Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi KGP, I'm snuggling to get my Nitro+ 64 under control in macOS. I think the VGTab is not completely correctly creating the tables. It has impact with VegaTab_64.kext in clover kexts but sometimes the fans spin drom idle to something let say 70-80% max. Can you tell me what is best practice to use the Nitro+ (just air) to get it optimal running in my system? I have a little week to possibly sent it back but the Vega is compared to the nVidia card I had heaven ... well if I can manage the fan issue. Please help.
Why don't you simply use the load table implemented in the actual version of my SSDT-X299-iMacPro-Vega.aml, attached to my guide in the originating post of this thread? It perfectly works in my case and is already optimised...

Note that I also changed the Nitro+ Vega 64 firmware to https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/200283/200283 (at BIOS jumper position 1). Don't forget to backup the original firmware, in case you return it to the seller! This thread might provide additional information in this context: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/amd-polaris-vega-gpu-macos-support.2083168/.

Good luck,

KGP
 

gib

Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
X299 Raider Pro
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX2100
Mac
MacBook Pro
@kgp for some reason i can't even get the latest High Sierra OS to install. i attempt to install via Clover USB; the Apple logo shows up, then i run into their "Prohibitory" Symbol [ Ø ].

Any help with my issues would be fantastic!
Thanks in advance -Raider Dave
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp for some reason i can't even get the latest High Sierra OS to install. i attempt to install via Clover USB; the Apple logo shows up, then i run into their "Prohibitory" Symbol [ Ø ].

Any help with my issues would be fantastic!
Thanks in advance -Raider Dave
Did you adopt and add TSCAdjustReset.kext to my EFI-Folder as outlined in my guide? Also please boot with boot flag -v!

If the latter does not help, please upload your EFI-Folder + screenshots of your BIOS settings!

Good luck,

KGP
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus Prime x299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900x
Graphics
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
Hey friends, just bumping for some help with Premiere Pro CC2018 and the X299 Hackintosh (in signature).

The system basically freezes during export to ProRes or other codecs (incl. H264).

I can move the mouse, but have to hard reboot since it's a complete stall.

Is there any logs I should look out for? Any help appreciated.
Yes, I've been getting a lock up during PP export for awhile now. A lock up use to be hit or miss, but with recent updates either in macos or from the guide a lock up is almost instant when using Metal or OpenCL. I can usually get a little further with software encoding, but its still inevitable. I usually am exporting around an hours worth of DNxHD content to h264. It doesn't matter if I use Premiere Pro or AME.

I've pretty much given up on trying to troubleshoot it as it seems to definitely be Apple and Adobe related. I still do all my editing on my Mac, but use my Windows machine to export. Not ideal but it works and frees up resources on my Mac for what would normally be a 45 minute encode so I can get other things done.

I'm getting other random lockups, but the Premiere induced ones are a hard lockup and guaranteed to happen.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, I've been getting a lock up during PP export for awhile now. A lock up use to be hit or miss, but with recent updates either in macos or from the guide a lock up is almost instant when using Metal or OpenCL. I can usually get a little further with software encoding, but its still inevitable. I usually am exporting around an hours worth of DNxHD content to h264. It doesn't matter if I use Premiere Pro or AME.

I've pretty much given up on trying to troubleshoot it as it seems to definitely be Apple and Adobe related. I still do all my editing on my Mac, but use my Windows machine to export. Not ideal but it works and frees up resources on my Mac for what would normally be a 45 minute encode so I can get other things done.

I'm getting other random lockups, but the Premiere induced ones are a hard lockup and guaranteed to happen.
Did you try to increase AVX and AVX-512 offsets in BIOS as suggested in one of the recent posts?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus Prime x299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900x
Graphics
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
Did you try to increase AVX and AVX-512 offsets in BIOS as suggested in one of the recent posts?
No, playing catch up on posts, still a few pages back. I'll look for it. Thank you.
 
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
166
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
Why don't you simply use the load table implemented in the actual version of my SSDT-X299-iMacPro-Vega.aml, attached to my guide in the originating post of this thread? It perfectly works in my case and is already optimised...

Note that I also changed the Nitro+ Vega 64 firmware to https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/200283/200283 (at BIOS jumper position 1). Don't forget to backup the original firmware, in case you return it to the seller! This thread might provide additional information in this context: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/amd-polaris-vega-gpu-macos-support.2083168/.

Good luck,

KGP

Kgp Thanks, is your ssdt mainboard dependent? I have another mainboard.
(Asus z370 prime A).
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,297
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you try to increase AVX and AVX-512 offsets in BIOS as suggested in one of the recent posts?
I set AVX-512 to -5 and AVX Offset to -2, haven't done a ton of tests yet, but seems to help.

Will report back if I see any freezes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Kgp Thanks, is your ssdt mainboard dependent? I have another mainboard.
(Asus z370 prime A).
The SSDT is mainboard and Slot dependent! You need to adopt both ACPI path and ACPI replacements.. You can drop anything else than the HDEF, GFX0, HDAU and DTPG implementation from the SSDT. HDEF you might also have to adopt for the Asus z370 prime A.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,297
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, I've been getting a lock up during PP export for awhile now. A lock up use to be hit or miss, but with recent updates either in macos or from the guide a lock up is almost instant when using Metal or OpenCL. I can usually get a little further with software encoding, but its still inevitable. I usually am exporting around an hours worth of DNxHD content to h264. It doesn't matter if I use Premiere Pro or AME.

I've pretty much given up on trying to troubleshoot it as it seems to definitely be Apple and Adobe related. I still do all my editing on my Mac, but use my Windows machine to export. Not ideal but it works and frees up resources on my Mac for what would normally be a 45 minute encode so I can get other things done.

I'm getting other random lockups, but the Premiere induced ones are a hard lockup and guaranteed to happen.
Really sad state with Apple and Adobe.

CC2019 is around the corner, I really hope they completely drop OpenCL since now it's depreciated in Mojave and move completely to Metal and highly optimize it for macOS....and fix this damn issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top