Contribute
Register

Sierra & Safari: Freezing and reboot!

Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
asrock z77 extreme 4
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
Intel HD4000/AMD r9 280
I have a bit of a weird one. I'm running into the Sierra Safari freeze bug affecting HD4400/4600 users except I'm using an HD4000. It only freezes when visiting the offending pages in Safari and I've confirmed that the bug doesn't appear when I switch to my discrete GPU only (I have to enable iGPU because of the AMD sleep issues). None of the Kext patches suggested work. I've searched high and low and haven't found anyone else running into this on an HD4000. I'm not sure what patch I need to disable intel accelerator on the 4000. My IORegistry is attached.

Specs:
MOBO: asrock z77 extreme 4
CPU: i5 3570k
iGPU: intel HD4000 (1080p)
discrete GPU: AMD r9 280
 

Attachments

  • IOReg.ioreg
    5.7 MB · Views: 110
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a bit of a weird one. I'm running into the Sierra Safari freeze bug affecting HD4400/4600 users except I'm using an HD4000. It only freezes when visiting the offending pages in Safari and I've confirmed that the bug doesn't appear when I switch to my discrete GPU only (I have to enable iGPU because of the AMD sleep issues). None of the Kext patches suggested work. I've searched high and low and haven't found anyone else running into this on an HD4000. I'm not sure what patch I need to disable intel accelerator on the 4000. My IORegistry is attached.

Specs:
MOBO: asrock z77 extreme 4
CPU: i5 3570k
iGPU: intel HD4000 (1080p)
discrete GPU: AMD r9 280

Intel HD 4000 doesn't have the freeze problem that i know of anyway. Take a look at this. [README] Common (some unsolved) Problems in 10.12 Sierra ...
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
CPU
3,4 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 1536 MB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
SOLVED for me.
Doing the Clover find and replace of the AppleIntelFramebufferAzul

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 09.56.14.png



Thanks, very useful.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
ASRock Z97 Anniversary - ASUS Z97M PLUS
CPU
Intel Core i5 4590 - Intel Core i3 4330
Graphics
ATI Radeon R9 280X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It seem's to work!!

This in clover:

--> Kexttopatch



Name: AppleIntelFramebufferAzul

Find: 48898BA8000000

Replace: 90909090909090

Comment: isolate IntelAccelerator HD4600 (10.11.6 & 10.12

MatchOS: 10.12.x



Feedback pls
wink.png
I just absolutely LOVE YOU!!!
Was going mad with this, even tested the RAM. THANKS!!!
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS P8Z77i-Deluxe
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I was having this issue for the longest time.
Sierra OSX has been the smoothest install out of any that I have had.
Since I have a Intel HD4600; I simply went into my BIOS & disabled it.
Problem Solved.

OSX 10.12.3
GTX970
Nvidia Manager Patch 367.15.10.35f01
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I was having this issue for the longest time.
Sierra OSX has been the smoothest install out of any that I have had.
Since I have a Intel HD4600; I simply went into my BIOS & disabled it.
Problem Solved.

OSX 10.12.3
GTX970
Nvidia Manager Patch 367.15.10.35f01

Yep that is normal. Your using dedicated Graphics so you shouldn't have any problems with Safari.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
3
Motherboard
Ga-z87mx-d3h
CPU
Intel core i7 4770k
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I'm the guy from reddit mentioned in posts 5, 12 and 35. I'm looking back at the issue because of 10.12.4 and I'd like to know more about the solution given in post 20.
In my own post I came to the conclusion that I could get an easy fix by disabling intel processor graphics from the BIOS.
Does the solution provided in post 20 is supposed to work with inject intel set as true? In other words making the HD4600 usable with no crashes and freezes?

In post 44 someone says that you have to set inject intel as false, but setting it as false has the same effect as disabling intel processor graphics in the BIOS in other words getting rid of intel graphics altogether which also means that the fix of post 20 serves no purpose at all.

So is it really supposed to make the HD4600 work alongside your dedicated GPU?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
253
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
GTX 1070
The freeze problem with 10.12.4 is back !!!

We need a new solution!
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, I'm the guy from reddit mentioned in posts 5, 12 and 35. I'm looking back at the issue because of 10.12.4 and I'd like to know more about the solution given in post 20.
In my own post I came to the conclusion that I could get an easy fix by disabling intel processor graphics from the BIOS.
Does the solution provided in post 20 is supposed to work with inject intel set as true? In other words making the HD4600 usable with no crashes and freezes?

In post 44 someone says that you have to set inject intel as false, but setting it as false has the same effect as disabling intel processor graphics in the BIOS in other words getting rid of intel graphics altogether which also means that the fix of post 20 serves no purpose at all.

So is it really supposed to make the HD4600 work alongside your dedicated GPU?

No. There is no point having onboard IGPU along with a dedicated card that just works out of the box. It is pointless better to just disable IGPU and just use dedicated or better still go back to 10.11.6.
 
Top