i7 77000HQ
Graphics
hd630 (3840x2160) & GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

It's my first post here because I'm looking to build an alternative to a mac mini/air using an intel NUC kit.

Just because of the price my preference goes out to the Intel NUC DC3217BY(Intel Core i3 3217U) which is pretty cheap. But I'm mainly concerned with the performance. As this would be my first customac built, i'm wondering if the fact that it is a customac has any influence on the performance?

I've found threads about people building customac's with Intel NUC around the forum here: is the performance good? Is it good enough for daily use? Or are these builds more a proof of concept that it can be done?

I'm a professional webdeveloper, I don't need a real powerhouse, i'm using a Macbook Air at the moment, and it works fine and is powerfull enough to run all my applications; Mainly text-editors(sublime text) but I will need to use tools like Photoshop from time to time with "small" psd's.

The spec's of my current Macbook Air:
It's a macbook air 13-inch, Mid 2012
Processor 1,8 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB

Thx!

If you find using a MacBook Air to be a little slow for photoshop with built in graphics then an Intel NUC certainly isn't going to be any better. Once you add up all the individual parts for a NUC, memory, storage, CPU, PSU etc the Apple looks like better value as it is a complete product with working wifi, great resale value, Thunderbolt, 4 x USB.

I would go for a larger mATX motherboard, i5 or i3 CPU, 8 GB RAM, an SSD, HDD space if required and use a GPU. This will be an extremely fast and capable build for your needs.
Here are some options:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/buying-advice/118150-building-budget-haswell-build-how-low-can-you-go.html