[Guide] El Capitan on the Skylake H170N-WIFI

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by ammulder, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. gsanchez922

    gsanchez922

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Dell Inspiron 7559
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700MQ
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce GTX960M (4GB)
    Nov 12, 2015 at 1:12 PM #11
    gsanchez922

    gsanchez922

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Dell Inspiron 7559
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700MQ
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce GTX960M (4GB)
    What about the support for GTX 750 ti? it will work properly because I need my hackintosh for work with videos and photo and I new in this world thnx.
     
  2. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 12, 2015 at 4:47 PM #12
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    gsanchez922: The 750ti should work, but only with the Nvidia Web drivers. You will need to boot with nv_disable=1 until you can install the Web drivers, and then remove that and add nvda_drv=1 after the Web drivers are installed.

    However, I myself have not made the switch to Skylake for a must-work machine. There are still some loose ends and issues (such as sleep/wake, the occasional kernel panic in the Ethernet driver, etc.). If you do, it's still early; be prepared to still encounter some issues along the way. :)
     
  3. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 17, 2015 at 1:45 AM #13
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've updated the guide to improve HDMI support for integrated graphics: better monitor detection, 4K and 1080P Retina support for 4K monitors, and the foundation for HDMI audio with the HD 530 (though that is not fully working yet; we may just need to wait for a fix from Apple). I also added the optional SSDT to enable HDMI audio on an Nvidia card.

    Note that 4K should already work with an Nvidia card, including the "Retina" modes above 1080P but below 4K (which don't yet work on integrated graphics).

    I also switched the audio system to layout 3 by default, which gives better labels to the audio outputs:
    • Internal Speakers (or) Headphones: the case's audio jack
    • Line Out: the three 1/8" outputs on the back of the case
    • Digital Out: the optical digital output on the back of the case
     
  4. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,366
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 17, 2015 at 3:43 AM #14
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,366
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Audio ID: 3:
    Internal Speakers > motherboard Green audio port.
    Line Out > motherboard Black audio port.
    Motherboard Orange audio port is not supported.

    If HD530 HDMI audio is not enabled, use Audio ID: 1:
    Line Out (1st) > motherboard Orange audio port.
    Line Out (2nd) > motherboard Black audio port.
     
  5. smoothbit

    smoothbit

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Nov 18, 2015 at 12:04 AM #15
    smoothbit

    smoothbit

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    I built almost the same machine as you just a week ago and shall be trying out your instructions, thank you for posting them.

    Regarding the "Dell DW1560 (BCM94352Z chip) m.2 WiFi/Bluetooth card", does this look correct to you?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0156EGULC
     
  6. acdop100

    acdop100

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    CPU:
    i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 390
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 1:19 AM #16
    acdop100

    acdop100

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    CPU:
    i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 390
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey, so I tried out your guide and I can't seem to boot into the drive once ElCap is installed. I was able to boot into the installer in safe mode and install fine but now my kernel(?) panics every time I boot into the drive, and I have tried multiple settings and configs and other kexts, etc etc and they wont work. I tried reinstalling ElCap on the USB again but that didn't work either.

    Here is the panic that usually shows up (sorry for bad quality)
    IMG_0554.jpg

    Thanks!
     
  7. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 1:51 AM #17
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I don't see a panic there.

    It looks like maybe graphics aren't starting. Is this the system with the Radeon?
     
  8. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 1:52 AM #18
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes, looks right to me.
     
  9. acdop100

    acdop100

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    CPU:
    i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 390
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 1:57 AM #19
    acdop100

    acdop100

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    CPU:
    i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 390
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes, I have a Sapphire 390. I tried injecting ATi and adding a fake ID and stuff, but that didnt work. I also tried removing the card and injecting intel but that gave me the same result.
     
  10. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 18, 2015 at 2:15 AM #20
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,301
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have very little experience with Radeon cards.

    If it was me, I would remove the card, set config.plist to inject intel=true and ig-platform-id = 0x19120000, make sure BIOS is set to integrated graphics enabled with boot integrated graphics first, and try booting in verbose but not safe mode. If you try that and it still hangs, please post another photo.

    Also, if you have more than one drive in the system, it will be easiest if you disconnect the others, just to be sure you're using the Clover settings you think you are. Otherwise use your BIOS hotkey to select a boot drive and make sure to pick the UEFI entry for the drive you installed to.
     

Share This Page