Contribute
Register

Add existing Windows 7 install to Clover?

Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5-TH
CPU
3770k
Graphics
ATI 7950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,

I just installed Yosemite with Clover. Install went smoothly, however my Windows boot partition is not appearing in the clover boot menu. Windows exists on its own SSD, and Yosemite exists on its own SSD. I also have several NTFS-formatted drive for use in Windows.

The NTFS drives are showing up in Clover, but my Windows drive is not.


How can I boot my windows install through Clover?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,247
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello,

I just installed Yosemite with Clover. Install went smoothly, however my Windows boot partition is not appearing in the clover boot menu. Windows exists on its own SSD, and Yosemite exists on its own SSD. I also have several NTFS-formatted drive for use in Windows.

The NTFS drives are showing up in Clover, but my Windows drive is not.


How can I boot my windows install through Clover?
How many NTFS drives and how many NTFS icons do you see at the Clover boot screen?
What are the labels of the NTFS icons as you use the arrow keys to hi-lite/select each NTFS icon?
Is the Win7 installed Legacy mode or UEFI mode?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5-TH
CPU
3770k
Graphics
ATI 7950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
How many NTFS drives and how many NTFS icons do you see at the Clover boot screen?
What are the labels of the NTFS icons as you use the arrow keys to hi-lite/select each NTFS icon?
Is the Win7 installed Legacy mode or UEFI mode?


I'm unsure if W7 was installed in Legacy or UEFI -- I installed it years ago just via USB, just did all the default options, nothing fancy during installation. In order to boot into Windows I need to press F12 during boot and manually select the drive (drive0), whereas I see "Mac OS X" listed in the menu, so I assume Windows was installed legacy.

The boot options in clover are:

* "Boot Windows from Legacy HD1"
* "Boot Windows from Legacy HD2"
* "Boot Windows from Legacy HD1"
* "Boot Windows from Legacy HD1"
* "Boot Windows from Legacy HD1"
* "Boot Mac OS X from Yosemite"
* "Boot Recovery from Recovery HD"


I've tried all of the "Boot Windows from Legacy X" options but none of them get me into windows, they just bring me to a black screen with an underscore character _ blinking in the upper left corner.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,247
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've tried all of the "Boot Windows from Legacy X" options but none of them get me into windows, they just bring me to a black screen with an underscore character _ blinking in the upper left corner.
Try this and see if it works for you - this is a change from back in 2012 so it might have been lost to noobs.

In the config.plist in the Boot section there is

<key>LegacyBoot</key>
<string>PBR</string>

replace PBR with LegacyBIOSDefault and see if that takes care of the problem.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
63
Motherboard
GA-Z170-D3H
CPU
Core i7 6700K
Graphics
ATI HD 5770
I believe I met the same problem, my windows should be installed as legacy mode, and it's gone after I switch to clover.

Have you resolved problem?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,247
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I believe I met the same problem, my windows should be installed as legacy mode, and it's gone after I switch to clover.

Have you resolved problem?

If Windows is installed Legacy mode then the only way I have found to boot it from Clover is if you install Clover Legacy mode also.
In testing, I have found that Clover Legacy will boot Windows Legacy and Windows UEFI, but Clover UEFI will only boot Windows UEFI - it will not boot Windows Legacy at all no matter what I did.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Z97 Ranger VII (BIOS 3503)
CPU
Haswell v1270
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sounds like you guys may be able to help me...

So I had everything working before my upgrade to Clover whereby I had the option to boot 'System Reserved' and it would boot me into Windows 7. Now I've moved to Clover I 'see' the same option i.e. System Reserved and Windows Legacy (along with my other SSD which is 10.11, it's Clone and the Rescue). If I select either of the Windows options then I get a blank screen with a flashing cursor.

I've placed NTFS.efi in the correct folder but it's made no difference (I see the same disks as before). What am I doing wrong?

Cheers for any help.

diskutil list shows the following if it helps:

/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk0
1: Apple_HFS 1TB Data 1.0 TB disk0s1
/dev/disk1 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *250.1 GB disk1
1: Windows_NTFS System Reserved 104.9 MB disk1s1
2: Windows_NTFS 250.0 GB disk1s2
/dev/disk2 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *250.1 GB disk2
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk2s1
2: Apple_HFS OSXSSD 249.2 GB disk2s2
3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk2s3
/dev/disk3 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk3
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk3s1
2: Apple_HFS MacHSSD 1.0 TB disk3s2
3: Apple_HFS Untitled 2 999.7 GB disk3s3
/dev/disk4 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk4
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk4s1
2: Apple_HFS DATA-WORK1 999.9 GB disk4s2
/dev/disk5 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk5
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk5s1
2: Apple_HFS 1TB Disk - Clone 999.3 GB disk5s2
/dev/disk6 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk6
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk6s1
2: Microsoft Basic Data ExFAT 1000.0 GB disk6s2
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,247
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sounds like you guys may be able to help me...

So I had everything working before my upgrade to Clover whereby I had the option to boot 'System Reserved' and it would boot me into Windows 7. Now I've moved to Clover I 'see' the same option i.e. System Reserved and Windows Legacy (along with my other SSD which is 10.11, it's Clone and the Rescue). If I select either of the Windows options then I get a blank screen with a flashing cursor.

Windows is installed Legacy mode. Either convert it to UEFI mode or re-install it UEFI mode or install Clover in Legacy mode.
 
Top