Contribute
Register

[Guide] El Capitan on the Skylake H170N-WIFI

Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700MQ
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX960M (4GB)
What about the support for GTX 750 ti? it will work properly because I need my hackintosh for work with videos and photo and I new in this world thnx.
 

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,467
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
gsanchez922: The 750ti should work, but only with the Nvidia Web drivers. You will need to boot with nv_disable=1 until you can install the Web drivers, and then remove that and add nvda_drv=1 after the Web drivers are installed.

However, I myself have not made the switch to Skylake for a must-work machine. There are still some loose ends and issues (such as sleep/wake, the occasional kernel panic in the Ethernet driver, etc.). If you do, it's still early; be prepared to still encounter some issues along the way. :)
 

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,467
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've updated the guide to improve HDMI support for integrated graphics: better monitor detection, 4K and 1080P Retina support for 4K monitors, and the foundation for HDMI audio with the HD 530 (though that is not fully working yet; we may just need to wait for a fix from Apple). I also added the optional SSDT to enable HDMI audio on an Nvidia card.

Note that 4K should already work with an Nvidia card, including the "Retina" modes above 1080P but below 4K (which don't yet work on integrated graphics).

I also switched the audio system to layout 3 by default, which gives better labels to the audio outputs:
  • Internal Speakers (or) Headphones: the case's audio jack
  • Line Out: the three 1/8" outputs on the back of the case
  • Digital Out: the optical digital output on the back of the case
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,345
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
  • Line Out: the three 1/8" outputs on the back of the case
Audio ID: 3:
Internal Speakers > motherboard Green audio port.
Line Out > motherboard Black audio port.
Motherboard Orange audio port is not supported.

If HD530 HDMI audio is not enabled, use Audio ID: 1:
Line Out (1st) > motherboard Orange audio port.
Line Out (2nd) > motherboard Black audio port.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
55
Motherboard
XPS 15 9560
CPU
i5 7300HQ
Graphics
GTX 1050, Intel HD630, 1080p
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, so I tried out your guide and I can't seem to boot into the drive once ElCap is installed. I was able to boot into the installer in safe mode and install fine but now my kernel(?) panics every time I boot into the drive, and I have tried multiple settings and configs and other kexts, etc etc and they wont work. I tried reinstalling ElCap on the USB again but that didn't work either.

Here is the panic that usually shows up (sorry for bad quality)
IMG_0554.jpg

Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2014
Messages
55
Motherboard
XPS 15 9560
CPU
i5 7300HQ
Graphics
GTX 1050, Intel HD630, 1080p
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, I have a Sapphire 390. I tried injecting ATi and adding a fake ID and stuff, but that didnt work. I also tried removing the card and injecting intel but that gave me the same result.
 

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,467
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have very little experience with Radeon cards.

If it was me, I would remove the card, set config.plist to inject intel=true and ig-platform-id = 0x19120000, make sure BIOS is set to integrated graphics enabled with boot integrated graphics first, and try booting in verbose but not safe mode. If you try that and it still hangs, please post another photo.

Also, if you have more than one drive in the system, it will be easiest if you disconnect the others, just to be sure you're using the Clover settings you think you are. Otherwise use your BIOS hotkey to select a boot drive and make sure to pick the UEFI entry for the drive you installed to.
 
Top