Contribute
Register

Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Core i7-3930K (Successful)

Joined
Oct 10, 2013
Messages
4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi everyone,

I have the same build as OP, BIOS V. 4206 OS V. 10.8.5, I was able to complete the Mac OSX Installation, I changed the .plist has mentionned in the instructions, I have been getting some errors lately, I cant boot into the OS after first reboot, I get a white screen.

On -V mode, it gets stuck at IOBluetoothHCIController ---- Missing Bluetooth Controller Transport.

If I try to boot in (-v -x -s PCIRootUID=0 npci=0x2000) I get the same white screen.

Boot Options Tried

(PCIRootUID=0 npci=0x2000 GraphicsEnabler=Yes -x -v -s -f)
(PCIRootUID=0 npci=0x2000 GraphicsEnabler=No -x -v -s -f)
(PCIRootUID=0 npci=0x3000 GraphicsEnabler=No -x -v -s f)
(PCIRootUID=0 -npci=x2000 -v)
(PCIRootUID=0 npci=0x2000 GraphicsEnabler=No -v)
(PCIRootUID=0 cpus=1 npci=0x2000 GraphicsEnabler=No -v)
(PCIRootUID=0 cpus=1 npci=0x2000 GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v)

Any help please ???

Thanks in advance !!!!

EDIT1:

VT-D was enabled, I now dont get stuck at that bluetooth error but I am still getting that white screen !

EDIT2:

I reinstalled OSX, after the install I was able to reboot into the os normally to set up the users.

I used the boot options GraphicsEnabler=Yes cpus=1 npci=0x2000

I installed the drivers using Multibeast I unchecked GraphicsEnabler=No, and Checked everything as shown on the OP picture and I did change the .plist yet. I now cant boot into the OS anymore im getting the white screen with no apple logo, even with this boot options (cpus=1 npci=0x2000 -v).

Also if I try to boot up only using the boot flag (-V) I get stuck at PCI Configuration begin !

EDIT3:


Reinstalled the OS again, I did step by step the installation with multibest, its the DSDT Free Installation that makes me get a white screen everything I boot up. Any help ???

EDIT4:

The problem was the DSDT file, I found an other one on the internet everything work perfectly now ! If anyone has the same problem as me please PM me if you need help !
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
18
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Using BIOS 4206 worked great for my overclock. However now I am experiencing weird ethernet connectivity issues.

I have a server that I connect to over my LAN on the regular however every now an then it will disconnect not only from the server but from the internet as well. In network settings it seems like everything is ok but no luck. It wont work until I completely reboot the system.

My hunch is it has to do with the system sleep. I just turned it off, will see if that fixes the issue.

 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,771
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
4930K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
PNY GTX 980 + EVGA Titan X
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Using BIOS 4206 worked great for my overclock. However now I am experiencing weird ethernet connectivity issues.
I have a server that I connect to over my LAN on the regular however every now an then it will disconnect not only from the server but from the internet as well. In network settings it seems like everything is ok but no luck. It wont work until I completely reboot the system.
My hunch is it has to do with the system sleep. I just turned it off, will see if that fixes the issue.
If your issues persist, I'd try an older version of hnak's LAN kext. You may should be able to find it in an older version of multibeast. Just look at the change log to figure out which one.
 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,771
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
4930K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
PNY GTX 980 + EVGA Titan X
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
18
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Tried rolling back in multibeast with no luck. All the earlier versions seem to disable functionality.

Its interesting to note that the normal internet traffic runs fine however when transferring files, syncing itunes, or playing back movies between the server and the computer the ethernet port seems to shut down. Ive tested my macbook doing the same tasks and it works fine.

Maybe a purchase of a ethernet adapter will fix the issue?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
6
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Seeing more issues today. I followed the OP to a tee, but left GraphicsEnabler = Yes as indicated in my previous posts. For the past few days, I've noticed that at certain times, audio gets distorted. When running multibeast, I chose the ALC898 without DSDT. I almost never turn my computer off. Increasing or decreasing the volume does not fix the distortion. Anyone else run into this/have any ideas?

Edit: It does come and go which is odd. For example, if I listen to a song and notice distortion beginning, I'll pause it for a few minutes and then start it up again. By this time, the distortion is usually gone. Or if I just let the song play through the distortion, it will eventually go away. It is not a particular song or source. This can happen while I use Youtube in Chrome or watch movies in VLC.
 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,771
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
4930K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
PNY GTX 980 + EVGA Titan X
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Seeing more issues today. I followed the OP to a tee, but left GraphicsEnabler = Yes as indicated in my previous posts. For the past few days, I've noticed that at certain times, audio gets distorted. When running multibeast, I chose the ALC898 without DSDT. I almost never turn my computer off. Increasing or decreasing the volume does not fix the distortion. Anyone else run into this/have any ideas?

Edit: It does come and go which is odd. For example, if I listen to a song and notice distortion beginning, I'll pause it for a few minutes and then start it up again. By this time, the distortion is usually gone. Or if I just let the song play through the distortion, it will eventually go away. It is not a particular song or source. This can happen while I use Youtube in Chrome or watch movies in VLC.
I have seen that people are having issues like this while playing flash videos or while chrome is open in the background but I haven't experienced it myself. I went back to using the interim ivybridge kext that we all used up till 10.8.5 because it sounds cleaner to me. It always worked flawlessly but requires a dsdt edit. You can follow my dsdt guide if you want to try it.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2013
Messages
4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
First of all, a very big thank you for this guide. Installed 10.8.5 in no go onto my rig.
I am having one issue though, if it even is an issue.

1. Scrolling does not seem as smooth. Also animations seem a little sluggish.
2. I have the exact same specs as the OP, except, I have a MSI 680 Lightning Edition.
3. Do I use GraphicEnable=no or yes, or none? It does feel like the gpu is lacking some power.

Thanks chaps :)
 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,771
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
4930K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
PNY GTX 980 + EVGA Titan X
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
1. Scrolling does not seem as smooth. Also animations seem a little sluggish.
2. I have the exact same specs as the OP, except, I have a MSI 680 Lightning Edition.
3. Do I use GraphicEnable=no or yes, or none? It does feel like the gpu is lacking some power.
Try running Luxmark to see if your scores campare to other user's.

When GraphicsEnabler is not added to or erased from org.chameleon.boot.plist, it's the same as changing it to No.

Everyone I've talked to with a 6xx card says they need "No".
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2013
Messages
4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Try running Luxmark to see if your scores campare to other user's.

When GraphicsEnabler is not added to or erased from org.chameleon.boot.plist, it's the same as changing it to No.

Everyone I've talked to with a 6xx card says they need "No".
Thanks. Will give Luxmark a go.

ARe there any of you that upgraded to 10.9?

Edit: Getting a error when running luxmark
Code:
2013-10-19 11:02:09 - [COLOR=#000000][LuxRays][/COLOR] Allocating intersection device 0: GeForce GTX 680 (Type = OPENCL_GPU)
[COLOR=#FF0000]2013-10-19 11:02:09 - OpenCL ERROR: clCreateCommandQueue(-30)[/COLOR]
 
Top