Contribute
Register

Installing El Capitan on ga-z68x-ud3h-b3, i7 2600k, gtx 770

Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
asus rog crosshair viii hero x570
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
GTX 770 / RTX 2070 super
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay so i have been trying to get my windows machine running os x El Capitan for my last year of uni as well as my main development machine as my work laptop will be going back soon and I have learned to love programming on os x. I am trying to get my machine to duel boot windows 7 and El Capitan

I have had some degree of success with my upgrade so far. I have gotten El Capitan booting from clover(usb) and installed El Capitan successfully but I have run into a couple problems.

I mainly followed this guide http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/s...clover-ga-z68x-ud3h-b3-amd-6870-2600k.176256/ to help me through my install.

Problems
  • Motherboard BIOS firmware update from F12 to UEIF made my keyboard and mouse inaccessible on windows 7 (I carried on with the install of El Capitan)
  • No Audio on El Capitan. I have installed CloverALC110Script and also Multibeast ALC889 codecs
  • Cannot boot directly from my ssd with El Capitan installed on it but can boot fine from clover(usb) > Boot from El Capitan on <SSDNAME>
Any help would be amazing as this is my only option for os x for development during my final year.
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,487
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
asus rog crosshair viii hero x570
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
GTX 770 / RTX 2070 super
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To boot from the SSD instead of the USB drive, check out this section:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/b...pitan-install-problems.173991/#CategoryNoBoot
The EFI/CLOVER issue is reasonably common.

Once you have that sorted and can boot from SSD, then you can address the audio issue. Do audio devices show up?
http://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/audio.14/

A quick and cheap audio backup would be to use a simple USB audio adapter - handy device to have when hacking OSX to PC hardware.
Hi Adrian, Thanks for the reply. I will follow the steps given in your link to see if I can get booted from my ssd once I get home.

and No, the audio device is not showing in my sound options in El Capitan.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
asus rog crosshair viii hero x570
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
GTX 770 / RTX 2070 super
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To boot from the SSD instead of the USB drive, check out this section:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/b...pitan-install-problems.173991/#CategoryNoBoot
The EFI/CLOVER issue is reasonably common.

Once you have that sorted and can boot from SSD, then you can address the audio issue. Do audio devices show up?
http://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/audio.14/

A quick and cheap audio backup would be to use a simple USB audio adapter - handy device to have when hacking OSX to PC hardware.
Hi adrian. when booting from the ssd in which i installed El Capitan. i see the clover loader before it boots into El Capitan. (says will automaticly boot into El Capitan in 3 seconds if i do not move the keyboard) **usb is removed btw**. it boots in fine. is this how its supposed to boot?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
asus rog crosshair viii hero x570
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
GTX 770 / RTX 2070 super
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ps Audio is now working.

Lastly Im trying to get my graphics drivers installed. Os x is currently only showing on 1 monitor out of 2 (weirdly changed monitors during last reboot). I cant seem to find what drivers are needed for a gtx 770 online. a lot of answers referring to QUADRO & GEFORCE MAC OS X DRIVERS but on nvidias page the supported products only go to the 600 series.
 
Last edited:

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,487
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Hi adrian. when booting from the ssd in which i installed El Capitan. i see the clover loader before it boots into El Capitan. (says will automaticly boot into El Capitan in 3 seconds if i do not move the keyboard) **usb is removed btw**. it boots in fine. is this how its supposed to boot?

Yes, this is normal.
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,487
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
ps Audio is now working.

Lastly Im trying to get my graphics drivers installed. Os x is currently only showing on 1 monitor out of 2 (weirdly changed monitors during last reboot). I cant seem to find what drivers are needed for a gtx 770 online. a lot of answers referring to QUADRO & GEFORCE MAC OS X DRIVERS but on nvidias page the supported products only go to the 600 series.

If you are using a GTX 770 then you do not need any additional drivers. You also do not want to inject nvidia. See Common Issues > Multi-Screen screen setup doesn't work properly
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/read-me-first-graphics-setup-troubleshooting.183617/
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
asus rog crosshair viii hero x570
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
GTX 770 / RTX 2070 super
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you are using a GTX 770 then you do not need any additional drivers. You also do not want to inject nvidia. See Common Issues > Multi-Screen screen setup doesn't work properly
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/read-me-first-graphics-setup-troubleshooting.183617/
So i edited the config.plist and turned inject nvidia to false and that worked great. both displays now working.

Having no drivers for my gtx 770 will this take advantage fully advantage of it? (yet to do any benchmarks)

thank you so much for the help. great links and information provided i couldnt find.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
asus rog crosshair viii hero x570
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Graphics
GTX 770 / RTX 2070 super
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What device would you recommend i pick to emulate? My hardware dosnt really match one specifc device so im not sure. I seen somewhere to pick a Mac Pro but the
"iMac "Core i7" 3.4 27-Inch (Mid-2011)
3.4 GHz Core i7 (I7-2600)"(everymac.com) is the only one with my CPU (without the K). Does it matter?
 
Top