Contribute
Register

Stork's Gene Build > ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170 - i5-6600K - MSI Vega 56

Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
196
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just to confirm, are you having difficulty booting to BIOS on a brand new build?

If yes, try to check that the RAM is installed correctly and that the heatsink is not over tightened.

Thank you, Pastrychef. I have removed and reinstalled the RAM - Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB, 2666MHz. Can't see that I did it any different. I updated the BIOS first, which was probably a misstep because now I don't know which made the difference. Anyway, the Gene manual contradicts Stork's guide, says the Flashback USB port is upper one just beneath the LAN port. That worked (flashing blue lights).
When the BIOS update finished, I tried to boot into BIOS and got an error 53 = invalid memory type or incompatible memory speed. I tried using the MemOK button as per the Gene manual, but it didn't seem to find a compatible memory setting.
The strange thing is this is exactly the memory that Stork used. One thing I notice about the QVL is that neither the 2666MHz nor the 2133MH list include any 2x8GB configurations. Anyway, before I buy different memory, I'd appreciate any advice.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,387
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you able to get to BIOS at all? I have always updated the BIOS from within the BIOS and have never tried "Flashback".
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
196
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, quite a few steps forward. I did check the CPU cooler (thanks again, Pastrychef) and it was too tightly screwed down. But that didn't change things, except that when I moved one memory piece fro the recommended A2 to slot A1, it was recognised. Eventually I got both sticks working in their recommended Gene slots, A2 and B2. Inserting the RAM properly obviously requires great care and experience obviously helps.

The Gene BIOS setup was quite daunting. Thanks to Stork's guide, which tells us in which BIOS menu to find things, I got that done. The BIOS version 3401 I did the update to is there OK.

Gene is obviously very picky about which USB ports work for various functions. Stork pointed that out, but there seem to be changes. I mentioned before the change in the port for the BIOS Flashback port, which is stated wrongly (for my USB, anyway) on p. 2-12 of their manual and correctly on p. 2-13! Go figure! I found similar pickiness about which port the USB installer was recognised in. It did finally work in bottom USB port below the PS2 port, as Stork has said. Also, My AOC monitor wouldn't display anything with an HDMI cable, but DVI worked.

Status at this stage: I can get to the Clover boot screen, select any options (verbose, etc), and launch it. But then it immediately hangs with the Apple logo showing. My USB installer uses macOs 10.12.5. If it means anything useful the Gene Q code when it hangs is 61 = "NVRAM initialisation". A Clover verbose setting shows only this:
OsxAptioFix2Drv: Starting overrides for \System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efi
Using relic blocks no. hibernate wake: no
I've had a crash refresher course in how detailed and specific the settings have to be, so that's enough for today. I would be very grateful for any advice.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,387
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since you are using a Kaby Lake CPU and installing 10.12.5, you will probably need to use FakeCPUID to spoof a SkyLake CPU. Also, at least for now, you should disable the Integrated GPU in BIOS and just use your GTX 1050 for now. You can reenable the Integrated GPU again after you have everything running if you like.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
196
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since you are using a Kaby Lake CPU and installing 10.12.5, you will probably need to use FakeCPUID to spoof a SkyLake CPU. Also, at least for now, you should disable the Integrated GPU in BIOS and just use your GTX 1050 for now. You can reenable the Integrated GPU again after you have everything running if you like.
Hi Pastrychef -- of course! I forgot about Fake CPUID. An aside, I had my Samsung SM941 mounted on a PCIe card for cooling reasons, but it wasn't being recognised. So put it in the M.2 slot and all's well.
I'm now at the point in Stork's guide of installing the Nvidia drivers, but EFI Mounter v3 keeps failing with the message "AppleEvent handler failed (-10000)". It offers me the script to edit, but that's beyond me. Is there another way to mount the EFI partition? I saw someone else say they used EFI Mounter v2, but it gets a permission error.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,387
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You do not need to mount the EFI partition to install the Nvidia web drivers.

If/when you do need to mount the EFI partition, you can use Clover Configurator or Terminal.

To use Terminal:
  1. Launch Terminal
  2. In Terminal, enter:
    Code:
    diskutil list
  3. Look for your EFI partition and find its identifier Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 9.49.34 PM.png
  4. In Terminal, enter:
    Code:
    diskutil mount /dev/disk0s1
The "/dev/disk0s1" may be different for you if you have multiple drives in your system.

I'm sure there are other methods, but I usually just use Terminal.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
196
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for all of your help, Pastrychef.

Everything seemed to go well until I did the final installation of the Nvidia web drivers, editing the Clover config.plist for the Nvidia drivers and the FakeCPUID, and installing the Codec Commander.kext with KextBeast. I don't have an SSDT yet, so that is probably the problem, because when I restarted I got a constant stream of messages that seemed related to power.
So my next step will be trying to get/generate and SSDT.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,387
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
SSDT is easy to generate. Just follow the directions on how to use ssdtprgen.sh.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
196
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
SSDT is easy to generate. Just follow the directions on how to use ssdtprgen.sh.
Ok will do. Do you think not having one could cause such a problem? Until that point, there'd been no major issues. I really appreciate your prompt advice.

I have to go on a trip over the weekend, so I won't have a chance to do any more till Monday.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,387
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As far as I know, there are no downsides to having the ssdt.aml and only upside and should definitely help power management. It is advisable to install it.

Don't worry, even though Terminal is involved, it's very easy.
 
Top