI BUS MAC MINI TB2.jpg
    PCI BUS MAC MINI TB2.jpg
    54.9 KB · Views: 53
  • systb-titan Ridge.png
    systb-titan Ridge.png
    306.7 KB · Views: 73
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
223
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
Hi everyone,

I made a second Catalina drive to ease the transition from Mojave. I had issues logging into my iCloud this morning. It kept throwing errors.
"Unable to sign in because of a problem communicating with iCloud."

And now, I went back to my Mojave drive, I am having similar issues. I am going to try to log out completely but I was curious if anyone has any experience or tips with this? The EFI is the same (clover) and so is the serial number, etc.

Edit: Now I get the same error trying to log into icloud.com via the web!!

Does this mean I may need a new serial number?

Thank you in advance!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designaire-F8
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Glad to hear it! Are both of your Ethernet ports showing in “System Information —> Ethernet Cards”?

I think I figured out my missing Ethernet problem.

For some reason, the Mausi driver version 2.5.1d1 doesn't work when injected specifically into Mojave 10.14.6 (with all the latest security patches). If I use the 1.0.2 version of the Mausi driver, the interface shows up properly in Mojave. This was reproducible for me with both OpenCore and Clover.

I've been using your patches/drivers/kexts included in the "May 2020 Update - Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" (injecting everything for both Mojave and Catalina in a vanilla-type way). This has worked beautifully for both versions of MacOS. I just didn't realize that Mausi driver in your OpenCore EFIs is different from the one included in the May 2020 Update bundle. (And I probably remember earlier versions of OpenCore+2.5.1d1 working because i was looking in Catalina, where both the 2.5.1d1 and 1.0.2 Mausi drivers work for me.)

Maybe this observation will be helpful to someone else stuck in the (Mojave 32bit-land) past!
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB
I'm curious about this too. Want to update from OC 0.5.9 to OC 0.6.0 wondering if I'll need to generate a new S/N.



Hi everyone,

I made a second Catalina drive to ease the transition from Mojave. I had issues logging into my iCloud this morning. It kept throwing errors.
"Unable to sign in because of a problem communicating with iCloud."

And now, I went back to my Mojave drive, I am having similar issues. I am going to try to log out completely but I was curious if anyone has any experience or tips with this? The EFI is the same (clover) and so is the serial number, etc.

Edit: Now I get the same error trying to log into icloud.com via the web!!

Does this mean I may need a new serial number?

Thank you in advance!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm curious about this too. Want to update from OC 0.5.9 to OC 0.6.0 wondering if I'll need to generate a new S/N.
A new serial number is definitely not needed for this update.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone,

I made a second Catalina drive to ease the transition from Mojave. I had issues logging into my iCloud this morning. It kept throwing errors.
"Unable to sign in because of a problem communicating with iCloud."

And now, I went back to my Mojave drive, I am having similar issues. I am going to try to log out completely but I was curious if anyone has any experience or tips with this? The EFI is the same (clover) and so is the serial number, etc.

Edit: Now I get the same error trying to log into icloud.com via the web!!

Does this mean I may need a new serial number?

Thank you in advance!
Please do two things:
  • Reset NVRAM from the OpenCore Picker Menu
  • Check your serial number on Apple's website (click here). If the result comes back as:
We’re sorry, but this serial number isn’t valid. Please check your information and try again.

... then your serial number is OKAY. It means no one else is using it. Otherwise you will need to change the number.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think I figured out my missing Ethernet problem.

For some reason, the Mausi driver version 2.5.1d1 doesn't work when injected specifically into Mojave 10.14.6 (with all the latest security patches). If I use the 1.0.2 version of the Mausi driver, the interface shows up properly in Mojave. This was reproducible for me with both OpenCore and Clover.

I've been using your patches/drivers/kexts included in the "May 2020 Update - Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" (injecting everything for both Mojave and Catalina in a vanilla-type way). This has worked beautifully for both versions of MacOS. I just didn't realize that Mausi driver in your OpenCore EFIs is different from the one included in the May 2020 Update bundle. (And I probably remember earlier versions of OpenCore+2.5.1d1 working because i was looking in Catalina, where both the 2.5.1d1 and 1.0.2 Mausi drivers work for me.)

Maybe this observation will be helpful to someone else stuck in the (Mojave 32bit-land) past!
I've added the following note to the OC 0.6.0 Guide:

Screen Shot 2020-08-05 at 12.13.18 PM.png
 
Top