Custom built Desk with watercooling

Discussion in 'Others' started by Metalcored00d, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2014 at 7:09 AM #21
    Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Day 6

    Hi forum!

    Another great day has passed. Well, at first it started to look like we wouldn't be able to do much due to the weather, but the sun came through in the afternoon and we made great progress nonetheless.

    The great breakthrough today was that we found a way to "paint" the mdf black without actually painting; adding black colour powder to varnish!! The result is very pleasing and applying is way easier.

    Once it had all dried, we took the lid to a local glass cutter to cut out the window. I'm anxious to see the result :').
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo 2 (1).jpg  (1 MB, 433 views)
    • photo 5.jpg  (1 MB, 544 views)
  2. neilhart

    neilhart Moderator

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,667
    Mobo:
    ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7-7700T (TDP: 35W)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX960 2GB, ITX
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2014 at 4:44 PM #22
    neilhart

    neilhart Moderator

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,667
    Mobo:
    ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7-7700T (TDP: 35W)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX960 2GB, ITX
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey that looks great!

    Have you considered having the entire top covered in tempered glass? I have two Ikea tables in my home office/lab that have steel frames and glass tops. I am really happy with the glass tops (I have the normal spills. I cut and solder on the glass and clean up is a wipe.)

    Good modding,
    neil
     
  3. medfranz

    medfranz

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P5QL-e
    CPU:
    Q6600
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5770
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 2, 2014 at 9:58 AM #23
    medfranz

    medfranz

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P5QL-e
    CPU:
    Q6600
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5770
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    very very nice modding !! compliments !!!
    is there any update? here we are looking forward :)
     
  4. Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 4, 2014 at 9:04 AM #24
    Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there

    I still have no updates :/.

    Two main reasons for that; I moved in with my gf, had to quit my old job and am now spending lots of time with Ikea furniture and cardboard boxes and even more time preparing my lessons cuz I'm teaching again ;).

    Second reason is that my order got messed up by the webshop; some of the fittings for my loop were the wrong size, so I had to send it back and await the new parcel, but it's now arrived at my old adress so I still have to go pick it up --'.

    Anyway, just took some more pictures to show you where I got with the build :).

    Grtz
    Metalcored00d
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo 1.jpg  (637.7 KB, 277 views)
    • photo 2.jpg  (759.4 KB, 319 views)
    • photo 3.jpg  (642.7 KB, 297 views)
    • photo 4.jpg  (726.3 KB, 293 views)
    • photo 5.jpg  (721.3 KB, 327 views)
  5. Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2014 at 4:14 PM #25
    Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    UPDATES!!!!

    Hi forum!!

    So yesterday I got some more pieces and I could finally start building the actual loop.

    I ordered premixed red coolant, but somehow it turned out pink, so I ordered some more dye.

    I also changed my initial airflow design by adding a push/pull config with 6 fans on the rad.
    I lacked some red fans, so I ordered 4 new ones and put 4 orange ones in the meantime.

    I'll let the system run for 24 hours now, so we'll see how the loop behaves :).

    Now it's time to clean up and finish some other work instead ;).

    By the way, I also added a red led strip and the 2 antivandal switches are in place :).

    Grtz
    Metalcored00d
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo 1.jpg  (647.8 KB, 226 views)
    • photo 3.jpg  (840.5 KB, 428 views)
    • photo 3.jpg  (708.3 KB, 230 views)
    • photo 1.jpg  (585.1 KB, 217 views)
    • photo.jpg  (610.2 KB, 240 views)
  6. Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 16, 2014 at 7:01 AM #26
    Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Installing

    Well, while installing the hardware went better than expected, installing the os doesn't really go without a hassle...

    The ideal scenario for me was that I plugged in my SSD with my existing install and change some kexts from there. Well, that didn't work. I can only boot up from my SSD, using a Unibeast drive and selecting Safe Mode.

    I should note beforehand that I moved chameleon and extra to my efi partition.
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/401-install-bootloader-extra-efi-partition.html

    I wanted to install Clover on this mobo, since @mrengles has posted beautiful results with it.

    Since I formatted my EFI partition to hfs+, I had to re-format it to FAT32 (connected as external device to another hackintosh and installed Clover from there, because in Safe Mode, you cannot format to FAT32 since the msdos kext is disabled...).

    However, it still doesn't show up at boot --> my mobo doesn't detect an EFI bootloader. Maybe it has to do with me deleting the boot files from chimera? I'll reinstall chimera first and see from there I guess :').

    Any ideas? Feel welcome to give me some ideas :)
     
  7. fsz

    fsz

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Windows Phone
    Sep 16, 2014 at 11:43 AM #27
    fsz

    fsz

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Windows Phone
    It turned out awesome as ****!

    :beachball:

    btw: opend up that Imac G5,.. couldn't do **** with it :(
     
  8. theandy94

    theandy94

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Mobo:
    H67MA-USB3-B3, Lenovo G580 (20157)
    CPU:
    i5-2400, i5-3230M
    Graphics:
    HD7870, Intel HD4000
    Sep 16, 2014 at 2:30 PM #28
    theandy94

    theandy94

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Mobo:
    H67MA-USB3-B3, Lenovo G580 (20157)
    CPU:
    i5-2400, i5-3230M
    Graphics:
    HD7870, Intel HD4000
    Concerning Clover I would say, its the easiest way to just make a Time Machine Backup of your current install and format the SSD completely.
    Then just create a Clover Install stick following Tony's guide, boot to the install stick and then choose the option to reinstall from Time Machine Backup.
    This way you will also have a Recovery HD added, and your system will definitely work, after you setup Clover.
    Delete all Kexts in S/L/E you installed and just copy all Kexts you need for your new board to EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.9/ (the only thing that may be a problem is Audio, for this you have to install HDAEnabler and your needed AppleHDA to S/L/E).

    Good Luck and nice build :)
     
  9. Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 16, 2014 at 8:10 PM #29
    Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hehe, that's exactly what I'm doing atm! =) I had a spare HD that I'm using for a fresh Clover install. So far so good, it's amazing how Clover took installing OS X to the level where it's exactly the same as on the real deal :'). I mean with the reboots in between. I'm also happily witnessing my resolution being correct OOTB, because I feared the worst with my 7850's. Oh well, the fun and games with kext's and DSDT has yet to begin...

    For starters I pacthed the vbios of my GPU's to the latest version, I PMPatched my BIOS etc. Ready to rock this thing! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo 1.jpg  (768.3 KB, 230 views)
    • photo 2.jpg  (709.5 KB, 241 views)
    • photo 3.jpg  (547.8 KB, 201 views)
    • photo 4.jpg  (239.5 KB, 173 views)
    • photo 5.jpg  (606.7 KB, 199 views)
  10. Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 16, 2014 at 8:19 PM #30
    Metalcored00d

    Metalcored00d

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 VIII Maximus Gene
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Why thank you kind sir :').

    Well, at least you tried. So you couldn't fit a NUC in there? :/ that's a shame!

    Meanwhile I'm stuck at boot:
    ** GPU Hardware VM is enabled (multispace: enabled, page table updates with dma: enabled)
    **** [IOBluetoothHCIController][SearchForTransportEventTimeOutHandler] -- Missing Bluetooth Controller Transport!

    edit Definitely graphics related since it does boot in safe mode, will look into it some more...
     

Share This Page