Contribute
Register

Clover bootloader screen resolution

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
2
i've changed my resolution simply by editing my config.plist with clover configurator :
Go to GUI, on screen Resolution drop down menu select your favorite Resolution
another tips copy your config.plist to desktop and rename it whatever you want BUT you must set it as .plist extension,
then modify the resolution, when you restart you PC/Hackintosh, navigate to Option config and select your modified .plist config
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
941
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Dell in 5K mode (dual DP) still boots at 1600x1200 into Clover and Mac OS verbose and non-verbose boot. The system crashes as usual when MacOS completes booting (I'm still using El Capitan, haven't tried Sierra). 5K works when it's not connected at startup.
Mac OS doesn't crash when booting with 5K on Nvidia since I started using Sierra (10.12.3). But I don't like the 1600x1200 startup resolution...
 
Joined
May 10, 2017
Messages
1
Everything is working like a charm now, thanks!

UEFI settings: Windows 8 WHQL and CMS disabled.
Clover Configurator settings: In Gui, Screen Resolution 1920x1080 (dropdown menu).
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
941
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What does CMS stand for? Is it only present in UEFI interfaces?
I think that's supposed to be CSM.

From Wikipedia:

"The Compatibility Support Module (CSM) is a component of the UEFI firmware that provides legacy BIOS compatibility by emulating a BIOS environment, allowing legacy operating systems and some option ROMs that do not support UEFI to still be used."

I think that means it's possible to boot UEFI using CSM support for the graphics card (the option rom of the graphics card) if the UEFI driver for the graphics card is missing or doesn't work?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello !

I was facing the same issue, i just had to:
- go from "other OS" back to windows
- disabled CSM
-edited resolution in config to 4K
~ i also edited my template here, didn't had to adapt it (mimi black)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
MSI > Need full model # > See Rules!
CPU
Intel > Need full model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Nvidia > Need model # > See Rules!
old thread I know.

I stumble across it and though I'd put some info here.

Seem to have solved it.

windows 8 whql
disable csm
no clover driver CmsVideoDxe-64
did apply nvram in clover configurtaor (unsure if this is important or not)
Typed in my res in clover configurator 1920x1200
no load vbios or edid in clover configurator
Started working once I did "disable fullscreen logo show" in the bios.


Holy crap this worked thank you (sorry for digging up an old post, I couldn't find anything remotely close to answering this question)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
96
Motherboard
z170i
CPU
6700K
Graphics
Radeon 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello !

I was facing the same issue, i just had to:
- go from "other OS" back to windows
- disabled CSM
-edited resolution in config to 4K
~ i also edited my template here, didn't had to adapt it (mimi black)

I've got a dual boot environment and had the same issue. Just disabling CSM worked for me. Moving the Secure Boot to Windows caused the machine to only boot to the windows after throwing up some warning about the default OSX boot drive.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
75
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i5
Graphics
RX 580
Windows 8/10 WHQL and CSM disabled work for me!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-PRO(Wi-Fi ac)
CPU
Intel i7-4790K
Graphics
ASUS Strix GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have an old BIOS based motherboard and cannot enable or disable CSM since it's not UEFI.

When I got clover from a USB I get full resolution and it says that the firmware is Clover but when I boot off SSD (via SATA) I get TianoCore firmware (with a lower UEFI revision).

Does anyone know is causing this and how I may get Clover loading Clover firmware when booting off the SSD?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Before anyone points out that the motherboard in my profile supports UEFI, the hardware listed is for my current main Hackintosh. The machine I am talking about here is my previous Hackintosh which is still being used but does not support UEFI.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top