Contribute
Register

SUCCESS !!! Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 + Intel 4930k 3.4ghz + GTX 780 Mavericks 10.9.2

Joined
Jun 15, 2014
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Apple wireless keyboard, Magic mouse, IOGear Bluetooth 4.0 usb micro, TP-Link PCI Express Wifi Adapter.
Comparing to my setup (2 posts back), this seems to be a major difference.
I would remove the bluetooth and wifi gear and try again. If the ethernet then works, you have a reference to work from.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4 10.9
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
GT210
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi

I have a similar set-up except for w few things.

motherboard - GA-X79-UP4
CPU - i7 4930k
RAM - hyper x fury
PSU - fractal
SSD -MX100 256GB two separate partitions, one with win 8.1, the other one waiting to be mac sox
GPU - GT210

After entering the boot flags and hitting enter I get the lines and eventually the following error

bootcachecontrol: unable to open /var/DB/BootCache.pleylist: 2 No such file or directory.


Any my idea as to what I am doing wrong. Is one of my components incompatible?

thanks a lot for the help. After 20 years of Mac only experience and 8 macs I am stepping into the HackMac world :)
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2014
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Never encountered that mishap, allthough I have problems when I put UseKernelCache=Yes in my plist.

You could maybe try using
UseKernelCache=No in your boot parameters. Are you sure your USB stick is still OK? Are you getting this while booting from USB or from your installation? If you get it booting from you install, it seems to me something is corrupted and your install did not finish.

Allthough this seems like bad advice if your install was not completed, try this:
- boot from the USB
- start a terminal session
- cd /Volumes/<yourdrive>
- ls -la

If the playlist file is there, delete it.

- rm
BootCache.playlist ( and be careful with the case, it helps to tab after writing Boo )

I read this somewhere on another forum. It seemed to work.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4 10.9
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
GT210
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Never encountered that mishap, allthough I have problems when I put UseKernelCache=Yes in my plist.

You could maybe try using
UseKernelCache=No in your boot parameters. Are you sure your USB stick is still OK? Are you getting this while booting from USB or from your installation? If you get it booting from you install, it seems to me something is corrupted and your install did not finish.

Allthough this seems like bad advice if your install was not completed, try this:
- boot from the USB
- start a terminal session
- cd /Volumes/<yourdrive>
- ls -la

If the playlist file is there, delete it.

- rm
BootCache.playlist ( and be careful with the case, it helps to tab after writing Boo )

I read this somewhere on another forum. It seemed to work.
This happena when launching a USB installation made by the unibeast. I will try your suggestions :)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4 10.9
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
GT210
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I zeroed the USB key and redid the install with unibeast. The same error happens, with the tags and all.
IMG_2993.jpg

Above is the screen I get. I might add I am running firmware 7 on the motherboard as this is what it came with. It is a little different from your screenshots. Does that matter? I have tried it with only one memory stick and none of the other drives present. Does it matter if the destination volume for the Mac install is already done or not? I have a windows install on one half of the disc and want to use the other half for Mac os. I usually keep user data on other, non ssd discs.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2013
Messages
87
Motherboard
GA X299 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
@KRIS

Is VT-d disabled in BIOS?
Have you already tried GraphicsEnabler=Yes at the Chimera prompt page?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4 10.9
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
GT210
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@KRIS

Is VT-d disabled in BIOS?
Have you already tried GraphicsEnabler=Yes at the Chimera prompt page?
Yes. I then got some help from a student who managed to install it but it took him the better part of two nights :). It is working and I am getting a 20779 benchmark with all the stock CPU and Ram settings. The next step is to get the Apollo sound card working over FireWire with my Allegro FW800 PCIe card. The FireWire flashed Apollo works well on my MacBook (which used with thunderbolt until now) but on the HackMac it stutters. I started a new thread for that though. Thanks for the help!! I will keep posting here on the progress of things.

Update

Apollo is working well now :). I just switched to the furthest port to try this it out (I remembered I had something like this years back on a Mac Pro) and lo and behold it started working straight away. The other ports work well with external drives. I have successfully imported my data from a macbook pro using the migration assistant and the macbook in Target mode.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4 10.9
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
GT210
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The next problem to tackle is USB3. It's not working well. Discs eject themselves and don't read or write properly. I have tried installing the latest USB 3 driver using Multibeast but to no avail. Apparently Multibeast 5.2.1 seems to solve that issue but I can't manage to download it... The site says I am to fast and need to slow down with the downloads :D
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
Hey all,

I've got your same build and used your guide to build my hackintosh and things are working beautifully, except 1 thing...Recently I tried to do a 400 gig transfer over USB 3 and it stopped...I tried 4 differnent port and the file transfer kicks out at random times but it kicks out on all of them...Thoughts?

Thanks,

jb
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
@Kris

Did you get your USB 3 issue figured out?
 
Top