Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH, i7 3770K, 32GB, 480GB SSD, 2TB HDD, GTX 670

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
19
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I've followed your guide and have been able to get the system up and working using the HD4000! Thank you!

My question:

What did you do to get the GTX670 working? Did you have to change any of the BIOS settings?

Edit, I spoke too soon. After my first successful boot, using only -v, upon re-boot the system will not boot. Here's what the screen looks like:
IMG_20130601_095829.jpg

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've followed your guide and have been able to get the system up and working using the HD4000! Thank you!

My question:

What did you do to get the GTX670 working? Did you have to change any of the BIOS settings?

Edit, I spoke too soon. After my first successful boot, using only -v, upon re-boot the system will not boot. Here's what the screen looks like:
View attachment 57711

Any ideas?


Hi PingJocky

User GBZ77 had a similar issue a while back in this thread, and several "fixes" have been suggested by various users although I don't think the problem has been resolved completely.

Rather than repeating the suggestions, please read from post 122 onwards. Let us know how you go.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
119
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Gigabyte 680 SOC
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HEY!

Dawsman, awesome build. I have been watching it a long time. As a spectator of this awesome build I just have to ask you one question.
Was it worth the hassle, the money and the time? I'm not asking if it is a powerful machine i'm rather asking of the feeling. How does it feel?
Does it feel like a real mac? I'm asking because ever since my first time on my mac I have been completely in love with the operative system and the feeling of it. It is like i miss my computer rather then the things i do on it! So my question to you is:
Does it feel like a mac?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HEY!

Dawsman, awesome build. I have been watching it a long time. As a spectator of this awesome build I just have to ask you one question.
Was it worth the hassle, the money and the time? I'm not asking if it is a powerful machine i'm rather asking of the feeling. How does it feel?
Does it feel like a real mac? I'm asking because ever since my first time on my mac I have been completely in love with the operative system and the feeling of it. It is like i miss my computer rather then the things i do on it! So my question to you is:
Does it feel like a mac?

Hi Sirretv

My favourite question of the thread so far. Thanks for asking.

Was it worth it?... ABSOLUTELY!

Regarding the "hassle" and the "time", honestly it was no hassle and took no time at all to achieve a fully working build. That's thanks to this wonderful resource that is tonymacx86.com. Follow their recommendations (which I did) and you will have no trouble at all. The alternative for me, which was a Mac Pro, was out of the question due to the cost.

Regarding the "cost", to be honest I probably could have had a shop build me a machine with similar specifications for not too much more money (perhaps even less), and with the advantage of a warranty (including labour), and then Hackintoshed it. However I doubt their standard builds would use the quality components that I chose to purchase, and I think when you start customising their standard builds things get expensive very quickly.

The best part of it has been knowing that I chose the parts and built the machine from the ground up, knowing exactly the quality of workmanship and parts that have gone into it, and the feeling of achievement when everything worked as intended. Money can't buy that if you ask me.

Your final question, does it feel like a real Mac? Mate, it feels like this thing was DESIGNED and BUILT to run OSX (technically it was... :)). When I'm booted into OSX it just feels faster and more stable than Windows, but I guess that's more down to the OS rather than the machine itself. Don't get me wrong, I'm also running Windows 7, Windows 8 and Ubuntu and they all run fantastically (especially gaming in Win 8). But it really does feel like a Mac, and is incredibly fast and stable compared to my other Mac's (1st gen unibody MBP 15", Mid-2010 iMac 21.5" and Late 2010 MacBook Air).

It sounds like your heart is set on building one, so go for it! If I was looking into building a Hackintosh right now, I would probably wait and see what the next generation of Intel processor architecture (Haswell) has to offer. It is imminent, i.e. June and may have even already happened. I've not been around long enough to know how long tonymacx86.com takes to adopt/recommend new generation processor architecture, but when the next refresh of Macs is released then at least we will know that OSX itself supports it. Of course, the release of Haswell may present the opportunity to build an Ivy Bridge based machine for much less money than you could pre-Haswell.

Good luck.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
119
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Gigabyte 680 SOC
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow, It means a lot to me that you replied with such passion.
Thanks for the heads up. Apple have been quite strange when it comes to processors. Great advice!

Well the thing is i'm really in to hardware and tinkering but after the tinkering I love to see improvements. Thats where the heart comes from.
I'm probably going to build a very similar build to you and will probably be back with a lot of questions or maybe i'll wait and take your advice but then again I kind of feel like a kid and want things to happen now. There is also very much information on these builds.

I've heard that the release will be at fourth of june. I'm looking forward to it! I will probably reply to you with further questions though if I decide to build a similar computer as you.

Anyways I hope I get the same results as you and the same joy doing it. You will probably see more of my questions around because I'm a asker. Take care and Thank you so much for this awesome thread with great information and great advices.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
69
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
Graphics
MSI GeForce GTX 670 Power Edition
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey dawsman! I had asked you questions on my build long ago, and now I've finally completed it!! I even made a post on the 'User Builds' section! Check it out when you can! I'd like to thank you for all the help and answering my questions!
 
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
OSX 10.8.3
CPU
Intel 3770K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used your guide and the the fresh install works OK recognizing HD4000.
If I restart with the Thunderbolt monitor in:
+ MPD1 I get a KP
+ MPD2 the systems starts to boot. shows the Apple logo en that goes black
If I now change the Thunderbolt monitor to MDP1 the system works fine

However this is not a workable situation, constantly replugging the Thunbderbolt monitor to the other port...

Hi GBZ77 I was too in problem with Thunderbolt monitor, constantly repluging after restart...Then i changed my org.chameleon.Boot ,I added custom resolution 2560x1440 and no more need to replug the monitor!

You can try to add this string

<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>"2560x1440x32"</string>


Second thing, I have gtx 660 running only for CUDA acceleration in Adobe premiere, and only Thunderbolt display connected to this machine,so to get the system recognize HD4000 ,which you need to drive the monitor you need to add device properties string..This is my complete org.chameleon.Boot file

<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>device-properties</key> <string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>darkwake=0</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>"2560x1440x32"</string>
</dict>
</plist>
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,087
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You do not need that string to have HD4000 work properly - haven't needed since 10.8.1. It has since been incorporated in the Chameleon/Chimera boot loads. So, don't waste your time adding the string.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Successfully updated to 10.8.4, like this:

1. Download and install combo update (~800 Mb): http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1659?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

2. Run Multibeast 5.3 and re-install audio drivers (ALC898 without DSDT) and TRIM enabler (10.8.3 TRIM patch)

3. Reboot and enjoy

Note that if you do not re-install the audio drivers, audio may still work (depending on your sound output) after the update but you won't have all of the sound output/input options in System Prefs.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UP5 TH v1.0 BIOS: F12J
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
HD4000 - Apple Thunderbolt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi GBZ77 I was too in problem with Thunderbolt monitor, constantly repluging after restart...Then i changed my org.chameleon.Boot ,I added custom resolution 2560x1440 and no more need to replug the monitor!

You can try to add this string

<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>"2560x1440x32"</string>


Second thing, I have gtx 660 running only for CUDA acceleration in Adobe premiere, and only Thunderbolt display connected to this machine,so to get the system recognize HD4000 ,which you need to drive the monitor you need to add device properties string..This is my complete org.chameleon.Boot file

<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>device-properties</key> <string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>darkwake=0</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>"2560x1440x32"</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Hey emrax: YOU ARE MY HERO :clap::thumbup:
I entered the Graphics Mode to org.chameleon.Boot.plist and the systeem boots OK
Looks like the change of graphic mode from Chameleon to OS X at boot caused the issue...

N.B. I don't need the string, as Stork already mentioned the HD4000 recognition was already fixed by MacMan.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top