Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi everyone!

As this is my first post on the forum I thought it fitting to introduce myself. My name is Jordan, and I have absolutely no experience in case-modding! I have been scouring the forums to build up a base knowledge and decide what my requirements will be. I have stripped down my current PC, which will provide most of the internal hardware (I hope to buy as little as possible). Eventually I would like to turn it into a proper Hackintosh running OSX (Mountain) Lion and Windows 7/8.

• Clean and simple interior.
  • Effective quiet cooling.
  • Make use of all my existing hardware.
  • Not need too much machinery, tools etc. (I have access to a dremel, power drill, angle grinder and hand tools)
  • Be cost effective.

As I said before I am new to this modding business so I hope you dont get fed up with endless questions!

I purchased a faulty G5 from Ebay, it should be here in a few days I will post some photos when it arrives.

In the mean time I will list what I will be filling the case with.

Already owned:

Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R
CPU - Intel Core i7 920 2.66Ghz
RAM - 3 x 2Gb Corsair Platinum Series 1600mhz
CPU Cooler - Akasa Nero
PSU - Corsair TX650W
Graphics Card - Palit GTX260

Storage - 2 x 500Gb Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm and 1 x Samsung 2Tb
Optical Drive - LG DVD-RW

Fans - 3 x 120mm

My initial thoughts and concerns are:

Motherboard Tray - Lian Li PC60 http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/info_2012.html . Will this work? I would buy the Mountain Mods motherboard tray but shipping to the UK is more than the motherboard tray itself. Another option is to purchase a really cheap case and make my own motherboard tray.

Fans - I have considered cooling options but once the case arrives and I fit the motherboard I shall see what space I have to work with and then decided. If I have the cash I would like to install the Antec Kuhler H2O 620 or similar.