Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
11
Ok, have a new problem.

So I installed Clover, and the configurator on to my OSX start-up disk. Played around with the configurator, but never saved anything. Ended up deleting clover and config. app to pursue some other ideas. I removed the 8800GT card, and just left the RX 460 in place with the 6-pin connected.

I started the machine, and to my surprise it now boots to the Clover screen??? Not sure what to think of this ... I guess good, because the card is working and clover can discover the card by name. BUT, if I try to load into Sierra, the screen goes black, then a bunch of dos like info scrolls, followed by a boot chime, right back to clover. So I can't get to Sierra now.

I have no idea how to configure the settings though ... and need some help please :)

Pics of what I see:

http://www.curpiercompany.com/Files/os1.jpg

http://www.curpiercompany.com/Files/os2.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have a MSI cubi with a broadwell i3 it has HD 5500 graphics in Windows but loads Iris pro 6100 in sierra with 30 bit color.

Intel Iris graphics are generally top notch or top shelf Intel graphics on their cpus. This may be the issue because I believe that have or require more processing units than are available to the CPU. However if you get it to work it may fix the issue. Try to get the CPU graphics loaded with the 30 bit color ARGB2101010 I think that's what may be holding you back. Apple uses Iris graphics natively so if you can get it to work correctly it should provide better performance than the HD 4600 which is not supported natively.

Interesting, because my broadwell gets the 30 bit support and works very well even though I know the CPU only has half the capacity that it should.

Look in your clover main partition file in EFI backup folder. You may also check OEM folder in EFI partition (use EFIMounter, available here @ Tonymac in downloads section) Multibeast may have added contrary clover commands to what you're doing now, that could be it.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts and make suggestions. I really appreciate it. I don't even know where to begin to try and figure this out. I just looked in the folders you suggested and honestly I'm not sure what I'm even looking for.

I just removed the RX 480 and changed nothing else. About This Mac still says Iris Pro 32 bit, but FCPX works just fine. How frustrating.
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,866
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts and make suggestions. I really appreciate it. I don't even know where to begin to try and figure this out. I just looked in the folders you suggested and honestly I'm not sure what I'm even looking for.

I just removed the RX 480 and changed nothing else. About This Mac still says Iris Pro 32 bit, but FCPX works just fine. How frustrating.
1). In the clover folders look for the config.plist. If you click on the arrow on the clover folder it should show more folders. there is also the "config.plist" there and you can drag this onto the desktop and the original will stay in the clover folder.
2). download "Clover configurator" google it, or buy Xcode in App store (Xcode is a great tool for many uses). **Note: when you open clover configurator DONT choose Mount EFI unless you want to change your running system configuration.
3). Right click on desktop copy of config.plist and select "open with" it should show clover configurator or Xcode, select one and open.
4). Look at the "devices" section there is a place for fake ids, thats where you would put or check your Intel igpu id 0X04128086, or other variation and you can also put the ATI (AMD) id 0x67ef1002 for RX 460, or 0x67DF1002 for RX 480.
5). Check the "graphics" section and ig platform id .0220003, or other combination you want to use.
6). The "Kernels and Kext" patches this is where you would add patches to get better graphics support for the HD 4600. If you find them listed somewhere you add them here. You will sometimes find them listed like this "find 00 03 00 11 E4, replace 00 03 11 D4" , and they have "Comments" to include as well. Note, don't use these numbers I just made them up you will have to find them, RehabMan in the desktop section has great guides for Intel graphics fixes.

You can do this without affecting your build because its the desktop copy so you can try using configurator or Xcode experimenting and practicing to get fixes set correctly.
You can use EFIMounter to get your EFI clover folder access and the EFI backup file by selecting "Go" on top toolbar menu and scrolling to "Computer". Select your Sierra disk and open EFI Backups. Compare the config plist of both versions for differences. Just click on the config plist in each folder.

It's a good idea to get an inexpensive ssd 120gb or other HDD and use CarbonCopyCloner to make a copy of your system file. After copying is finished use a clover bootloader (google it for latest version) and select the spare disk as destination to mount ("Change install location" is in the third screen options). After its loaded select the EFI disk icon on your desktop and open EFI folder. The clover folder should be there, open it and drag your desktop copy of config plist into clover folder and it should give you a replace prompt. Download FakeSMCKext from Downloads section here at tonymac and place it in Clover Kext folders 10.12 and Other. Shut down system and disconnect your primary drive and try the new one. If it boots up and runs you can practice changes on it and still have your main drive for security.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
507
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
After reading though the latest you have mentioned, it does seem that you have some conflicts in your setup.

First though, Gigamaxx's advice is good, but note: Xcode is free, you can get it from the App store. It only costs various amounts of money if you want a commercial developer's license. The part you would be using is the included plist editor. Xcode is a large download though, it has an largish installer which in turn downloads more largish files.

There are other alternatives, you can mount the EFI partition and then use a text editor to edit the config.plist file -- TextWrangler (free from BareBones) is excellent for this, Apple's included TextEdit is also good, but be careful with it as you must make sure things like smart quotes, etc., are turned off or you can get weirdness in your files. Also, if you are inclined you can use the Terminal app (in your Utilities folder) to mount the partition and edit the files and be reasonably confident there will be no oddness.

Back to what you are doing. Since you have said you added in the patch for the Safari issues, and are getting the Intel Iris Pro screen, it seems that you have inject intel set to true in your config.plist file. Pulling the RX480 card and having things work is because the OS is using the patched HD4600 accelerator and not trying to mix the cards. if you take the patch off, it is a 'good bet' that you will suddenly start having some issues with Safari, maybe YouTube, and FCPX 10.3.

Once you mount the EFI partition on your desktop, open it and you should see a folder called EFI and a file called boot. Open the EFI folder and you should have three more folders called APPLE, BOOT and CLOVER. Open CLOVER and there will be a lot of folders inside. Ignore those for the time being. There will also be a file called config.plist. This is the one you want to look at.

From here, the specifics for your card will be different than for my card, but some things are the same. Scroll down to the Graphics section:

Code:
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
Also check the SMBIOS section and make sure you have something like:

Code:
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>iMac14,2</string>
where your product type is a Macintosh product that has a non-igpu graphics card (i.e. if you are using the iMac 14 series, use iMac 14,2 NOT iMac 14,1). If you are using the 15 or 17 or NN series, that still have to be one with the 'extra' graphics card.

Once these pieces are configured, the parts Gigamaxx is telling you about fake ID and whatnot for your RX 480 card will need to be taken into account. I believe that once you have this all dealt with, you will be able to go back and remove the Safari patch and it will still work with those videos.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
507
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ok, have a new problem.

So I installed Clover, and the configurator on to my OSX start-up disk. Played around with the configurator, but never saved anything. Ended up deleting clover and config. app to pursue some other ideas. I removed the 8800GT card, and just left the RX 460 in place with the 6-pin connected.

I started the machine, and to my surprise it now boots to the Clover screen??? Not sure what to think of this ... I guess good, because the card is working and clover can discover the card by name. BUT, if I try to load into Sierra, the screen goes black, then a bunch of dos like info scrolls, followed by a boot chime, right back to clover. So I can't get to Sierra now.

I have no idea how to configure the settings though ... and need some help please :)

Pics of what I see:

http://www.curpiercompany.com/Files/os1.jpg

http://www.curpiercompany.com/Files/os2.jpg
It sounds like you still have Clover installed in your EFI partition of your main boot drive. Take a look there.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
After reading though the latest you have mentioned, it does seem that you have some conflicts in your setup.

First though, Gigamaxx's advice is good, but note: Xcode is free, you can get it from the App store. It only costs various amounts of money if you want a commercial developer's license. The part you would be using is the included plist editor. Xcode is a large download though, it has an largish installer which in turn downloads more largish files.

There are other alternatives, you can mount the EFI partition and then use a text editor to edit the config.plist file -- TextWrangler (free from BareBones) is excellent for this, Apple's included TextEdit is also good, but be careful with it as you must make sure things like smart quotes, etc., are turned off or you can get weirdness in your files. Also, if you are inclined you can use the Terminal app (in your Utilities folder) to mount the partition and edit the files and be reasonably confident there will be no oddness.

Back to what you are doing. Since you have said you added in the patch for the Safari issues, and are getting the Intel Iris Pro screen, it seems that you have inject intel set to true in your config.plist file. Pulling the RX480 card and having things work is because the OS is using the patched HD4600 accelerator and not trying to mix the cards. if you take the patch off, it is a 'good bet' that you will suddenly start having some issues with Safari, maybe YouTube, and FCPX 10.3.

Once you mount the EFI partition on your desktop, open it and you should see a folder called EFI and a file called boot. Open the EFI folder and you should have three more folders called APPLE, BOOT and CLOVER. Open CLOVER and there will be a lot of folders inside. Ignore those for the time being. There will also be a file called config.plist. This is the one you want to look at.

From here, the specifics for your card will be different than for my card, but some things are the same. Scroll down to the Graphics section:

Code:
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
Also check the SMBIOS section and make sure you have something like:

Code:
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>iMac14,2</string>
where your product type is a Macintosh product that has a non-igpu graphics card (i.e. if you are using the iMac 14 series, use iMac 14,2 NOT iMac 14,1). If you are using the 15 or 17 or NN series, that still have to be one with the 'extra' graphics card.

Once these pieces are configured, the parts Gigamaxx is telling you about fake ID and whatnot for your RX 480 card will need to be taken into account. I believe that once you have this all dealt with, you will be able to go back and remove the Safari patch and it will still work with those videos.
Thank you for taking the time. I am familiar with accessing the config.plist file. I have looked at it and it currently is not injecting ATI or Intel. I have tried every combination of those and get the same results. But I will try again later.

I am using iMac 15,1 definition. Seems the best match (same CPU, and similar GPU until this week) and it's what I have been using for almost a year with not issues until now (all started with the FCPX 10.3 update). Do you think I should try something else? Perhaps a Mac Pro definition?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
507
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for taking the time. I am familiar with accessing the config.plist file. I have looked at it and it currently is not injecting ATI or Intel. I have tried every combination of those and get the same results. But I will try again later.

I am using iMac 15,1 definition. Seems the best match (same CPU, and similar GPU until this week) and it's what I have been using for almost a year with not issues until now (all started with the FCPX 10.3 update). Do you think I should try something else? Perhaps a Mac Pro definition?
The 15,1 definition should be okay. When you say you are not injecting ATI or Intel, are you setting Intel explicitly to be false or just not setting inject to be true as in not listing them? The Intel one has to be set to false as the built-in default is true.

https://clover-wiki.zetam.org/Configuration/Graphics#Inject
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The 15,1 definition should be okay. When you say you are to not injecting ATI or Intel, are you setting them explicitly to be false or just not setting inject to be true as in not listing them? They have to be set to false as the built-in default is true.
The boxes are un-checked in Clover Configurator. I assumed that meant they are set as false. When I looked at the config.plist I'm almost certain they said false, but I will look at it and get back to you. Thanks again.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
507
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The boxes are un-checked in Clover Configurator. I assumed that meant they are set as false. When I looked at the config.plist I'm almost certain they said false, but I will look at it and get back to you. Thanks again.
The file itself is the place to look. Configurator does not always give you a complete idea. I listed the Clover section in the previous message to give you an idea about the defaults.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The file itself is the place to look. Configurator does not always give you a complete idea. I listed the Clover section in the previous message to give you an idea about the defaults.
config.plist checks out. Here it is, in case it's useful to take a look. Please keep in mind, I have tried inject ATI, inject Intel, and injecting both simultaneously. FCPX still crashes. I have thrown out

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>ACPI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Name</key>
            <string>DSDT.aml</string>
            <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>SSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DropOem</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Generate</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Arguments</key>
        <string>dart=0</string>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <false/>
        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
        <string>Hackintosh SSD</string>
        <key>Legacy</key>
        <string>PBR</string>
        <key>Secure</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>3</integer>
        <key>XMPDetection</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>CPU</key>
    <dict>
        <key>UseARTFrequency</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Audio</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <string>1</string>
        </dict>
        <key>FakeID</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IMEI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>LAN</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>SATA</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>WIFI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>XHCI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
        </dict>
        <key>USB</key>
        <dict>
            <key>FixOwnership</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>DisableDrivers</key>
    <array>
        <string>Nothing</string>
    </array>
    <key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Hide</key>
        <array>
            <string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
            <string>Windows</string>
        </array>
        <key>Language</key>
        <string>en:0</string>
        <key>Mouse</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DoubleClick</key>
            <integer>500</integer>
            <key>Enabled</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Mirror</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Speed</key>
            <integer>8</integer>
        </dict>
        <key>Scan</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Entries</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Legacy</key>
            <string>First</string>
            <key>Linux</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Tool</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
        <key>ScreenResolution</key>
        <string>1920x1080</string>
        <key>Theme</key>
        <string>embedded</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>NvidiaSingle</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
        <key>AppleRTC</key>
        <true/>
        <key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
        <true/>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelCpu</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelHaswellE</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelLapic</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelPm</key>
        <true/>
        <key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>External icons patch</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                RXh0ZXJuYWw=
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                SW50ZXJuYWw=
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-HD4600_HDMI_Audio-1of2</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                PQsMAAA=
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDAController</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                PQwMAAA=
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-10.12-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                ihnUEQ==
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                eG1sLnps
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                em1sLnps
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-10.9-10.12-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC1150</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                ixnUEQ==
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AAnsEA==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Isolate IntelAccelerator HD4600 (10.11.6 &amp; 10.12)</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                SImLqAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.12.x</string>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                kJCQkJCQkA==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-HD4600_HDMI_Audio-2of2</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                PQwKAAA=
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDAController</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                PQwMAAA=
                </data>
            </dict>
        </array>
    </dict>
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x3</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SMBIOS</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
        <string>09/29/2014</string>
        <key>BiosVendor</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BiosVersion</key>
        <string>IM151.88Z.0207.B00.1409291931</string>
        <key>Board-ID</key>
        <string>Mac-42FD25EABCABB274</string>
        <key>BoardManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
        <string>C02NDCN8FY11A1F9C</string>
        <key>BoardType</key>
        <integer>10</integer>
        <key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
        <string>iMac-Aluminum</string>
        <key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>ChassisType</key>
        <string>13</string>
        <key>Family</key>
        <string>iMac</string>
        <key>Manufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>iMac15,1</string>
        <key>SerialNumber</key>
        <string>C02NDCN8FY11</string>
        <key>SmUUID</key>
        <string>BBBEA316-2D1E-4A77-BA18-DB69986D6734</string>
        <key>Trust</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Version</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>InjectKexts</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top