Contribute
Register
Status
Not open for further replies.
I know this is 2021, and it's a bit old, but I'm new to this Hackintosh world. I'm following your directions, and so far so good. Question - I have disconnected my SSD during this procedure, and installing Mac OS X High Sierra on an older HDD. When I have the two drives connected in the PC, the SATA settings were checked off under RAID. I removed the SSD and switched to ACHI as directed. Once I connect the SSD, will there be a conflict?

Everything went ok until I rebooted. My Dell PC said the new disk was UEFI and not legacy. I had prepared the software in Legacy mode because my other disks in the Dell are legacy. So I tried fiddling around with BIOS setup, and that didn't work. I'm going to try re-installing using UEFI mode on UniBeast and see what happens. But for the few minutes it was up and running it looked very cool. I have two disks, one SSD running Ubuntu and Windows 10, uses Grub 2.4 boot loader, and the other HDD has the Hackintosh. When booting I use F12 to select the disk, and hopefully be able to boot up. I did change the SATA configuration back to what it was "RAID" but I know it's suppose to be ACHI... would that cause an issue here?

If the sata controller was in raid mode with two drives and a Windows install then that windows partition was probably spread across both drives...

Have you tried booting windows to see if it's still intact?

Fwiw, I have a 990 running High Sierra / Mojave and legacy mode is the way to go for the bios, Clover will load and then boot the UEFI Mac partition. AHCI mode is also required as far as I can tell.

If the sata controller was in raid mode with two drives and a Windows install then that windows partition was probably spread across both drives...

Have you tried booting windows to see if it's still intact?