Contribute
Register

RehabMan SSDT trick used to disable unsupported Nvidia and keep it in pcie slot while using Mojave

Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
Aorus Z390 Pro WiFi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
5700XT / RX 570
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is there a guide like this to disable a RX570 in Catalina? I’m running a triple boot. Windows 10/Catalina(5700XT) and Mojave(RX570)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z390-A
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
iGPU UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
to both of you, if the file posted above is not working, try this second one, I use it on my own computer with success.
The previous one was for ACPI path "_SB.PCI0.PEG0", this one is for "_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP". Copy to EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched folder then reboot.
From post #9

This DSDT file works for my system with an NVIDIA RTX 2080 running in a ASUS Prime Z390-A on Catalina!

Is it possible to somehow have the BIOS manage ASPM? The graphics card still draws 50 Watts of power doing nothing!
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Really nice idea! What I'm using is add -wegnoegpu, system info can't find egpu now, but my 2080ti still got hot. Will try this method later.
I have the same issue with my 2080ti as well, only the left fan spins and it is pretty hot to the touch. Have you found out if long term usage with it being that hot caused any issues when using the 2080ti in the Windows?



From post #9

This DSDT file works for my system with an NVIDIA RTX 2080 running in a ASUS Prime Z390-A on Catalina!

Is it possible to somehow have the BIOS manage ASPM? The graphics card still draws 50 Watts of power doing nothing!
Does your 2080ti also get hot like @dmdacc's? Really curious on getting Catalina setup while using this method for the 2080ti and running macOS on my iGPU.

Also, did you use the Vanilla method Catalina? Which guide did you follow?
 
Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have the same issue with my 2080ti as well, only the left fan spins and it is pretty hot to the touch. Have you found out if long term usage with it being that hot caused any issues when using the 2080ti in the Windows?




Does your 2080ti also get hot like @dmdacc's? Really curious on getting Catalina setup while using this method for the 2080ti and running macOS on my iGPU.

Also, did you use the Vanilla method Catalina? Which guide did you follow?
Hi there.

Bear in mind that you both seem to be using the ACPI patch from the same builder who had a Z97 motherboard. Likely that your Z390 has a different PCI layout.

The original guide that is still best is @RehabMan 's here:


:thumbup:
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
53
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Tomahawk Arctic
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti, HD 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there.

Bear in mind that you both seem to be using the ACPI patch from the same builder who had a Z97 motherboard. Likely that your Z390 has a different PCI layout.

The original guide that is still best is @RehabMan 's here:


:thumbup:
Hi!
I'm using the SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml trick by rehabman. In my build I have a 1070ti (displayport) and HD 630 (DVI), both connected to the same Monitor.

When I boot my PC, the monitor switches to DP input (as expected, since 1070ti is the primary GPU in BIOS). After I boot into macOS Catalina from Clover, the 1070ti video output freezes at the end of the (errorless) verbose and I need to manually switch to the DVI input (HD 630), which works perfectly.

Whenever macOS turns off the display for energy saving purposes, the monitor automatically switches back to the DP 1070Ti input because it's still receiving the "stuck" final (errorless) verbose output. So, if I want to "wake" Catalina, I have to move the mouse and then manually switch to DVI again.

Is there a way, to turn off the Nvidia GPU completely at the end of the clover booting process? Ideally, my monitor will then only detect the HD 630.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi!
I'm using the SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml trick by rehabman. In my build I have a 1070ti (displayport) and HD 630 (DVI), both connected to the same Monitor.

When I boot my PC, the monitor switches to DP input (as expected, since 1070ti is the primary GPU in BIOS). After I boot into macOS Catalina from Clover, the 1070ti video output freezes at the end of the (errorless) verbose and I need to manually switch to the DVI input (HD 630), which works perfectly.

Whenever macOS turns off the display for energy saving purposes, the monitor automatically switches back to the DP 1070Ti input because it's still receiving the "stuck" final (errorless) verbose output. So, if I want to "wake" Catalina, I have to move the mouse and then manually switch to DVI again.

Is there a way, to turn off the Nvidia GPU completely at the end of the clover booting process? Ideally, my monitor will then only detect the HD 630.

I doubt it.

The ACPI patch is injected before the OS takes hold and disables the Nvidia GPU preventing it being used as an output. Otherwise it would show in System Report. Turning-off the GPU once booted is something I haven't seen done before.

:)
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
53
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Tomahawk Arctic
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti, HD 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
I doubt it.

The ACPI patch is injected before the OS takes hold and disables the Nvidia GPU preventing it being used as an output. Otherwise it would show in System Report. Turning-off the GPU once booted is something I haven't seen done before.

:)
Alright, thanks for the reply! So it means there's something wrong with the ssdt-discretespoof.aml I did.
If done properly, should the following happen?

  1. PC turns on
  2. 1070 Ti displays motherboard logo ("press del to enter BIOS etc.")
  3. Clover is loaded + 1070Ti is turned off and won't output a single thing + video output is now from HD 630

Is this right? I dislike having that verbose video output stuck on the 1070Ti that takes over everytime macOS puts display to sleep.
 
Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Alright, thanks for the reply! So it means there's something wrong with the ssdt-discretespoof.aml I did.
If done properly, should the following happen?

  1. PC turns on
  2. 1070 Ti displays motherboard logo ("press del to enter BIOS etc.")
  3. Clover is loaded + 1070Ti is turned off and won't output a single thing + video output is now from HD 630

Is this right? I dislike having that verbose video output stuck on the 1070Ti that takes over everytime macOS puts display to sleep.
This depends on the BIOS setting for First Initialisation GPU. If you set this to iGPU and connect via motherboard DP/HDMI then eveything is fine, but you don't see the 1070 at all. If you connect to the 1070 but have iGPU set as First, then you see nothing. If you connect the 1070 and have 1070/GPU as First then you see BIOS/POST then go black. If you connect to iGPU but set 1070 as First you do not see BIOS/POST but the display should then appear as boot progresses.

Really, I would recommend removing the 1070 and replacing with AMD or just iGPU, but if this is not an option then it has to be a case of compromise.

:)
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
53
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Tomahawk Arctic
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti, HD 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
This depends on the BIOS setting for First Initialisation GPU. If you set this to iGPU and connect via motherboard DP/HDMI then eveything is fine, but you don't see the 1070 at all. If you connect to the 1070 but have iGPU set as First, then you see nothing. If you connect the 1070 and have 1070/GPU as First then you see BIOS/POST then go black. If you connect to iGPU but set 1070 as First you do not see BIOS/POST but the display should then appear as boot progresses.

Really, I would recommend removing the 1070 and replacing with AMD or just iGPU, but if this is not an option then it has to be a case of compromise.

:)
Again, thanks for the detailed reply. I'm trying to achieve the following
If you connect the 1070 and have 1070/GPU as First then you see BIOS/POST then go black
by using the SSDT-DiscreteSpoof method by RehabMan.
I know it would be just better to remove the 1070, but it appears what I want to do is doable.

I followed the DiscreteSpoof guide but it doesn't work: my 1070 Ti doesn't go black after BIOS/POST (as I would like) but instead it shows clover. I kindly ask you to help me solve this issue. I attach the EFI folder, my decompiled DSDT and SSDT and the DiscreteSpoof.dsl and .aml
 

Attachments

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Again, thanks for the detailed reply. I'm trying to achieve the following

by using the SSDT-DiscreteSpoof method by RehabMan.
I know it would be just better to remove the 1070, but it appears what I want to do is doable.

I followed the DiscreteSpoof guide but it doesn't work: my 1070 Ti doesn't go black after BIOS/POST (as I would like) but instead it shows clover. I kindly ask you to help me solve this issue. I attach the EFI folder, my decompiled DSDT and SSDT and the DiscreteSpoof.dsl and .aml

Hi there.

Well the best you are going to see doing this is non-accelerated graphics with glitches and tears - if you can make it work.

I can see your logic, but SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml was only really designed to allow access to the Installer, and doesn't disable the GPU. It just seems to null the IDs, which I guess is as intended as there is no 'Method (_OFF' in this technique. Carrying this forward into a running build I am not sure about ...

Remember too you should have SSDT-EC.aml in the patched folder as well.

If you need to keep the 1070 wired in because you dual-boot then I would recommend you simply turn-off the GPU using @RehabMan 's guide as this obviously patches ACPI only for macOS.

Personally I would not go to the trouble of using _DSM because I don't see the whole gain here. Well except perhaps avoiding having to unplug and replug HDMI when you dual boot ...

Maybe let me know why you need to go down this route?

:)
 
Top