Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The R9 XXX name is only a cosmetic issue, it gets changed by the latest clover to RX 480 but doesn't effect performance.

Something you could try, Intel fake ID 0x04128086, and ig platform 0d220003. If you do this you should be able to inject ATI to get RX 480 name corrected. If you dont inject anything Intel or ATI and use these numbers the R9 xxx name will come up but your performance may improve.
When you get to clover boot screen, before you hit enter disconnect cable to CPU graphics or Igpu. Hit enter and if you get to log in screen the RX should be fully supported and run the highest benchmark scores. It may work for fcpx as well as long as you have the igpu with metal support by adding fake ID and ig numbers.

I use these#s on my g3258 Haswell pentium rig for igpu and it works well, not sure about the 4790k, but it's a Haswell.
Thanks, @Gigamaxx for the reply. I added Intel fake ID 0x04128086, and ig platform 0d220003 as you suggested and it didn't change anything. I removed Inject ATI and as you said the display in About This Mac is R9xxx (I'm okay with that as long as things work). When I Inject ATI it does display properly as RX 480, but I know that's just cosmetic.

When I run both monitors off the RX 480, the one on DisplayPort works perfect, and the one on HDMI is pixelated and rough. Both monitors have both DP and HDMI inputs, so when I switch the cables around, it makes no difference. HDMI does not work correctly, but DP does. I will have to go out and get a second DP cable I guess, which is fine. See screen shot below to see what it looks like on HDMI. EDIT: I don't have 4k monitors - both are 1080p high quality IPS displays with accurate color (Dell U2413 and HP LP2475w).

My bigger issue is that Final Cut Pro crashes as soon as I try to open a library. This has been an issue since upgrading to FCPX 10.3. FCPX 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 were working fine on my old R9 280x, even in Sierra. When I upgraded to FCPX 10.3 this problem started. I removed the R9 280x as a test, and FCPX works fine (albeit slowly) with IGPU and no graphics card installed. When I reinstalled my 280x, the displays never came back on. I tried everything I could think of and I think that card just failed, so I replaced it, hoping that would also fix my FCPX 10.3 problem. Now my new RX 480 shows the same behavior in FCPX 10.3. I really need to resolve that - I know others are running FCPX 10.3 with a RX 480, so I'm trying to hunt down the issue.

Any ideas of where to look? Can I provide my crash report, or something from Console, that those who are smarter than me can look at? I have reached the limits of what I can do on my own and I need help. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2016-12-01 at 11.42.07 AM.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,495
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Can you connect the HDMI to your motherboard and not the RX? Boot it up with igpu and RX connected and then test. You may need an igpu monitor connection to get metal support for igpu. You should get 30 bit color. If you only have the 32 bit color you may not have full metal support. Having both igpu and RX in use lowers open GL benchmarks (Uningine) but it works better for open CL like Luxmark.

When you boot up does your RX have 30 bit ARGB2101010 color support? They have made a lot of experimental changes to the latest editions of clover so trying an older version in the 3700-3800 vintage may fix it as well. You might want to put a shout out to jerryy2345 he is very knowledgeable and helpful.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can you connect the HDMI to your motherboard and not the RX? Boot it up with igpu and RX connected and then test. You may need an igpu monitor connection to get metal support for igpu. You should get 30 bit color. If you only have the 32 bit color you may not have full metal support. Having both igpu and RX in use lowers open GL benchmarks (Uningine) but it works better for open CL like Luxmark.

When you boot up does your RX have 30 bit ARGB2101010 color support? They have made a lot of experimental changes to the latest editions of clover so trying an older version in the 3700-3800 vintage may fix it as well. You might want to put a shout out to jerryy2345 he is very knowledgeable and helpful.
Thanks. I have done both monitors connected to the RX 480, and I have done it with one hooked up with HDMI to the motherboard. Graphics on both monitors work fine when I have one cable to the RX 480 and the other cable to the motherboard.

Any ideas about the FCPX 10. 3 crashes? That is my biggest concern.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z170M
CPU
I7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480 Nitro
Thanks. I have done both monitors connected to the RX 480, and I have done it with one hooked up with HDMI to the motherboard. Graphics on both monitors work fine when I have one cable to the RX 480 and the other cable to the motherboard.

Any ideas about the FCPX 10. 3 crashes? That is my biggest concern.
FCPX crashes when I use the DVI input.
I use the DP input and FCP works
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can you connect the HDMI to your motherboard and not the RX? Boot it up with igpu and RX connected and then test. You may need an igpu monitor connection to get metal support for igpu. You should get 30 bit color. If you only have the 32 bit color you may not have full metal support. Having both igpu and RX in use lowers open GL benchmarks (Uningine) but it works better for open CL like Luxmark.

When you boot up does your RX have 30 bit ARGB2101010 color support? They have made a lot of experimental changes to the latest editions of clover so trying an older version in the 3700-3800 vintage may fix it as well. You might want to put a shout out to jerryy2345 he is very knowledgeable and helpful.
@Gigamaxx Did you mean connecting both monitors to IGPU while leaving the RX 480 installed? I have not tried that. I suppose I can, but I was under the impression that will not provide acceleration.

FCPX crashes when I use the DVI input.
I use the DP input and FCP works
I'm not using DVI at all. Just DP and HDMI.
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,495
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
@Gigamaxx Did you mean connecting both monitors to IGPU while leaving the RX 480 installed? I have not tried that. I suppose I can, but I was under the impression that will not provide acceleration.



I'm not using DVI at all. Just DP and HDMI.
No, just one to RX and one to IGPU. Are you getting HD 4600 @1536mb with metal?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
507
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
...
When you boot up does your RX have 30 bit ARGB2101010 color support? They have made a lot of experimental changes to the latest editions of clover so trying an older version in the 3700-3800 vintage may fix it as well. You might want to put a shout out to jerryy2345 he is very knowledgeable and helpful.
Fortuitous guessing is all .... :)

velovelovelo said:
...
When I run both monitors off the RX 480, the one on DisplayPort works perfect, and the one on HDMI is pixelated and rough. Both monitors have both DP and HDMI inputs, so when I switch the cables around, it makes no difference. HDMI does not work correctly, but DP does. I will have to go out and get a second DP cable I guess, which is fine. See screen shot below to see what it looks like on HDMI. EDIT: I don't have 4k monitors - both are 1080p high quality IPS displays with accurate color (Dell U2413 and HP LP2475w).
I believe this is a controller / driver issue. For the longest time I also have been seeing glitches when using the HDMI port, which I thought was due to the multi monitor support being still in the beta stages. Normally I use the DisplayPort as the main connection to my monitor with the HDMI port as a secondary monitor, but recently I have been trying the HDMI port only and still getting the same glitches. However, I have compared these to running Linux on the same system and there are no problems with the card. None of the glitches show up when using any of the ports alone or in combination. So it is not the card, but the drivers.

It is possible we could see a solution if enough of the (new) MacBook Pro users hook up their laptops to their HDMI based equipment and get the same problems AND then are able to convince Apple to fix the drivers -- rather than build usb-c to hdmi adaptors with special circuitry in the same way they did with early lightning to HDMI adaptors for their phones. It is possible Apple does not want to spend any effort on the issue as it seems they are trying to ditch non-thunderbolt/usb-c connectors.

velovelovelo said:
My bigger issue is that Final Cut Pro crashes as soon as I try to open a library. This has been an issue since upgrading to FCPX 10.3. FCPX 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 were working fine on my old R9 280x, even in Sierra. When I upgraded to FCPX 10.3 this problem started. I removed the R9 280x as a test, and FCPX works fine (albeit slowly) with IGPU and no graphics card installed. When I reinstalled my 280x, the displays never came back on. I tried everything I could think of and I think that card just failed, so I replaced it, hoping that would also fix my FCPX 10.3 problem. Now my new RX 480 shows the same behavior in FCPX 10.3. I really need to resolve that - I know others are running FCPX 10.3 with a RX 480, so I'm trying to hunt down the issue.
It does seem like in some situations FCPX is trying to use the built-in HD4nnn graphics accelerators and this is causing the crashing. There has been some success reported with using a patch to disable the HD4nnn accelerators (beyond just using inject-intel = false in your config.plist.) Have you tried that yet?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
11
@Gigamaxx ... newbie here, hoping for your advice. Mac Pro - 3,1, Just updated to 10.12.1, installed an XFX 460, 4gb. I'm not getting a signal from the card. My old 8800GT works fine (as I'm typing). Thought the new card was plug & play with recent Sierra update. Have tried connecting the 6pin connector and not. Makes no difference. Also have tried using a DVI monitor and hdmi monitor, neither is getting signal. The fans power up, blue light on card with 6pin connected, red light without. Have done nothing further at this point. Thoughts??
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
11
Also made a separate thread in the graphics forum too. Want to add, that I installed Sierra using the USB method, and then applying the patches to get in up and running.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top