Boot Sound / Chime

Discussion in 'Customization' started by nicoSWD, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. Mercy2013

    Mercy2013

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170 Maximus Ranger VIII, macOS Sierra 10.12.4
    CPU:
    Skylake i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 13, 2015 at 3:29 PM #61
    Mercy2013

    Mercy2013

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170 Maximus Ranger VIII, macOS Sierra 10.12.4
    CPU:
    Skylake i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Unfortunately I did not have any success with this at all. I've tried with Carillon v1.0b, v1.1b and v1.2b but with no luck.

    The chime sound plays fine from Terminal, but unfortunately not on boot. I also have changed permission for Carillon but still with the same result.

    Others who have gotten it to work on Yosemite 10.10.2?

    The other method mentioned in this thread is not very interesting, because the chime first play after you have logged in.
     
  2. Mercy2013

    Mercy2013

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170 Maximus Ranger VIII, macOS Sierra 10.12.4
    CPU:
    Skylake i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 13, 2015 at 6:22 PM #62
    Mercy2013

    Mercy2013

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170 Maximus Ranger VIII, macOS Sierra 10.12.4
    CPU:
    Skylake i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    After some testing, I have now found the cause/partial solution.

    By default the com.nicoswd.Carillon.plist file installs in LaunchDaemons. After moving the .plist file to LaunchAgents instead, it now works.

    Unfortunately, the chime plays after you have entered the password, and the desktop is reached. Not during boot. This is probably because fles in LaunchAgents first will be activated/run after user login.

    But why it does not work when the file is located in LaunchDaemons I simply have no clue.
     
  3. mrmister1

    mrmister1

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    ASUS B85-E/CSM
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2015 at 11:24 PM #63
    mrmister1

    mrmister1

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    ASUS B85-E/CSM
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've gotta give it to you, this is amazing and worked perfectly for me. Thanks a lot!:D
     
  4. lolzakai

    lolzakai

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    windows 8
    CPU:
    4500U
    Graphics:
    integrated
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 23, 2015 at 1:18 AM #64
    lolzakai

    lolzakai

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    windows 8
    CPU:
    4500U
    Graphics:
    integrated
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Didn't work for me on lenovo U530 with AppleHDA and AppleHDA ALC283.
     
  5. MangaFalzy

    MangaFalzy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA NVidia GeForce GTX 660 Ti X2
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 22, 2015 at 5:37 PM #65
    MangaFalzy

    MangaFalzy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA NVidia GeForce GTX 660 Ti X2
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This little script is the best! I've had it installed since OS X Lion, and never had any issues. Now I'm on OS X El Capitan and it's still working, never had to re-install! Works through the default audio port, or through little USB speakers like I have set up behind my tower. Makes it sound like the boot chime is coming from inside the computer.

    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
     
  6. isaintor

    isaintor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GA Z170N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i3 6100 3.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 28, 2015 at 2:02 PM #66
    isaintor

    isaintor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GA Z170N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i3 6100 3.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Didn't work. MSI H97I board.
     
  7. alemac

    alemac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS H170I-PLUS D3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 3.7 GHz LGA 1151 Skylake
    Graphics:
    ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 710 2 GB DDR3
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 28, 2015 at 3:43 PM #67
    alemac

    alemac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS H170I-PLUS D3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 3.7 GHz LGA 1151 Skylake
    Graphics:
    ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 710 2 GB DDR3
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Works!!! MoBo Gigabyte H77N-WiFi and El Capitan 10.11.1
     
  8. billguerra

    billguerra

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2700k @ 3.59 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 28, 2015 at 7:07 PM #68
    billguerra

    billguerra

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2700k @ 3.59 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Worked for me.
    Thank you
     
  9. jpolk1

    jpolk1

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Q77M-D2H
    CPU:
    Intel i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2047 MB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 29, 2015 at 4:26 AM #69
    jpolk1

    jpolk1

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Q77M-D2H
    CPU:
    Intel i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2047 MB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    When booting from my ssd the sound doesn't occur until I am fully signed into my account and everything has loaded. I am currently running El Capitan using Clover. I uninstalled it because it sounded way after my computer booted. If you release a new version and want me to try it just let me know.:beachball:
     
  10. mrbatel

    mrbatel

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    10.11
    CPU:
    I7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4095 MB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Nov 29, 2015 at 11:04 AM #70
    mrbatel

    mrbatel

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    10.11
    CPU:
    I7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4095 MB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    It's very nice !!! In my hackintosh it works very good :D!!
    I've got an USB Yamaha audio interface the AUDIOGRAM6 .
    The only things that i've see that is not like the original mac is that the sound is played after that the logo is charged and the charging line is on the end and this is because all the kexts must to be charged to play sounds. I've see another solution that need to occurred a little electronic circuit -> http://www.tonymacx86.com/powermac-g5/91945-mac-startup-chime-v2-using-arduino.html
    It's nice but i hope that somebody implement a solution to inject the audio before the logo using clover, i mean that is possible because clover can just use some hardware maybe implemented a driver like it has in drivers64 folder or drivers64UEFI:idea:.
     

Share This Page