Contribute
Register

How migrate from Clover to Opencore? (Catalina)

Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
552
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The easy way I do it, but am not Sure if it’s the right way, is just use the clover bootloader and install it or the usb, so it makes a efi partition.

after that mount it and delete the clover files and replace them with the opencore files.
When formatting a USB flash drive to HFS+ or APFS, it will create an EFI partition. I used USB flash drives without a macOS installer when migrating to OpenCore.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
889
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
I used USB flash drives without a macOS installer when migrating to OpenCore.
Yeah, that's what I have done/am doing. But:
If the screen I posted in post #30 is the "picker," what is supposed to happen when one of the items is "picked?" In my case, the bitten Apple shows up but no progress bar. In case I had done something wrong, I ran "OpenCore Sanity Check." The result is attached. I can't see anything wrong.
Comments appreciated!
 

Attachments

  • OpenCore config.plist Sanity Checker.pdf
    83.7 KB · Views: 4
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
552
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, that's what I have done/am doing. But:
If the screen I posted in post #30 is the "picker," what is supposed to happen when one of the items is "picked?" In my case, the bitten Apple shows up but no progress bar. In case I had done something wrong, I ran "OpenCore Sanity Check." The result is attached. I can't see anything wrong.
Comments appreciated!
I would recommend using the debug package for OpenCore first with the verbose mode enabled. Simply showing an Apple logo cannot help you debug.

You may also need to try to reset NVRAM.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
45
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM
Graphics
M4000
Simply just showing an apple logo also likely means that you aren't even using `-v` in your boot-args to show verbose logs from macOS. It's impossible to tell what is going wrong without that - I'd recommend debug=0x100 and keepsyms=1 as well to it freeze on panics and show more details in them.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
RX 580X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay after hour I finally got it to work....
I tried to boot my Big Sur install with OC but only get a Mojave install option.
I thought this was also my BS drive, but now I think I was wrong.

I did a fresh install with OC boot loader and everything is working fine.
even continuity works out directly,

I am happy I made the move, but wish OC would have the same theme options as Clover.
I know there Is a basic them but would be great to see some other themes.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
889
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
I appreciate the responses. Now, considering that I am running the system at left with Clover EFI bootloader R5119 and MacOS 10.15.7 (build 19H15), and I have a USB 2 flash drive with OC 0.6.3 and all its accoutrements plugged into the front USB 2 port of said computer, can anyone answer my question in bold print in post #32? If OC is working, what is supposed to happen after I pick "OpenCore" in my BIOS as my boot drive, boot on that, and then "pick" either one of my two SSDs or one of the Recovery options? Should a "good" OC flash drive open MacOS? Or not? Or what else?

Never mind, I understand now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
RX 580X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I appreciate the responses. Now, considering that I am running the system at left with Clover EFI bootloader R5119 and MacOS 10.15.7 (build 19H15), and I have a USB 2 flash drive with OC 0.6.3 and all its accoutrements plugged into the front USB 2 port of said computer, can anyone answer my question in bold print in post #32? If OC is working, what is supposed to happen after I pick "OpenCore" in my BIOS as my boot drive, boot on that, and then "pick" either one of my two SSDs or one of the Recovery options? Should a "good" OC flash drive open MacOS? Or not? Or what else?
Normally it should boot the macOS,
But for me not. In open core what does it say, your drive name or like installer ?

for me it did not see my “clover” Big Sur drive for some reason. But after I did a clean install opencore saw it an is working now.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
889
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
In open core what does it say, your drive name or like installer ?
If by "in open core" you mean on the display during booting, I uploaded that picture in post #30, above. You can see the choices; "970 0" and "970 1" are my two SSD names. Also both EFI partitions and the Recovery partitions are shown. It does not show the USB drive itself, "Install MacOS Catalina."
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If by "in open core" you mean on the display during booting, I uploaded that picture in post #30, above. You can see the choices; "970 0" and "970 1" are my two SSD names. Also both EFI partitions and the Recovery partitions are shown. It does not show the USB drive itself, "Install MacOS Catalina."
As 1revenger1 mentioned, if you are able to get to the picker screen, and you add verbose mode argument ("-v") and logging options from the guide, it should save log files that indicate what the error was during boot. So use your Clover bootloader to get back into the system, mount the EFI from your flash drive, and you should see a few files alongside your EFI folder. That might give you some insight into why it is getting stuck at the Apple logo.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
889
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
As 1revenger1 mentioned, if you are able to get to the picker screen, and you add verbose mode argument ("-v") and logging options from the guide, it should save log files that indicate what the error was during boot. So use your Clover bootloader to get back into the system, mount the EFI from your flash drive, and you should see a few files alongside your EFI folder. That might give you some insight into why it is getting stuck at the Apple logo.
Wow... okay, if I'm at the picker screen having booted on the USB, how can I add a boot argument? To do that, I have to be in Clover and use "Options." Do you mean to boot using Clover, adding "-v" to my Clover config.plist, and then booting to my USB (where I get stuck on the Apple logo), then returning to Clover and looking for a log somewhere? Also, the troubleshooting trees I find on GitHub say nothing about what to do if this happens... "stuck" is covered everywhere else but "at the Apple Logo after choosing a startup disk." Also, where are "logging options" from the Guide? Can't find them.

[Edit: Well, I thought I understood, and put the boot arguments in the USB's config.plist, but that did nothing. I guess you did mean to put them in Clover's config.plist, so I'll try that. But I still don't see any "logging options" anywhere, and don't know where to look for those after my next try.]
 
Last edited:
Top