[Guide] El Capitan on the Skylake H170N-WIFI

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by ammulder, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. loggedout

    loggedout

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 3:29 AM #21
    loggedout

    loggedout

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is that ig-platform-id what gets the iGPU to run smoothly and with acceleration? Right now I inject intel but leave ig-platform-id blank and it's not very good at all.

    Edit: Nope! At least not for my system. It makes my screen completely unusable. Have to fix my config.plist file somehow.:banghead:
     
  2. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 12:33 PM #22
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    There is no "runs smoothly" on integrated graphics yet.

    If you inject Intel but don't set an ig-platform-id, I think it defaults to the ID for the HD 4600, which results in no acceleration. If you set 0x19120000 then you get acceleration, but with artifacts -- strangely colored menu bars and title bars, problems using Safari, App Store, and Preview, etc. It's usable if you have alternate apps (Firefox, etc.), and you can boot in Safe Mode to run App Store to do updates, but it's not exactly pleasing.

    In the answer above I was suggesting going with Intel graphics just to get into the OS and do the post-install and make sure it's fundamentally working. Then you could move on to troubleshooting the Radeon card, once you know everything else works.

    For anybody, I'd recommend Nvidia graphics for now if you're planning on using the machine a lot. I gather a Radeon *should* work, but I don't have any direct experience to help with troubleshooting.
     
  3. loggedout

    loggedout

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 4:34 PM #23
    loggedout

    loggedout

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Okay, fair enough. I tried the acceleration on my system but the artifacts were so bad I couldn't use the computer even if I tried. So I guess the integrated graphics varies pretty significantly between different hardware.

    It looks like Pike released a patch for acceleration but it's not perfect. I haven't been home to try it yet.
     
  4. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 5:21 PM #24
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    His latest is confusing to me. I already see IntelAccelerator loaded. The problem I see is not with lack of acceleration, but with the artifacts. In any case, his suggested patch didn't do anything for me, but I'd be interested in whether it makes any improvement for you.
     
  5. acdop100

    acdop100

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    CPU:
    i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 390
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 9:27 PM #25
    acdop100

    acdop100

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    CPU:
    i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 390
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey man, I really appreciate your help, but nothing is working. Its giving me the exact same error message as before with the card removed, pc set to integrated GFX, and verbose. I tried giving it a fake CPU ID as Haswell but that didn't change anything either.
     
  6. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 11:04 PM #26
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The thing is, the screen shot you posted before did not have any error in it -- that's all normal output.

    Are you booting off the install USB at this point to get to the Clover menu? If so, can you put it in a different machine and post a screen shot of Finder looking at the EFI partition of the USB drive with EFI/CLOVER/kexts open in tree mode and all subdirectories expanded and files showing? And attach your config.plist as well.
     
  7. loggedout

    loggedout

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 19, 2015 at 12:08 AM #27
    loggedout

    loggedout

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz Quad Core
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I don't want to clutter up this guide with graphics chatter so see my reply in the Skylake test thread.
     
  8. aksaklani

    aksaklani

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M3 DDR4 64GB
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6600 3.30GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750Ti 2gb
    Nov 19, 2015 at 8:50 AM #28
    aksaklani

    aksaklani

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M3 DDR4 64GB
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6600 3.30GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750Ti 2gb
    Trying to install on my MSI Z170A GAMING M3 board. Let's see how it goes. will keep on updating. Thanks Tony and team.
     
  9. aksaklani

    aksaklani

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M3 DDR4 64GB
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6600 3.30GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750Ti 2gb
    Nov 19, 2015 at 10:21 AM #29
    aksaklani

    aksaklani

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M3 DDR4 64GB
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-6600 3.30GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750Ti 2gb
    Stucked at 'Still Waiting for root device". Searched for solution everywhere but can't find any solution, can anyone help me with this please?
     
  10. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 20, 2015 at 1:09 AM #30
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS

Share This Page