LG UltraFine 5K Build

Discussion in 'General Hardware Discussion' started by nickv2002, Nov 21, 2016.

  1. on2003

    on2003

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Apr 8, 2017 at 5:45 PM #71
    on2003

    on2003

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Dear Carterfields, Can you kindly share your hardware spec and build steps with us? We are glad to see that.
    Thanks.
     
  2. VisualStim

    VisualStim

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Z170X Designare
    CPU:
    6700K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX 480 GTR
    Apr 13, 2017 at 6:31 PM #72
    VisualStim

    VisualStim

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Z170X Designare
    CPU:
    6700K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX 480 GTR
    Ill tell you right now I have the Z170X Designare motherboard too and Im in Taipei for business. I found a couple of the GC-APLINE RIDGE cards but the Gigabyte listing for it doesnt list the Designaire in Z170X as compatible. I then asked the girl to call Gigabyte locally to see if it worked with my board and they said no. I emailed Gigabyte USA and they said no as well.
     
  3. carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Apr 14, 2017 at 9:46 PM #73
    carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13

    I noticed that. I bought the similar ASUS card, and discovered that neither of my MB's had the posts for Thunderbolt. :( Thanks for checking.
     
  4. Wolfie81

    Wolfie81

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    545
    Mobo:
    Wolfies BeQuiet
    CPU:
    6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    Graphics:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Apr 15, 2017 at 3:49 AM #74
    Wolfie81

    Wolfie81

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    545
    Mobo:
    Wolfies BeQuiet
    CPU:
    6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    Graphics:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Any reason why? I suspect they never got around to updating it for that model, or overlooked it?
    Theres no reason that can't shouldn't be supported on the MB, especially as that MB even has a thunderbolt header for PCIE cards!

    Has anyone confirmed they got this MB working with the alpine ridge?
     
  5. carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Apr 15, 2017 at 4:47 AM #75
    carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13

    In order for the card to work, there must be a Thunderbolt post (pinout?) on the MB. The two I have (GA-Z170X-UD5-TH, GA-Z170X-Designare) do not have these posts. No place to plug in the card. I believe the purpose of the card is to add TB3 to MB's that don't already support it. These particular MB's already do.
     
  6. carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Apr 15, 2017 at 5:12 AM #76
    carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    I didn't do anything special really. Followed a guide I found around here for the Z170X.
    My main hackintosh is the GA-Z170X-Designare, i7-7700k cpu, 512GB M.2 NVMe Samsung 960 (os), 1TB Samsung SSD 850 Pro (data), 32GB Corsair DDR4, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, PA246 and LG UltraFine 5K LCD monitors, Corsair Hydro Series H100i v2, Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Case.
    BIOS:
    Windows 8/10 Features - Other OS
    LAN PXE Boot Option Rom - disabled
    Storage Boot Option Control - UEFI
    Other PCI devices - UEFI
    Internal Graphics - disabled
    VT-d - disabled

    Thunderbolt(TM) Support - Enabled
    Thunderbolt Boot Support - disabled
    Thunderbolt Detachable Graphics Support - disabled
    Skip PCI OptionRom - Enabled
    Security Level - Secure Connect
    Reserved Memory - 256
    Reserved PMemory - 32

    I think everything else is defaults. I'm happy to answer specific questions as best I can.

    I hosed my computer yesterday when I was dumb enough to just say f**k it and installed the 10.12.4 update. The biggest pita I have, and didn't even think about, was preparing it with the nvme patches. So long story long, I just rebuilt my computer today. Nothing special in the setup, except that and FakeCPUID for the 7700k.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2017
  7. Wolfie81

    Wolfie81

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    545
    Mobo:
    Wolfies BeQuiet
    CPU:
    6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    Graphics:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Apr 15, 2017 at 5:57 AM #77
    Wolfie81

    Wolfie81

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    545
    Mobo:
    Wolfies BeQuiet
    CPU:
    6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
    Graphics:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Can you please check on page 36 of the manual. What are they getting at then?
    Edit: Check out the three images uploaded. It seems to show pin headers for it, and support.

    So... as I said, I suspect it will work, and its been left out on the list as a mistake?
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot45.jpg  (60.1 KB, 120 views)
    • screenshot45.jpg  (174.2 KB, 133 views)
    • screenshot45.jpg  (106 KB, 104 views)
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2017
  8. carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Apr 15, 2017 at 5:53 PM #78
    carterfields

    carterfields

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13

    Well damn....ok to be fair, my video card was in the way. But you are correct, the heads are there. I sent back my Asus TB card, so I can't test it.
     
  9. anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 15, 2017 at 11:01 PM #79
    anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I finally got my monitor LG UltraFine 5K.
    I was able to start it, but so far only in the video replay mode of my other monitor Asus VW248.
    Due to the limitations of the Asus monitor, the maximum resolution I managed to achieve is 2560 x 1440 @ 60Hz. And I understand that the maximum resolution that I can get with an integrated HD 530 or discrete GTX 780 graphics card can be 4096 x 2304. As soon as I can get a separate image on the LG monitor I plan to buy a GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 6 GB Rock card to Get the full resolution of the monitor (5120 x 2880).

    Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 20.22.31.png Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 23.07.44.png


    In IORegistryExplorer thunderbolt 3 looks like this:
    Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 23.52.02.png Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 23.52.12.png

    System Setup:

    The list of equipment I have in the signature, is Sierra 10.12.4 and the latest NvidiaWebDriver 378.05.05.

    I connected this scheme:
    Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 22.57.32.png
    Settings BIOS:

    Windows 8/10 Features - Other OS
    LAN PXE Boot Option Rom - Disabled
    Storage Boot Option Control - Legacy
    Other PCI devices – UEFI

    Initial Display Output – PCIe 1 Slot

    VT-d - Disabled
    Internal Graphics - Disabled

    Thunderbolt(TM) Support - Enabled
    Thunderbolt Boot Support - Disabled
    Thunderbolt Detachable Graphics Support - Disabled
    Skip PCI OptionRom - Enabled
    Security Level – User Autofization
    Reserved Memory - 256
    Reserved PMemory - 32

    What else works:

    1. Sound
    Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 20.24.20.png
    I get sound from the speakers built into the monitor. I estimate the sound quality by 7 points out of 10.

    2. USB hub for 3 USB3.1 Type C (unfortunately I can not verify them, since there is no available devices for this connector)
    Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 20.23.39.png

    3. Web camera

    Снимок экрана 2017-04-15 в 22.27.19.png

    I called FaceTime and Viber. The video was, but it worked very badly, with jerks. This microphone works well, except for calls you can communicate with Siri.

    Later I will try to solve this problem.


    I still could not get a separate image on the LG UltraFine 5K monitor (without video replay).

    I read that one of the users with the same motherboard turned out to use Thunderbolt 3 https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ini-guide-to-get-thunderbolt-3-working.214799 /.

    And I guess if I can run the system with the enabled the Thunderbolt boot support setting BIOS, I can display a separate image on the LG monitor.

    But when I turn on this item, I get the kernel panic with the following error:
    photo_2017-04-15_23-26-05.jpg

    Does anyone have any ideas how to solve this?
     
  10. anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 15, 2017 at 11:48 PM #80
    anatoliy.kant

    anatoliy.kant

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    UPD: Success
    I was able to get an independent image on both monitors, but only on a LG monitor with a resolution of 3840x2160@60Hz.
    I guess this is due to the limitation of my DP-cable.
    Снимок экрана 2017-04-16 в 1.40.47.png

    To configure, I used SwitchResX.

    UPD 16.04.2017: I ordered a cable mini DP to DP 1.4 to get the full resolution 5120 x 2880 @ 60HZ in the end.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017

Share This Page