LG UltraFine 5K Build

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by nickv2002, Nov 21, 2016.

  1. kfphoto

    kfphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i6700K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 12, 2017 at 2:16 PM #51
    kfphoto

    kfphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i6700K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I cannot change the Primary and Secondary monitor, the LG UltraFine doesn't have the power button. So, it used as the primary. the Dell is used as Secondary.

    Can you help me to wire connector in the plist? I read the thread you provided but still don't know all those number coming from.

    Thanks again.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,663
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Feb 12, 2017 at 8:35 PM #52
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,663
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    You have a problem with your set up using MacPro 6,1 system. You need to disable AGDP as posted in the guide I linked. You can leave your LG monitor as primary just by changing it in System preferences/Displays also shown in the guide and for you just swap the connections unless you're running your 5K monitor using Thunderbolt?
     
  3. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,663
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Feb 14, 2017 at 8:22 PM #53
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,663
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
  4. kfphoto

    kfphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i6700K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 15, 2017 at 3:09 AM #54
    kfphoto

    kfphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i6700K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @wildwillow, thanks for shielding issue link. I called Apple, they extend the refund period to 1 month. And I ordered the refund. Going to drop off the monitor to Apple Store tomorrow. My be consider a Dell 4K monitor instead. Look like 4K is good enough for me.
     
  5. carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Feb 22, 2017 at 12:34 AM #55
    carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    I have the Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH motherboard and have the LG 5K monitor connected to the TB3 port, working OOTB with no problems....albeit in Win10 and not OSX...yet.
     
  6. ffffwh

    ffffwh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Feb 22, 2017 at 2:58 AM #56
    ffffwh

    ffffwh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    IMO you can only drive it at 4K with you setup.

    BTW try this to see if you can control the brightness: https://github.com/unknownzerx/lguf-brightness/releases .
     
  7. Bgusto

    Bgusto

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170 M5
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    980ti Hybrid
    Mar 1, 2017 at 3:44 PM #57
    Bgusto

    Bgusto

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170 M5
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    980ti Hybrid
    Any update on if this monitor will run at 5k? I'm thinking of getting the gtx 980ti and the Z170X-UD5
     
    nickv2002 likes this.
  8. Briax

    Briax

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    OS X
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    660 TI
    Mar 24, 2017 at 1:49 AM #58
    Briax

    Briax

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    OS X
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    660 TI
    Does it operate at full 5K resolution? Any luck with OS X yet?
     
  9. carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Mar 25, 2017 at 6:05 AM #59
    carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    In Win10, I am doing 5k @ 60Hz. Still no joy in OSX, but I haven't spent much time trying. I've also tried it with the Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Designare with no luck either. I'm interested in getting a Gigabyte GC-ALPINE RIDGE card to try, but can't find one. If you can find me one that ships US, then I'll buy and try and post results here.

     
  10. LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    Mar 25, 2017 at 6:07 AM #60
    LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    Prove it, please.
     

Share This Page