Contribute
Register

SUCCESS !!! Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 + Intel 4930k 3.4ghz + GTX 780 Mavericks 10.9.2

Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
2
Motherboard
Win
CPU
3570k
Graphics
radeon 7850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Wow , seems pretty quick build , but its a monster , so with certain MB is easyer to build hackintosh..
This is beast here!
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
I followed this guide and have everything working wonderfully. Thank you. I was thinking about upping from the 4930k to the 2680 V2. I know it's compatible with the board and that I'd have to adjust the VoodooTSCsync from 11 to 19, but does anyone know if there's more to it than that? I am on 10.10.4

thanks again,

jb
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
Did you ever get hung on "MAC Framework successfully initialized using 16384 buffer headers and 10240 cluster IO buffer headers?" I'm setting up a new rig with the GA-X79-UP4 (f7 BIOS), GTX 480 (as I tried to use my 780ti, but with it's compatibility issues I couldn't be sure if that was what was causing my install issues), and a Xeon E5 2680 v2 (10-core). Also, I have a modified mach_kernel file from this build guide (http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthread.php?106472-New-Macpro-Hackintosh-Build-Guide-Dual-Xeon-with-E5-2680v2-and-ASUS-Z9PE-D8) which is supposed to add support for the 10-core processor. I realize we have a lot of differences in our setups, but I'm trying to troubleshoot where this hang is coming from.
You ever get this worked out? On a solid system with the 4930k but looking to upgrade to the 2680 V2 and would like to know what challenges I may face prior to install.

Thanks!

jb
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
I've had great success with this guide but am trying to go to the 2697v2. Bios sees everything as fine but when I boot into OSX I get the apple with the bar under it but it only goes about 1/2 way up and stops. Thoughts?
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2014
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7 4820k 3.7
Graphics
EVGA | GTX760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Great to hear it worked for you!

I have a little issue with my computer (similar build) only running one cpu. I have installed the VoodooTSCSync.kext as well. Its quite frustrating to have 4 cores but only one is active. Geekbench score is around 3000 for both single and multicore.

Boot flags used: kext-dev-mode=1 cpus=1 npci=0x2000 -v. If i take out cpus=1 it wont boot up and gets stuck at this:

without cpus=1.jpg

Any help??
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
I know this is an old thread, but I'm curious if you plan a Sierra update with your rig...
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
I know this is an old thread, but I'm curious if you plan a Sierra update with your rig...
I have just update my X79-UP4 to Sierra no issues.
I also then bought a used 4930K to replace my 3820.

Issue I have is I only get 16900 on geekbench, if I reboot to windows I get 18500
(Bios F7, clocked at 4,1ghz)
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
osx 10.9.2
CPU
4930k 4.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have just update my X79-UP4 to Sierra no issues.
I also then bought a used 4930K to replace my 3820.

Issue I have is I only get 16900 on geekbench, if I reboot to windows I get 18500
(Bios F7, clocked at 4,1ghz)
Hey, Iam about to update to sierra with clover, so far I had alot off troubles just booting with clover, I havent got to the installer yet. Im Stuck on a Black Screen with a withe circle and a line Any Suggestions?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
GeForce GTX 660
Mac
Mac Pro
Hello

I have same setup like you except the videocard ... i have GTX 660 and I was able to install Yosemite but 2-3 years ago ... and now I try to install Sierra but it's stuck at loading bar ( [PCI configuration begin] in verbose mode )

I try many combinations between npci=0x1-3000 ; PCIRootUID = 0/1 ; cpus=1 -f ; nv-disable=1 but I can't reach the installer ...

Any ideas ??

Thanks :)
 
Top