Guide: Dell XPS 8500

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Guides' started by leonowski, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. MacsAre1

    MacsAre1

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 5, 2016 at 5:47 AM #211
    MacsAre1

    MacsAre1

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I use a USB audio interface so haven't really used the audio drivers or tried to keep them working.

    Now I'm trying to find the fix for Sierra, I just upgraded and can't seem to get my USB ports back. Changed things a bit more. Tried the MultiBeast 7/8/9 USB Series Support install and it didn't help. Back to fiddling with kexts.

    BTW, to run the Sierra installer in place I had to switch from the "OSXAptioFixDrv" to "OsxAptioFix2drv," it wouldn't start otherwise.
     
  2. MacsAre1

    MacsAre1

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 5, 2016 at 5:56 AM #212
    MacsAre1

    MacsAre1

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500
    CPU:
    Core i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Try this config.plist, works with my setup using UEFI boot for El Capitan and Sierra, though I skipped Yosemite. I just stripped my generated serial numbers. Also make sure you have the Clover drivers OSxAptioFixDrv, DataHubDxe, and OSXFatBinaryDrv UEFI if you go that route. Of course you have to make sure FakeSMC is also loaded in the right folder, EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.10 in your case. Note that I have a GTX960 so I use NVIDIA web drivers, some of those settings may vary if you use something different.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. tonydt1g3r

    tonydt1g3r

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Dec 12, 2016 at 3:58 PM #213
    tonydt1g3r

    tonydt1g3r

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    GTX760

    Fixed issue with my display not working on boot by disabling Inject Nvidia
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2016
  4. GHender3

    GHender3

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500 (2012)
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7770 2GB - Dell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Jan 11, 2017 at 4:30 PM #214
    GHender3

    GHender3

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500 (2012)
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7770 2GB - Dell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    I have been offered an XPS 8500 that's nicely equipped - SSD, 12 GB of RAM, etc. Your post certainly encourages me to try Sierra!. No problems with any of the USB ports? Thanks for the configuration.
     
  5. angerofmars

    angerofmars

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5-760 2.80 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 640 1GB
    Feb 4, 2017 at 1:59 AM #215
    angerofmars

    angerofmars

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5-760 2.80 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 640 1GB
    For me the USB ports on the top of the case doesn't always work, which is weird. Sometimes it does, but more often than not it doesn't.
    Also I'm running into another bizarre error, while I have Ethernet up and working after the first boot, after reboot it went offline completely. I followed an advice and remove Ethernet from the network manager in Settings, hoping it'd come back after reboot but alas, it doesn't. Anybody experienced anything similar?

    Edit: figured it out, apparently if you boot using the USB (UniBeast) then the network would work due to the extra loaded kext in UniBeast. I finally got it to work by installing the latest Realtek ALC8111 kext (using MultiBeast is fine).
    The audio however, still refuses to work, which is rather frustrating
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017

Share This Page