Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] blouse's "Hack Pro" :: i9-9900K + Z390 Aorus Pro + Vega 64 + TB3 + USB3 :: 100% working

Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
I got my system stable with this thread:

I'm pretty sure F12d was a critical part of that, BTW. What BIOS version you using?
I'll give it a shot!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
View attachment 474395

F12d but I notice there are new beta BIOS (F12h) from Gigabyte uploaded June 2nd. Might have the cfg-lock disabled by default in these?
https://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/28441-gigabyte-beta-bios.html
You might remember that I had said I was using bits of your EFI. Last night I realized that my computer wasn't seeing any of its USB 3 ports. I had to remove USBPorts.kext and replace it with USBInjectAll to get them going. Apparently this is the way to go? Use the SSDTs and USBInjectAll? That's what CaseySJ seems to be doing with his Designare EFI.

On my previous Mojave install the only way I could get the ports to work was by using a USBPorts.kext AND the SSDTs... but this time it seems different with Catalina.

Maybe there's something else I'm doing wrong... but it seems to be working fine. I wouldn't be bringing it up if I wasn't using your EFI. :)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro-F12d
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I based my setup on pastrychef's Gaming M build, and this is what I did — kept my USBInjectAll setup. Is it the "way to go"? USBPorts.kext can work but you need to build it for your board and for your needs. Of course, the same is true with USBInjectAll — if you don't have the correct SSDTs for your board and setup, that won't help either. USBPorts is the newer way to do it, and therefore arguably better. I was just lazy.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
144
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
You might remember that I had said I was using bits of your EFI. Last night I realized that my computer wasn't seeing any of its USB 3 ports. I had to remove USBPorts.kext and replace it with USBInjectAll to get them going. Apparently this is the way to go? Use the SSDTs and USBInjectAll? That's what CaseySJ seems to be doing with his Designare EFI.

On my previous Mojave install the only way I could get the ports to work was by using a USBPorts.kext AND the SSDTs... but this time it seems different with Catalina.

Maybe there's something else I'm doing wrong... but it seems to be working fine. I wouldn't be bringing it up if I wasn't using your EFI. :)
As you stated I'm running USBPorts.kexts and have no issues with USB either built in or via the GC-Titan Ridge card.
USB.jpg
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
144
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Current EFI attached for reference, using Clover 5118 and iMac19,1 with iGPU enabled as headless, graphics output using 5700XT card. Generate or copy over your existing serial numbers to the config file, random values exist within.

Native NVRAM needs to be enabled by disabling the BIOS cfg-lock if not already patched, hopefully the beta F12h BIOS has this toggle but I have not installed it to find out.

Disable the iGPU in BIOS if you are having repeated 'no entry' memory allocation errors on startup. This happens very occasionally for me but will boot fine on the next attempt. I have always had iGPU enabled for quick look and rendering compatibility.

CSM Support: Enabled
VT-d: Disabled
Initial Display Output: PCIe 1 Slot
Internal Graphics: Enabled
DVMT Pre-Allocated / Total Gfx Men / Aperture Size: 64M / 256M / 256MB
Audio Controller: Enabled
Above 4G Decoding: Enabled
PCH LAN Controller: Enabled
Wake on LAN: Disabled
IOAPIC 24-119 Entries: Enabled
Legacy USB Support: Disabled
XHCI Hand-off: Enabled
USB Mass Storage Driver Support: Enabled
Port 60/64 Emulation: Disabled
Network Stack: Disabled
LEDs in System Power on State: On
LEDs in Sleep, Hibernation and Soft Off States: Off
PTT: Disabled
SGX: Disabled
3DMark01 Enhancement: Disabled
Platform Power Management: Disabled
AC Back: Always Off
ErP: Disabled
Soft-Off by PWR-BTTN: Delay 4sec.
Resume by Alarm: Disabled
Power Loading: Auto
CEC 2019 Ready: Disabled
RC6(Render Standby): Enabled
XMP Profile 1

Hope that helps :)
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
I'm very grateful, thank you. :) I must be doing something different as I'm not seeing what you're seeing without using USBInjectAll

Today my computer went completely insane... my external Thunderbolt chassis kept on disappearing randomly, and Pro Tools would freeze up and complain that I "shouldn't have sleep enabled." Which I don't, as I have both sleep and hibernate completely disabled. Took the Pro Tools card out of the chassis, and put it right into the motherboard instead of the Titan Ridge card, and then the system worked fine. I have a real fight up ahead later this week to figure out what was going on, but I have clients in for the next few days.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
341
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Disable the iGPU in BIOS if you are having repeated 'no entry' memory allocation errors on startup. This happens very occasionally for me but will boot fine on the next attempt. I have always had iGPU enabled for quick look and rendering compatibility.
Every time I was able to get the iGpu to work, it would give me the memory error once I switched between Windows and OSX. I just gave up on it. Not worth the headache. I don't use QuickSync anyway.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
341
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Every time I was able to get the iGpu to work, it would give me the memory error once I switched between Windows and OSX. I just gave up on it. Not worth the headache. I don't use QuickSync anyway.
Well, this is no longer the case. Using OpenCore, I'm now running with the iGPU as well and have been for several weeks. Including switching back and forth between Windows, Linux, and OS X.
 
Top