Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
215
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI MB
CPU
i7 6800K
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was able to get it to work using my R9 270x and RX 480 in a crossfire type setup. The R9 270x acts like the igpu. I did this with my pentium g3258 haswell build. I used pcie selection for primary display output. It was dedicated graphics for the R9 270x the RX card got picked up and supported and was able to accelerate. You can get it to work but will need an AMD "native" card to get it to do so.
I only have Nvidia 710
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
215
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI MB
CPU
i7 6800K
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There are Nvidia drivers for OS, and rumor has new drivers coming for the Sierra software.

Sorry I should've said I have a working system with the nvidia card, I was thinking if it would be possible using both the nvidia and ati card.

Anyway I think I'll wait and see if nvidia releases drivers for their latest 10xx cards. I'll probably get a 1060 card..

Here's to waiting
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Z170 Gaming
CPU
Core i3 6100
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro RX 460
Sapphire Nitro RX 460 4GB works OOB under 10.12.
Metal supported, but the system and the applications (game, benchmark) tend to be unstable under load. The fan is stopped and doesn't seem to increase its speed under load.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
MSI z170a Gaming 5
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
MSI RX480 Gaming 8
Trying to get my MSI RX480 Gaming 8G to work, just downloading unigine right now to test after the Kext edit, still getting a lot of graphical problems regardless though.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASUS STRIX ROG Z390-F GAMING
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 XT 8GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. Other
It works OK with the monitor connected to the board slot. It won't have optimized acceleration though. When you boot do you hit return at the end of your clover-windows UEFI setting/adjustments? If so before you hit return, change the cord to the vcard output and then hit return. It will black screen boot until you get to password. If its blurry don't worry, just enter your password calmly and hit enter, it should open up into a beautiful view of Sierra. Check your about this Mac and system report for "supported" status and the monitor should show just below the card if you did it right. Run (download if necessary) uningine and post results.

If your not getting "supported" status check to see that the 4000kext took the 67DF1002 ID change. Repeat the change again, following every step of the picture guide and then run kext wiz or kextbeast to lock the changes in. I just had to redo the change to one of my new Gol"d Medal disks, the Sandisk 120 gb. But it took the second time using the method and now I'm running my XFX RX 480 8gb "supported" on it.
View attachment 210058

hey bro,

i am Adit from indonesia
my building

Asus B150 Pro Gaming Aura
i3 6100
Corsair CMU RED DDR4
RX 470 8GB

already almost a month MacOS Sierra cannot full QE / CI
can you help me please..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
48
Motherboard
ASUS H110M-e DDR4
CPU
i3 6100
Graphics
HD530 + HIS RX 470 IceQ X2 OC 4GB
Hi @Gigamaxx , have some questions:
  1. What happen if you keep 2 cords (1 to mainboard and 1 to graphic card) connected during boot up? I think i did the same and it only had acceleration on iGPU, the other HDMI still had signal but no acceleration. Is that expected, ie. have to disconnect the cord to mainboard before hit "return" to boot OSX? I'm waiting for new PSU, couldn't test it at the moment.
  2. Does DP work with this approach?
Thanks in advanced.
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Noob question - sorry in advance!

I have Sierra and Gigabyte RX 460 4Gb and have modifed Kext as per Gigamaxx instructions - it shows supported status and seems to be OK......I only have HDMI plugged in from RX to monitor and it black screens till login. My question is how do i know i have acceleration?

I ask as I have done Bruce X FCP test at 26 seconds but got around the same before I purchased RX 460 with IGFX HD 530 so its making me wonder if this score is off the back of having an M2 Sata/i7/64Gb combination and nothing whatsoever to do with my RX 460?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,222
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi @Gigamaxx , have some questions:
  1. What happen if you keep 2 cords (1 to mainboard and 1 to graphic card) connected during boot up? I think i did the same and it only had acceleration on iGPU, the other HDMI still had signal but no acceleration. Is that expected, ie. have to disconnect the cord to mainboard before hit "return" to boot OSX? I'm waiting for new PSU, couldn't test it at the moment.
  2. Does DP work with this approach?
Thanks in advanced.

You can connect both, but support levels may vary, depending on your IGFX settings in clover.

I had three monitors connected at one point, one to the main board, one to graphics card one and one more to graphics card two. You can get accelration after boot if you use the display preferences tool and adjust screen priority. However, the best acceleration is achieved if only one monitor is connected to card during boot, otherwise there is a sharing of power and support.

Display port works, but I did have one card that had one of the display ports inactive but the other two worked fine.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,222
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Noob question - sorry in advance!

I have Sierra and Gigabyte RX 460 4Gb and have modifed Kext as per Gigamaxx instructions - it shows supported status and seems to be OK......I only have HDMI plugged in from RX to monitor and it black screens till login. My question is how do i know i have acceleration?

I ask as I have done Bruce X FCP test at 26 seconds but got around the same before I purchased RX 460 with IGFX HD 530 so its making me wonder if this score is off the back of having an M2 Sata/i7/64Gb combination and nothing whatsoever to do with my RX 460?
That's possible, try the Uningine Valley or Uningine Heaven benchmarks they're free trial versions and they work well and will show you how your graphics are supported. Luxmark benchmark is another good one as well.
 
Top