Contribute
Register

No native support for UHD 630 (i3-8100) in mojave? Have only 7mb graphics or no HDMI

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey CaseySJ, I've been tweaking my system the last days but can't go ahead with fine tunning.

The machine already recognize the monitor and there are display scaling options, also it barely sleep/wake (can not shutdown).
For sleep/wake issues please try the following:
  1. Delete all the com.apple.PowerManagement.* files in /Library/Preferences and reboot. Don't worry -- Mojave will rebuild these files.
  2. Enable the checkboxes for PluginType and AppleIntelCPUPM in Clover Configurator. The first one is in ACPI section; the second one is in Devices section.
  3. For one-key wake from sleep, try choosing darkwake=0 from Boot section of Clover Configurator.
  4. Also, to prevent WiFi from slowing down significantly after wake-from-sleep, go to System Preferences --> Energy Saver and disable the checkbox for Wake for Network Access.
For shutdown issues:
  1. BACKUP the current full EFI folder from EFI partition of your Mojave SSD!!
  2. Check your CLOVER/driversUefi64 folder. Do you have AptioMemoryFix-64 or OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000? If you have AptioMemoryFix-64 try deleting it and copying OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 in its place. Then also enable the checkbox for "slide=0" in Boot section of Clover Configurator.
  3. Just make the above change first and check Shutdown. If not working, then install EmuVariable by downloading Clover itself (not Clover Configurator) and clicking "Customize" button on the lower left of the installer window. From the Customize dialog, make the selections shown:
    Clover Customize.png
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 14-v065br
CPU
I7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 (1366x768)
Thank you CaseySJ, for such full detailed guidelines. It has been dificult to operate the machine, the screen blinks pieces of fake images and there is some flickering, besides the dark blackground "effect". I'm preparing the EFI/Clover folder from another machine and will report results later.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you CaseySJ, for such full detailed guidelines. It has been dificult to operate the machine, the screen blinks pieces of fake images and there is some flickering, besides the dark blackground "effect". I'm preparing the EFI/Clover folder from another machine and will report results later.
These graphics glitches are still not properly understood. Enough people are experiencing them that I hope a solution will be found.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 14-v065br
CPU
I7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 (1366x768)
For sleep/wake issues please try the following:
Delete all the com.apple.PowerManagement.* files in /Library/Preferences and reboot. Don't worry -- Mojave will rebuild these files.
Deleted two files, recreated on OS reboot.

Enable the checkboxes for PluginType and AppleIntelCPUPM in Clover Configurator. The first one is in ACPI section; the second one is in Devices section.
PluginType was already enabled (Yes), with PluginType Number = "1"
AppleCPUPM enabled (located in KernelAndKextPatches)

For one-key wake from sleep, try choosing darkwake=0 from Boot section of Clover Configurator.
darkwake=0 was already enabled

Also, to prevent WiFi from slowing down significantly after wake-from-sleep, go to System Preferences --> Energy Saver and disable the checkbox for Wake for Network Access.
Wake for Network Access was already unchecked, as well as Power NAP

Wake/Sleep works but "Put computer to sleep..." setting is not available, so don't know how to set it up. I guess when UHD 630 was completely set, than sleep/wake will work fine.

For shutdown issues:
BACKUP the current full EFI folder from EFI partition of your Mojave SSD!!
Check your CLOVER/driversUefi64 folder. Do you have AptioMemoryFix-64 or OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000? If you have AptioMemoryFix-64 try deleting it and copying OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 in its place. Then also enable the checkbox for "slide=0" in Boot section of Clover Configurator.
AptioMemoryFix-64 was present on CLOVER/driversUefi64 folder. I replaced it by OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 and shutdown now works!

Just make the above change first and check Shutdown. If not working, then install EmuVariable by downloading Clover itself (not Clover Configurator) and clicking "Customize" button on the lower left of the installer window. From the Customize dialog, make the selections shown:
EmuVariable wasn't necessary
Already using Clover installation options shown on picture.

(sorry for translation mistakes)
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 14-v065br
CPU
I7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 (1366x768)
These graphics glitches are still not properly understood. Enough people are experiencing them that I hope a solution will be found.
I notice glitches even in Windows, on that same machine. In my setup, it can happens because an HDMI to DVI adapter, used to connect the mobo HDMI port to the monitor DVI port.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 14-v065br
CPU
I7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 (1366x768)
CaseySJ, just trying to confirm, the correct config.plist graphics settings are...
(assuming that config.plist already has the UHD 630 patch you sent me)

1. Devices/Fake ID/IntelGFX: (null)
2. Graphics/Inject Intel: (null) (no Intel inject)
3. Graphics/ig-platform-id: (null)

I read that, if no ig-platform-id is set, Clover will choose it automatically, sometimes using a wrong platform.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 14-v065br
CPU
I7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 (1366x768)
Hi,

I can't get acceleration on my i9-9900K UHD 630: Device id 0x3E98 (in clover used ig platform-id [data] <0300923e>)

- Mojave 10.14.2
- SMBIOS iMac 18,3

Tried many configurations, lilu/whatevergreen all set.
Desktop model on my signature.
DPCI Manager/PCI list shows DEVICE ID = "3E92", altough Intel.com says it is "3E98"
I don't know if it makes some difference. Sorry for any mistake, anyway.

1548982272789.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
CaseySJ, just trying to confirm, the correct config.plist graphics settings are...
(assuming that config.plist already has the UHD 630 patch you sent me)

1. Devices/Fake ID/IntelGFX: (null)
2. Graphics/Inject Intel: (null) (no Intel inject)
3. Graphics/ig-platform-id: (null)

I read that, if no ig-platform-id is set, Clover will choose it automatically, sometimes using a wrong platform.
The Framebuffer patch to enable HDMI sets its own Device ID and Platform ID. Because you're using a Gigabyte AORUS Z390 and i9-9900K, the appropriate Device ID is 0x3E9B or 0x3E92 (you can use either one) and Platform ID is 0x3E9B0007. We should NOT use 0x3E98 -- this is the actual device ID for iGPU in 9th Gen Intel CPUs, but this ID is not recognized by MacOS and therefore you will not have accelerated graphics. We have to switch to either 0x3E9B or 0x3E92.

Because Device ID and Platform ID are being specified in the XML settings, we need to avoid any conflict from Clover and therefore:
  • Set IntelGFX back to 0x0
  • Uncheck Inject Intel
  • Clear out the ig-platform-id field
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 14-v065br
CPU
I7-4510U
Graphics
HD 4400 (1366x768)
The Framebuffer patch to enable HDMI sets its own Device ID and Platform ID. Because you're using a Gigabyte AORUS Z390 and i9-9900K, the appropriate Device ID is 0x3E9B or 0x3E92 (you can use either one) and Platform ID is 0x3E9B0007. We should NOT use 0x3E98 -- this is the actual device ID for iGPU in 9th Gen Intel CPUs, but this ID is not recognized by MacOS and therefore you will not have accelerated graphics. We have to switch to either 0x3E9B or 0x3E92.

Because Device ID and Platform ID are being specified in the XML settings, we need to avoid any conflict from Clover and therefore:
  • Set IntelGFX back to 0x0
  • Uncheck Inject Intel
  • Clear out the ig-platform-id field
Thanks, your advices were really helpful. I'll review the configuration as explained.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks, your advices were really helpful. I'll review the configuration as explained.
One more thing to try is enabling "disablegfxfirmware" as you can see in this screenshot:
Screen Shot 2019-02-02 at 6.18.26 AM.png
 
Top