Contribute
Register

[Guide] Asus Zenbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus Zenbook UX433FA-DH74
CPU
i7-8565U
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hi,

Can you please add support for Asus Zenbook ux433fa?
Thank you for sharing your knowledge and the time you spend helping other people like me.
Have a great day.
Charlie
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
Right, got it going quite well on Mojave - UX580GE (6 core i9 / HD630 and 1050 Ti GPU) coffee lake.
After ages I found that the M.2 samsung 961 it came with doesn't play well and only booted in single user mode, the 970 plus I then got is the same, so a quick exchange to a standard 970 finally worked. The SMBIOS is the 15,1 and it works pretty natively following this guide. Uses the same CPU.
Not working is the egpu, TB3, trackpad (trackpad is some new interactive screen thing that operates as a 2nd monitor) and internal wifi/bluetooth. Not sure they will ever work.
The touchscreen weirdly works and I've got USB 3.1 with no issues. Sound was easy but the headphone jack stutters.
Issues I can probably fix in time is a kp on shutdown, kp at the end of a CC clone and other small issues related. Update Mojave via the about this mac / update worked, but got kp at the end and didn't clean up the install files. the install worked fine though.
I've attached clover folder and an io reg explorer file in case someone wants to take a look or use it as a base.

Oh, I pulled it apart already and put liquid metal for better cooling. It idles the same, 40deg - fan profiles are **** and don't start till about 60deg, but I got 1250 on cinebench - 25% better than without the liquid metal TIM :) so there isn't too much throttling now.
I'm thinking to purchase this laptop but I wish I can use Nvidia 1050 ti in MacOS. Did you try to use NVIDIA webdriver ?
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Aorus 9
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega FE
I'm thinking to purchase this laptop but I wish I can use Nvidia 1050 ti in MacOS. Did you try to use NVIDIA webdriver ?
There's no cases of anyone being able to use an Optimus discrete graphics card, but for some reason it's showing up in the system report (see screenshots). So it might be possible and I'm feeling optimistic that it will happen one day, but I haven't had time to explore it fully. I have tried the web driver but only for a few minutes. I'm on holiday and away from my main computer for the next month so don't really want to play with it a lot lol.
I'd like to use it too! But I will settle for an actual egpu - 580 or vega or something, if I can get TB3 working... Which again, will have to wait for a month.
The HD630 is working fine with my CAD software for now.

Screenshot 2019-05-15 10.14.23.png
Screenshot 2019-05-15 10.14.44.png
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
There's no cases of anyone being able to use an Optimus discrete graphics card, but for some reason it's showing up in the system report (see screenshots). So it might be possible and I'm feeling optimistic that it will happen one day, but I haven't had time to explore it fully. I have tried the web driver but only for a few minutes. I'm on holiday and away from my main computer for the next month so don't really want to play with it a lot lol.
I'd like to use it too! But I will settle for an actual egpu - 580 or vega or something, if I can get TB3 working... Which again, will have to wait for a month.
The HD630 is working fine with my CAD software for now.

View attachment 405783View attachment 405784
Thank you for the reply. I wonder 4k display is working with this HD630.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Aorus 9
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega FE
Thank you for the reply. I wonder 4k display is working with this HD630.
Just the resolution you see on the screenshot. I don't have a 4k screen to try it out and when I plugged my 3440x1440 Dell into the USB3 port it worked, but had artifacts.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
Just the resolution you see on the screenshot. I don't have a 4k screen to try it out and when I plugged my 3440x1440 Dell into the USB3 port it worked, but had artifacts.
do you know about any upgrade option for zenbook pro ? I upgraded intel wifi with dw1560 and added SSD for macos (and RAM) in my vivobook. I wonder zenbook pro has some upgrade option available. I found some old models in youtube but not recent models.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Aorus 9
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega FE
do you know about any upgrade option for zenbook pro ? I upgraded intel wifi with dw1560 and added SSD for macos (and RAM) in my vivobook. I wonder zenbook pro has some upgrade option available. I found some old models in youtube but not recent models.
Yes the M.2 drive it ships with is no good for Macos and there is only space for one M.2 drive. I got a 2tb 970. NOT the 970 plus ok.
The wifi needs to be replaced and is easy to do, but I'm just using a USB one for now.
RAM is soldered and can't be replaced.

The trackpad worked for a few seconds after I rebooted from windows so I'm optimistic I can get it going eventually. Once I learn how to patch DSDTs lol.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
Yes the M.2 drive it ships with is no good for Macos and there is only space for one M.2 drive. I got a 2tb 970. NOT the 970 plus ok.
The wifi needs to be replaced and is easy to do, but I'm just using a USB one for now.
RAM is soldered and can't be replaced.

The trackpad worked for a few seconds after I rebooted from windows so I'm optimistic I can get it going eventually. Once I learn how to patch DSDTs lol.
Thank you ! You may try these patches for touchpad from vivobook. I'm not sure it's same model but my vivobook works very well with these setups.
 
Last edited:
Top