Contribute
Register

The Dell OptiMac Big Sur/OpenCore Thread

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,614
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What a shame!, yes it's definitely over complicated, miners forced me to seek an alternative.
Here's a pic of the 7020 MT motherboard with a full size gfx card on a test bench. This setup gives you the option for the full power delivery from the x16 slot. Adding in 3rd party 500W PSU as well opens up a lot of options. With kids and pets (cats) around though you definitely don't want those fans spinning at high RPMs with no case around them.

Screen Shot 3.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
1,103
Motherboard
GA H110MSTX HD3
CPU
i7-7700T
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmm... I would be concerned if my 7yr old inspected the high RPM fans, though not if a cat strayed to close, I’m a dog person!. It would be interesting to see what could be 3D printed around a test bench!.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,614
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hmm... I would be concerned if my 7yr old inspected the high RPM fans, though not if a cat strayed to close, I’m a dog person!. It would be interesting to see what could be 3D printed around a test bench!.
Here's the link to a Dell tech manual online. Shows the example of a supported AMD card that only uses a max of about 50W. I do know that the MT boards PCIe x16 slots provide up to 75W of power through them.

 
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Messages
203
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
with the help of this thread I could get to set up my Dell 9020 without any problems. Thanks for this. Good job.
But what I missed were the entries in the PCI tab in "about this Mac" => "system information" => "PCI"
With the program Hackintool I could extract the informations (via the patch tab => devices properties and only PCI => create patch) and added them to the config.plist. Now it looks like this:
Bildschirmfoto 2021-02-22 um 08.04.56.png


Attached I've the part which you can add to the config.plist (like Textmate). It's only a cosmetic matter and nothing more. These entries don't improve performance or something else.
 

Attachments

  • DeviceProperties_Dell_9020.txt
    4.6 KB · Views: 15
Joined
Nov 29, 2014
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus (MS-7C37)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
GTX 1060 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@trs96 Thank you for this amazing Guide, it worked like a charme with my 9020 SFF with integradet graphics. The only thing that botheres me is that I have a 1440p Monitor and the OptiMac just wants to output in 1080p. Is there any way that I can change it to 1440p?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,614
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is there any way that I can change it to 1440p?
System Preferences -> Displays -> Scaled then choose 1440p res.
If you don't see it then hold down the option key and click scaled.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
N4YC8 Optiplex 9020
CPU
i5 4690
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, I follow the guide and my optimac works brilliantly, except for one thing: sleep/shutdown. If I try it shows a message about stop problems after reboot (it is not a real sleep mode). Anyone has same problem?
Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
N4YC8 Optiplex 9020
CPU
i5 4690
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I find out that if i go to "lock the screen" than instead of use the password I click on "cancel" it WORKS!
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2014
Messages
6
Motherboard
MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus (MS-7C37)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
GTX 1060 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
System Preferences -> Displays -> Scaled then choose 1440p res.
If you don't see it then hold down the option key and click scaled.
Thanks a lot for the quick Response. I originally planed to hook the OptiMac up to my 1440p Monitor by using an 4k Rated DP tp HDMI Adapter + HDMI Cable. But with this Setup there was no 1440p Resolution showing up in the System Preferences Menü, even after holding down the option key like you said.

Then I took a normal DP Cable and hooked it up and then it pretty much directly showed up in 1440p.

Did you experience similar issues with DP to HDMI Adapters?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,614
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Did you experience similar issues with DP to HDMI Adapters?
It's always better to use DP to DP cables instead of any HDMI adapter no matter how expensive or high quality it is. The only adapting of DP to HDMI I've done is to 1080p monitors and that has always worked well. Just basic non-active adapters work for 1080p.
 
Last edited:
Top