Contribute
Register

Clover bootloader screen resolution

Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Everything as you describe.
I was trying to have full resolution 2560x1600 from the beginning.
Bios, clover, apple logo, or at least from clover.
I did everything mentioned in this thread. No luck.

I will try your solution, but my knowledge is very limited.
Ideally, the EFI on a motherboard should have an EDID override capability, possibly using a variable stored in NVRAM.

I would first try searching a BIOS update file to see if it includes the EFI_EDID_OVERRIDE_PROTOCOL_GUID anywhere. That might at least indicate that it gets used somewhere. I looked at my BIOS update file "Z170XG7.F8" using EFITool.app and searched for the EFI_EDID_OVERRIDE_PROTOCOL_GUID 48ecb431fb7245c0a922f458fe040bd5 which was found in the CsmVideo driver.

To test if that driver is used by onboard graphics, pipe output from the "drivers" command to a "drivers.txt" file on the EFI partition using EFI Shell. The CsmVideo driver will have GUID 29CF55F8-B675-4F5D-8F2F-B87A3ECFD063 in the drivers output.

If that driver is used by onboard graphics, then there's a chance that adding a EFI_EDID_OVERRIDE_PROTOCOL driver in the Clover folder would work. If not, then adding a driver to the BIOS itself could work (but that's more dangerous).
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H
CPU
Intel i5-4690K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 960 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
I made the following changes in the BIOS:

Windows 8 Features - Windows 8,
CSM Support - Never (appears after changing to Windows 8),
And further down Secure boot - disable.

Effect is equally visible, Clover boots in native 4K resolution. Mac OSX starts as usual. Windows 10 in UEFI as well.
In Clover GUI the icons are very small. The resolutions 1920x1080 and 2560x1440 were not found. But at least the picture is no longer distorted.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
For my Gaming 7 motherboard, Nvidia graphics card, and Dell 5K monitor, I finally got around to actually following the instructions in this thread by setting these options:
- Windows 8/10 Features: Windows 8/10 WHQL
- CSM Support: Disabled (this doesn't appear unless Windows 8/10 Features is set to one of the Windows options instead of Other OS)
Now my Dell monitor connected to Nvidia using mDP boots into Clover at 4K instead of 1600x1200. The Intel Graphics always booted this monitor into 4K.

It doesn't affect the BIOS screens (version F20), and it doesn't affect the EFI Shell (max console lines is still 60).
It affects Clover and Mac OS verbose and non-verbose boot. I think it affects the Clover debug text for kernel patches, etc. (after you choose to boot a Mac OS).

For the Apple 30" Cinema Display connected to either Intel Graphics or the Nvidia, it still booted into 1280x800 instead of 2560x1600. So in this case another solution is required (maybe the EDID override protocol idea).

The Dell in 5K mode (dual DP) still boots at 1600x1200 into Clover and Mac OS verbose and non-verbose boot. The system crashes as usual when MacOS completes booting (I'm still using El Capitan, haven't tried Sierra). 5K works when it's not connected at startup.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z170M-D3H
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
GTX1070
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Now I can get full resolution on my 4k Display on clover boot screen by enabling WIN8/10 WHQL, but when Im trying to use 1080p, it won't works, it still show me 4k resolution and boot log said 1920*1080 not found auto set to max resolution which is 4k, but I did want 1080p, because under 4k apple logo is too small. anyone have any idea about this?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
2
i've changed my resolution simply by editing my config.plist with clover configurator :
Go to GUI, on screen Resolution drop down menu select your favorite Resolution
another tips copy your config.plist to desktop and rename it whatever you want BUT you must set it as .plist extension,
then modify the resolution, when you restart you PC/Hackintosh, navigate to Option config and select your modified .plist config
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The Dell in 5K mode (dual DP) still boots at 1600x1200 into Clover and Mac OS verbose and non-verbose boot. The system crashes as usual when MacOS completes booting (I'm still using El Capitan, haven't tried Sierra). 5K works when it's not connected at startup.
Mac OS doesn't crash when booting with 5K on Nvidia since I started using Sierra (10.12.3). But I don't like the 1600x1200 startup resolution...
 
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
1
Everything is working like a charm now, thanks!

UEFI settings: Windows 8 WHQL and CMS disabled.
Clover Configurator settings: In Gui, Screen Resolution 1920x1080 (dropdown menu).
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
What does CMS stand for? Is it only present in UEFI interfaces?
I think that's supposed to be CSM.

From Wikipedia:

"The Compatibility Support Module (CSM) is a component of the UEFI firmware that provides legacy BIOS compatibility by emulating a BIOS environment, allowing legacy operating systems and some option ROMs that do not support UEFI to still be used."

I think that means it's possible to boot UEFI using CSM support for the graphics card (the option rom of the graphics card) if the UEFI driver for the graphics card is missing or doesn't work?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Mac
iMac
Hello !

I was facing the same issue, i just had to:
- go from "other OS" back to windows
- disabled CSM
-edited resolution in config to 4K
~ i also edited my template here, didn't had to adapt it (mimi black)
 
Top