Contribute
Register

Stops at the spinning wheel and apple logo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77-Ds3h
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Geforce GTS450
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi!

I´m trying to install Mountain lion on my computer(3570k, intel 4000, Gigabyte Z77-DS3H).
After the installation is done and it stands "Installation Succesful" I restart the computer boot from my unibeast stick and shoose my new installation. The apple logo shows up and a spinning wheel. Than nothing more happens. I have no idea what to do.

I´m new at this and I hop ethat someone here could help me.
 

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,604
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,105
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Hi!

I´m trying to install Mountain lion on my computer(3570k, intel 4000, Gigabyte Z77-DS3H).
After the installation is done and it stands "Installation Succesful" I restart the computer boot from my unibeast stick and shoose my new installation. The apple logo shows up and a spinning wheel. Than nothing more happens. I have no idea what to do.

I´m new at this and I hop ethat someone here could help me.

Boot into the installation Drive from the USB with boot flag -x then run MultiBeast. Installed on the same board yesterday came across the same problem.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, I'm a n00b as well who had the same problem. My build has a GA-z77X-UP5 TH motherboard with an i7-3770k CPU. I used the -x command to boot from safe mode to finish the mountain lion installation and ran multibeast, but now when i try to restart it won't boot properly from the mountain lion hard drive, gets stuck on the screen with the apple logo and the spinning thingy. Tried unplugging all the hardware, still won't work. I've tried wiping the hard drive and reinstalling with a variety of different multibeast settings but nothing seems to work.

...help? ...please?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2013
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
ASUS GeForce GTX 660 Ti OC 2GB
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had the exact same problem. The solution is not in the guide. You need to set the VT-d setting to Disabled in the Bios page of the Bios settings. Post #2 here has a screenshot. http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...bolt-bios-version-f11-nothing-seams-work.html

It stumped me for a few days, but I eventually found it by searching on the "macx_swapon SUCCESS" error which was where the machine was freezing while doing a -v verbose boot.

Good luck!
 

beelzebozo

Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,604
Motherboard
ASUS z170-Deluxe
CPU
i7 - 6700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
22
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had the exact same problem. The solution is not in the guide. You need to set the VT-d setting to Disabled in the Bios page of the Bios settings. Post #2 here has a screenshot. http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...bolt-bios-version-f11-nothing-seams-work.html

It stumped me for a few days, but I eventually found it by searching on the "macx_swapon SUCCESS" error which was where the machine was freezing while doing a -v verbose boot.

Good luck!

I have the same problem except VT-D is already disabled for me by default as I am using a different board. I'm using Asus P8Z77-V LK and i5 3570K ivy bridge.
I patched my bios and flashed the modified bios to mother board successfully so I don't think I will run into sleep issues.

I created unibeast USB and installed mountain lion sucessfully and reboot using -x mode and installed multibeast with the following settings:
UserDSDT or DSDT-Free Installation
Audio - Realtek - without DSDT - ALC-892
Network - Lnx2Mac's RealtekRTL81xx v0.0.90
Customization - Boot options - GraphicsEnabler=No


I still get the spinning gear with apple logo = \ I am able to boot up without the usb though =)

I tried experimenting with all of these flags.
PCIRootUID=0 or PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No or GraphicsEnabler=Yes DSDT=No -x -f -v
All of these flags gave me the apple logo with spinning gear except the following:
-v gave me this:
photo 2.JPG

and GraphicsEnabler=Yes gave me this:
photo 1.JPG
-x allows me to boot into safe mode.

HELP please! still stuck on spinning gear and apple logo, can't log in regularly only with -x.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,105
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I have the same problem except VT-D is already disabled for me by default as I am using a different board. I'm using Asus P8Z77-V LK and i5 3570K ivy bridge.
I patched my bios and flashed the modified bios to mother board successfully so I don't think I will run into sleep issues.

I created unibeast USB and installed mountain lion sucessfully and reboot using -x mode and installed multibeast with the following settings:
UserDSDT or DSDT-Free Installation
Audio - Realtek - without DSDT - ALC-892
Network - Lnx2Mac's RealtekRTL81xx v0.0.90
Customization - Boot options - GraphicsEnabler=No


I still get the spinning gear with apple logo = \ I am able to boot up without the usb though =)

I tried experimenting with all of these flags.
PCIRootUID=0 or PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No or GraphicsEnabler=Yes DSDT=No -x -f -v
All of these flags gave me the apple logo with spinning gear except the following:
-v gave me this:
View attachment 54759

and GraphicsEnabler=Yes gave me this:
View attachment 54758
-x allows me to boot into safe mode.

HELP please! still stuck on spinning gear and apple logo, can't log in regularly only with -x.

Use GraphicsEnabler=Yes, with multiBeast setting Customizations/Boot Oprions/1080p Display. Boot into your OSX drive using -x apply settings and reboot.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
22
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I did this before I manage to read your fix.
I figure it out! I needed to activate my Intel 4000 graphics card and set the resolution.
booting into -x
I had to click the desktop, then on the upper left corner of my screen select finder and preferences and check Hard disks.

Doing this will cause your hard drive to show on the desktop.

Next open your hard drive and open the "EXTRA" folder followed by org.chameleon.boot.plist

copy paste this EFI string for desktop (0162)

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002 010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c000000 4100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066 006f0072006d002d0069006400000008000000050062011400 00006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e62 6f6172642d31</string>

Also copy paste this:
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1280x1024x32</string>

changing the numbers to whatever screen resolution you would like. File Save and reboot and it works like a charm.


Should I also try the 1080P thing you mentioned? I wonder what that does lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top