Contribute
Register

ProBook 450 G2 FHD field report (K7J65ES#ABD)

Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
hp ProBook 450 G2 (Clover)
CPU
i5-4210U
Graphics
intel HD 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
ok, I'got my hands on it. Runs very nice, but has HDMI problems, and some usb problems after coming up back from sleep. Sometimes it has also usb problems when booting up with external usb keyboard attached. But promising!
*****
Update 1:

I have no more problems with the usb ports, one of these things, which I did, solved everything:

reinstall PBI Clover Edition(latest version--6.2.14.1--with updated hdmi patch for HD 4400 6.2.14.1) and repatching DSDT

sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 0

clear kernel caches

Display resolution is not optimal at login screen when external monitor is attached via hdmi and there and minor graphical glitches when booting, but this ist a great hackintosh laptop, thanks PBI, of couse

*****
Update 2:

no ethernet, RealtekRTL81xx.kext ver 1.2.3 seems not to work

ethernet in this notebook ist Realtek RTL8161GSH-CG, any ideas?

*****
Update 3:

USB troubles after waking up from sleep came again randomly. As a temporary solution I installed GenericUSBXHCI.kext in clover partition. I forgot to mention that latest PBI 6.2.14.1 gets rid of this kext in favor of native apple usb stack.

*****
Update 4:

The solution for the auto-restart-after-sleep issue is simple: add darkwake=0 to the boot section of clover's config.pslist in /EFI/EFI/CLOVBER
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
1. Asus P8Z77-M Pro ((UEFI v1805 modded) . 2. Asus PRIME Z370-A (BIOS 1601)
CPU
1. i7 3770k 2. i7 9700K
Graphics
1. Asus Geforce GTX 980 2. Asus Radeon RX Vega 56 ROG Strix OC
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
Android
Thx for information, today (BlackFriday) it's available with 10% discount (max 50 EUR) in Germany, if payment is done by Paypal. Got it for 502 EUR incl. shipping!

Vouchercode Black14
http://www.computeruniverse.net/products/90576170/hp-probook-450-g2-k7j65es.asp.

Will come back after delivery.
Update: Got it yesterday, added 4GB RAM and replaced HD with 480er SSD, replacing wifi-modul is next step.

Bye
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
hp ProBook 450 G2 (Clover)
CPU
i5-4210U
Graphics
intel HD 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thx for information, today (BlackFriday) it's available with 10% discount (max 50 EUR) in Germany, if payment is done by Paypal. Got it for 502 EUR incl. shipping!

Vouchercode Black14
http://www.computeruniverse.net/products/90576170/hp-probook-450-g2-k7j65es.asp.

Will come back after delivery.
You've got a nice machine for a nice price, works great wit Yosemite, but be patient because there are still some issues. Almost nobody here has such a new equipment and it takes time for new things to reach perfection(but they will). I have been able to solve almost every issue, but there is still something left. Look here, I opened a new thread specific to that:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook-yosemite/150080-hp-probook-450-g2-mysterious-restart-issues.html

And please do not hesitate to ask me for help if you need.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
1. Asus P8Z77-M Pro ((UEFI v1805 modded) . 2. Asus PRIME Z370-A (BIOS 1601)
CPU
1. i7 3770k 2. i7 9700K
Graphics
1. Asus Geforce GTX 980 2. Asus Radeon RX Vega 56 ROG Strix OC
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
Android
@wolfthesad

About your M.2 SSD - did you need to do some special tweaking in Bios?
I added a Transcend MTS400 (128GB), but this will not be recognized, cant see it in bios. Also checked with a Win8-PE stick, nothing.

I got a replacement card, but same behavior. Did your M.2SSD will be displayed in BIOS system information, if yes, where? BTW I'm on BIOS 1.05 (latest one)

Ok, got it working, now its also in Bios detail system information, with SN and type. Don't know why now :crazy:

Regarding WIFI, is it true that there is only one Antenna-Cable (#1) - i'm trying to add a HP labeld Broadcom BCM943224HMS which was OK for my older ProBook6470b-Hack, which has two Antenna sockets. Connected it to main - but it's not recognized. (System Information: WLAN FCC ID: Test WLAN).
Which one did you use?

Thx, steve
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
3,494
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you find any Realtek ethernet kext for this laptop?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
hp ProBook 450 G2 (Clover)
CPU
i5-4210U
Graphics
intel HD 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@wolfthesad

About your M.2 SSD - did you need to do some special tweaking in Bios?
I added a Transcend MTS400 (128GB), but this will not be recognized, cant see it in bios. Also checked with a Win8-PE stick, nothing.

I got a replacement card, but same behavior. Did your M.2SSD will be displayed in BIOS system information, if yes, where? BTW I'm on BIOS 1.05 (latest one)

Ok, got it working, now its also in Bios detail system information, with SN and type. Don't know why now :crazy:
Ja, sometimes happen such things while hacking. ;)
Regarding WIFI, is it true that there is only one Antenna-Cable (#1) - i'm trying to add a HP labeld Broadcom BCM943224HMS which was OK for my older ProBook6470b-Hack, which has two Antenna sockets. Connected it to main - but it's not recognized. (System Information: WLAN FCC ID: Test WLAN).
Which one did you use?

Thx, steve
Yes, it comes with just one cable, you'll have to grab an extra wifi cable in ebay(around 5 EUR in Europe), open your laptop, and install it all the way through up to the display. I'am using this card, no longer available, I can see now:

http://www.ebay.de/itm/WPEA-127N-Atheros-AR9380-XB112-Mini-Card-450-mbit-802-11N-ABG-/190582529619

It's a half size(must be) Mini PCI Card, 450(actually 300+150 extra if you have a proper infrastructure at home) mbit 802.11N, and works out of the box in osx(no patches or any other tweak is necessary). It's not an ac card, but you do not need it, because no internet connection today fulfills in real life even the N spec, not to mention the ac spec, which has bdw proved to be unstable and unmature. Look for a list of compatible wifi cards in this forum.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
hp ProBook 450 G2 (Clover)
CPU
i5-4210U
Graphics
intel HD 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you find any Realtek ethernet kext for this laptop?
The Realtek ethernet kext that PBI installs in EFI partition works for this model, but it must be installed in /S/L/E.
Do not know why is not loaded from EFI partition at boot time.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
1. Asus P8Z77-M Pro ((UEFI v1805 modded) . 2. Asus PRIME Z370-A (BIOS 1601)
CPU
1. i7 3770k 2. i7 9700K
Graphics
1. Asus Geforce GTX 980 2. Asus Radeon RX Vega 56 ROG Strix OC
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
Android
Ja, sometimes happen such things while hacking. ;)
In der Tat :)
Hast du wirklich das Display geöffnet? Ich denke nur mit der Hauptantenne sollte es auch gehen.
Did you really opened the display to re-route the second cable? I think with only one cable, it should work (not perfect, ok, but for a hack ..)

My card was mentioned here, works perfectly within 10.9, out of the box. (http://www.ebay.de/itm/BroadCom-HP-BCM943224HMS-BCM43224-Half-Mini-PCIe-WIFI-Karte-518434-582564-582235-/180945946678?ssPageName=ADME:L:OC:DE:3160)

Hmm, crazy with this message, Bios Diag for WLAN was passed :banghead:

Ok, more tomorrow.
By
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
82
Motherboard
hp ProBook 450 G2 (Clover)
CPU
i5-4210U
Graphics
intel HD 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hast du wirklich das Display geöffnet? Ich denke nur mit der Hauptantenne sollte es auch gehen.
Not really that hard to install a second or a third Antenna-Cable. With one cable you'll hardly get a 70-90 mbit/s link, nicht optimal eigentlich.
My card was mentioned here, works perfectly within 10.9, out of the box. (http://www.ebay.de/itm/BroadCom-HP-BCM943224HMS-BCM43224-Half-Mini-PCIe-WIFI-Karte-518434-582564-582235-/180945946678?ssPageName=ADME:L:OC:DE:3160)

Hmm, crazy with this message, Bios Diag for WLAN was passed :banghead:

Ok, more tomorrow.
By
Wie gesagt, das kann beim hacken passieren :(
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
3,494
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
iOS
The Realtek ethernet kext that PBI installs in EFI partition works for this model, but it must be installed in /S/L/E.
Do not know why is not loaded from EFI partition at boot time.
Try putting in EFI partition and remove in /S/L/E again. You may need to rebuild cache and restart a few times to make it work.
 
Top