Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] ASUS Z270 ROG Maximus IX Hero - i7-7700K - 32GB RAM - Intel HD 630

Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
1,019
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
the loss of keyboard/mouse... perhaps I never had that issue as I always had dart=0 checked...
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
339
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yea, I followed your original instructions and had VT-d disabled, until someone suggested I change it to ENABLED to solve a contiguous memory issue. I wasn't even able to do that without dart=0. Not sure if @pastrychef can chime in here. He was the one who suggested that I ENABLE Intel Virtualization. I know the two (VT-d and Virtualization) are somehow related but I haven't dug deep enough to understand the differences or the similarities or what dart=0 does even.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
1,019
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, I'm not versed on exactly what VT-d is. Intel Virtualization has more to do with running virtual machines AFIAK, but may indeed influence memory issues. I believe VT-d also has a role in VMs, but can't say for certain at this moment.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,246
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yea, I followed your original instructions and had VT-d disabled, until someone suggested I change it to ENABLED to solve a contiguous memory issue. I wasn't even able to do that without dart=0. Not sure if @pastrychef can chime in here. He was the one who suggested that I ENABLE Intel Virtualization. I know the two (VT-d and Virtualization) are somehow related but I haven't dug deep enough to understand the differences or the similarities or what dart=0 does even.

VT-x is for enable/disable virtualization. VT-d is for direct I/O in virtualization. As far as I know, macOS has no support for VT-d.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
1,019
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
However, Parallels does require it if I am not mistaken (I use Parallels and I am pretty sure I had to turn that on for it to function - been a while...).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
However, Parallels does require it if I am not mistaken (I use Parallels and I am pretty sure I had to turn that on for it to function - been a while...).
I'm running Parallels 10 on Mojave with VT-d disabled, but VT-x enabled.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
1,019
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm running Parallels 10 on Mojave with VT-d disabled, but VT-x enabled.
'Course, now you are going to make me reboot so I can see if I have that enabled as well (if there is such a choice for this board). Bear in mind you do have a different board than we do.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
1,019
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
And so I rebooted, and there is no VT-x in the BIOS for this board, only VT-d that I could see.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
339
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef @Stork @JCMunsonII and anyone else who cares - please read through at least last few pages of thread below. Long story short - I had to ENABLE VT-d AND remove the dart=0 boot flag to be able to get my Thunderbolt Audio device to work. In the process, I loose USB ports, not sure yet why, but this has something to do with the driver for this particular device requiring a portion of the first 256MB of the physical memory. IDK enough about it, but @joevt certainly seems to. Anyway, while you may not care about my particular application, at issue is certain kexts that are programmed to require physical memory space prior to initialization.

Using a Presonus Quantum Thunderbolt 2 Audio Interface...HELP
 
Last edited:
Top