Gigabyte LGA 1151 Z170
CPU
Intel Boxed Core I7-6700K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello,

I am completely new to building my own PC. A beginner to Hackintosh and a white belt to software installation. After hours of struggling to get past the frozen Apple logo on the installation process, I ran into another ordeal.

I recently purchased a Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512g) after doing extensive research, with the intention of setting it as my boot drive. I know I installed it correctly because it shows up in my BIOS (GA-Z170xp SLI Motherboard).

After using Clover in a USB (UNIBEAST), I get to the "select language tab" on El Capitan. I choose English and then I am directed into the next screen where I click disk utility.

HERE'S where I run into the issue:

When selecting which drive I would like to install El Capitan on, my M.2 drive doesn't show up as an option. Only the USB and my 3 terabyte seagate hard drive I got so save files on.

Can anyone help me (in the simplest/most detailed way possible) on how to go about setting my 950 pro as a boot drive for El Capitan on my PC? Or any alternatives as to how to go about getting El Capitan on the m.2 drive?

Thanks

As far as I know, the only M.2 SSDs that can be used as a boot drive with OS X are the ones that are AHCI. The reason the NVMe ones can't be used as a boot drive is because the driver for it doesn't load until after OS X has been loaded. AHCI does not need the driver.

As far as I know, the only M.2 SSDs that can be used as a boot drive with OS X are the ones that are AHCI. The reason the NVMe ones can't be used as a boot drive is because the driver for it doesn't load until after OS X has been loaded. AHCI does not need the driver.
Is there anyway I can make it AHCI? Or maybe load the NVMe driver after I install El Capitan from my flashdrive and then somehow copy it over if the m.2 appears as an option?

Ah. I stand corrected. Thanks for the info and sorry for misinforming you, RockLee.