[Guide] El Capitan on the Skylake H170N-WIFI

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by ammulder, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. eblitz

    eblitz

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Lion
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Diamond HD6870
    Jan 8, 2017 at 1:06 PM #1381
    eblitz

    eblitz

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Lion
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Diamond HD6870
    I am also at a loss. I have built the exact machine per the above config. When I start the El Capitan install process, I get the Clover boot loader screen and it starts to install but it always stops halfway through and quits. I have removed the wifi card as someone suggested that but nothing changed. I have tried Sierra but I get a circle with slash when I begin the install process. I have a machine that works but I am unable to load the software.

    Any suggestions would be of great help...I have done this several times before with other machines and never had this problem.

    Thanks!
     
  2. hean

    hean

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Jan 8, 2017 at 5:27 PM #1382
    hean

    hean

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    @eblitz
    my first tries with an older 16gb usb2.0 stick also fails, it stops/hangs at 12/11min installation time. with usb3.0 64gb i had no probs.
    maybe it helps !?
     
  3. TheItalianJob

    TheItalianJob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    GA H170N Wifi
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 750
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 8, 2017 at 5:49 PM #1383
    TheItalianJob

    TheItalianJob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    GA H170N Wifi
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 750
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I did what you suggest, nothing changes!. No Bluetooth.
     
  4. bmielke929

    bmielke929

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 970
    Jan 9, 2017 at 6:13 PM #1384
    bmielke929

    bmielke929

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 970
    I am having some troubles with my Hackintosh. I originally had everything working perfect with El Capitan. WiFi, Bluetooth, Handoff, Unlock with Apple Watch everything was working great. I upgraded to Sierra a little bit ago and since then WiFi and Bluetooth both do not work. Bluetooth will look like it is showing devices and that it is working but it is not showing everything and can't connect to anything. WiFi on the other hand says that there is no hardware installed. I tried the fixes from this article
    (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/update-sierra-on-the-skylake-h170n-wifi.202847/) but nothing has worked so far. Not sure if I am missing anything or what. I have tried downloading new kexts for the WiFi and Bluetooth but still nothing works. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  5. TheItalianJob

    TheItalianJob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    GA H170N Wifi
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 750
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 7:18 PM #1385
    TheItalianJob

    TheItalianJob

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    GA H170N Wifi
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 750
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi, news! Now Bluetooth si ok! I got it! But, I think It has some problem, it si unusable!. Air drop don't works with my iPhone, iPad, MacBook, Apple TV. I did try to connect a Bluetooth keyboard, no way!
     
  6. djrven

    djrven

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Asrock H170M-ITX/DL
    CPU:
    i3-6100
    Graphics:
    HD-530
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2017 at 12:51 AM #1386
    djrven

    djrven

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Asrock H170M-ITX/DL
    CPU:
    i3-6100
    Graphics:
    HD-530
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hi, in a hack like this but using only one 8Gb RAM Dimm, how should RAM settings on config.plist through clover configurator be? Slot 0, single channel and SlotCount 1?
    Thanks!
     
  7. neilryan

    neilryan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Intel Q75 Express
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 3:43 PM #1387
    neilryan

    neilryan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Intel Q75 Express
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I see. Ok. I guess i'll have to get a gpu and new case if i want hdmi audio. I got a very small case from a local pc shop.
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_0486.JPG  (1.7 MB, 150 views)
    • IMG_0487.JPG  (1.7 MB, 160 views)
  8. neilryan

    neilryan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Intel Q75 Express
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 3:56 PM #1388
    neilryan

    neilryan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Intel Q75 Express
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Actually i saw this and i tried. Basically i downloaded the file and ran it. Selected Y and rebooted. But still no sound.

    Maybe i didnt get it and skipped 1 and 2 (went straight to 3?)

    UPDATE: i went straight to step 3. This would be good news really for those not having a GPU but only using the onboard graphics. :)

    i still got no sound until i tried the below solution. now HDMI Audio is working for me,

    specs:
    GA H170N wifi
    Intel HD 530 Graphics

     
    lexxx2085 likes this.

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_0488.PNG  (145.7 KB, 169 views)
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
  9. neilryan

    neilryan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Intel Q75 Express
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 14, 2017 at 10:56 AM #1389
    neilryan

    neilryan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Mobo:
    Intel Q75 Express
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    now i got dual monitor! thanks for this!

    i used the below method.

    1. Disabled SIP
    2. Applied the Patch
    3. Reboot
    4. plug in 2nd monitor

    I'm using 2 HDMI monitors
     
  10. nihil0

    nihil0

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 14, 2017 at 1:28 PM #1390
    nihil0

    nihil0

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    GIGABYTE H170N-WIFI / BIOS version: F20

    I just upgraded my BIOS to version F20. It seems to work now. Hier is what I needed to do in the BIOS to get the hackintosh to boot and work properly.

    After the BIOS upgrade I did reset the BIOS (on the motherboard with a jumper on the BIOS reset pins for a second by disconnected power cable).

    After reboot I opened the BIOS settings and did the following changes:

    Save & Exit

    --> Load Optimized Defaults

    BIOS
    Full Screen LOGO Show -- Enabled
    Fast Boot -- Disabled
    Window 8/10 Features -- Other OS
    LAN PXE Boot Option ROM -- Disabled
    Storage Boot Option Control -- UEFI

    Peripherals
    Initial Display Output -- IGFX

    Peripherals /Network Stack Configuration
    Network Stack -- Disabled

    Peripherals / USB Configuration
    Legacy USB Support -- Enabled
    XHCI Hand-Off -- Enabled

    Chipset
    VT-d -- Disabled
    Internal Graphics -- Enabled
    DVMT Pre-Allocated -- 64M
    DVMT Total Gfx Mem -- 256M

    Power
    Platform Power Management -- Disabled
     

Share This Page