Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
195
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
I did not change any other values than the IDLE fan speed.. you are of course free to investigate additional parameter changes at your own risk and responsability.. ;)
I like you to know that currently I use the MSI airboost bios. I have to flash it to 200283 however I noticed that the MSI airboost bios delivers more information. I see now also RPM of the fan which was not visible with the original Sapphire Biosses if I'm correct.

Code:
ioreg -l |grep \"PerformanceStatistics\" | cut -d '{' -f 2 | tr '|' ',' | tr -d '}' | tr ',' '\n'|grep 'Temp\|Fan'
"Fan Speed(%)"=30
"Fan Speed(RPM)"=1506 <---(*)
"Temperature(C)"=27
(*) See 1500 RPM idle is definitely working with VGTab. So now its just a matter of finding the optimal settings

PS. 1500RPM @idle is quite loud ....
PS2. Encoding H264 1080p to H265@ approx 65fps is that fast or too slow?
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I like you to know that currently I use the MSI airboost bios. I have to flash it to 200283 however I noticed that the MSI airboost bios delivers more information. I see now also RPM of the fan which was not visible with the original Sapphire Biosses if I'm correct.

Code:
ioreg -l |grep \"PerformanceStatistics\" | cut -d '{' -f 2 | tr '|' ',' | tr -d '}' | tr ',' '\n'|grep 'Temp\|Fan'
"Fan Speed(%)"=30
"Fan Speed(RPM)"=1506 <---(*)
"Temperature(C)"=27
(*) See 1500 RPM idle is definitely working with VGTab. So now its just a matter of finding the optimal settings

PS. 1500RPM @idle is quite loud ....
PS2. Encoding H264 1080p to H265@ approx 65fps is that fast or too slow?
I you feel that 1500 RPM are still too loud, further lower the fan speed but carefully watch GPU temps especially under full GPU load conditions.. ;) evidently, you might also have to lower frequs and voltages in this case..
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
98
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp
A new device: "Thermal SubSystem"
Thanks to "ANONYMOUS WRITER" for the first step, after some trying I could integrate it.
001.png
004.png


Code:
    Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Device (THSS)
        {
            Name (_ADR, 0x00140002)  // _ADR: Address
            Name (THSS, One)
            Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
            {
                Store (Package (0x0C)
                    {
                        "AAPL,slot-name",
                        Buffer (0x09)
                        {
                            "Built In"
                        },

                        "built-in",
                        Buffer (One)
                        {
                             0x00                                         
                        },

                        "name",
                        Buffer (0x24)
                        {
                            "Intel X299 Series Thermal Subsystem"
                        },

                        "model",
                        Buffer (0x24)
                        {
                            "Intel X299 Series Thermal Subsystem"
                        },

                        "device_type",
                        Buffer (0x13)
                        {
                            "Thermal-Controller"
                        },

                        "compatible",
                        Buffer (0x0D)
                        {
                            "pci8086,a2a1"
                        }
                    }, Local0)
                DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                Return (Local0)
            }
        }
    }
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X299 E-Gaming
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please post your EFI zip.

Are you using AptioMemoryFix-64.efi and not any other Aptio fix? (The zip in 1st post has all the necessary kexts and .efi files to get you started)
Also CsrActiveConfig should be set to 0x67 on config.plist

Hey,
Thx a lot for your reply!!
I am using the aptioMemoryFix-64.efi and also the AptioInputFix-64.efi.
CsrActiveConfig is set to 0x67 on config.plist..

I attached my EFI folder so you can hopefully fing my mistake(s)!

best,
Phil
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
98
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@rawx

Because …
• the processor is more expensive
• you have to use another board (C422 Chipset)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X299 E-Gaming
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp

Hi:)

Thx for your awesome guide! Maybe you could help me with my installation issues?:)
I followed your guid as good as possible but somehow the installation crashes with:
"Couldn´t allocate runtime area"

I Uploaded a picture of the issue and my EFI Folder. I really hope there is a solution to be found!

Thx for everything and best greetings,
Phil



My System:
Asus Rog Strix X299
Intel Core I9 7940
Gigabyte Gtx1080 Windforce
64gb G-Skill DDR4
 

Attachments

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp

Hi:)

Thx for your awesome guide! Maybe you could help me with my installation issues?:)
I followed your guid as good as possible but somehow the installation crashes with:
"Couldn´t allocate runtime area"

I Uploaded a picture of the issue and my EFI Folder. I really hope there is a solution to be found!

Thx for everything and best greetings,

Phil
Phil, everything in your EFI-Folder seems alright.. BTW.. THE CPU core ACPI replacements you enabled are for the i9-7940X?

Thus, I really don't know what causes the memory allocation errors with your mainboard..

Try to enable "above 4G decoding" in your BIOS... If this does not help try to reflash the BIOS..

Cheers and good luck,

KGP
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
264
@rawx

Because …
• the processor is more expensive
• you have to use another board (C422 Chipset)
There is one more thing :
• The 7980XE is much faster since you can overclock it, what is not possible with the Xeon. ;-)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Nvidia 1070 GTX
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
PRIME X299-DELUXE BIOS 1503
"Improve system stability and performance.
Update ME firmware to version 11.11.55.1509.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top